We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pubic Hair Hotel”
Review of Hotel CIQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel CIQ
Ranked #51 of 98 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pubic Hair Hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Upon checking into the room the first time, we found pubic hair on the bed (from the previous guest?) which is unacceptable for any standard of housekeeping. We asked them to change the bed sheet but we will certainly not return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polaroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    27
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
13
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have only 2 gripes about this place. Firstly we were given a room with no windows. Secondly, its a bit small. We stayed on the second floor, so can't comment on any others. On the plus side it's spotlessly clean, cable tv, excellent wi-fi signal, has informative/friendly staff and it's under $30 a night. The location is fine for us as we have found some excellent eating houses in the neighbourhood. - best is ENY about 10 mins stroll (recomended by the staff). Unfortunately not having a window/natural light, is a dealbreaker for us and we moved after 2 days. If your a goth/vampire type on a budget then this place might be for you...

Room Tip: Don't go the cheap option as its probably got no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was hotel - looked nice on the internet - but was a big disappointment. I dont think there was anything about the hotel we liked ... Well it was clean and looked ok inside - otherwise we will not go back. Johor Bahru seems to be a nice city. Next we will stay another place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayd in CIQ for 3 nights in total, visiting Singapore on our way down to NZ. We have decided to stay in JB to save money a visit Singapore over the border. For our purpose the location of the hotel is great, within 10 minutes walk from the customs complex as well as the City Square shopping and town centre. The hotel is unpretentious but clean and quiet, once we asked the receptionist to turn off the radio in the corridor. The rooms are small and simple, fine for the sleep over. Overall, the CIQ delivered what we expected, so no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal_K82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We arrived late at Johor Bahru from Kota Kinabalu and needed a place to stay for the night before we go to Mersing. And we booked Hotel CIQ on Agoda so far so good.

We got a double room on 3rd floor and I think the ceiling is leaking when raining. There was a smell of mold in the room and it is definitely not healthy. Eventhough the hotel is located next to the main causeway the area is not easily to get to during night time. Our female taxi driver couldn't find the adresse in the first place and it is quit far away from the Larkin busterminal, where we were going.

The room got aircon, flatscreen tv, small water boiling, tea and coffee and clean sheets. But the smell of mold was present everywhere in the place. Even days after we left the smell is still in our clothing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#37 of 109 in Johor Bahru
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#61 of 109 in Johor Bahru
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
#53 of 109 in Johor Bahru
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#8 of 109 in Johor Bahru
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmanSari Express Hotel
AmanSari Express Hotel
#64 of 109 in Johor Bahru
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CIQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CIQ

Property: Hotel CIQ
Address: 54 Jalan Lumba Kuda, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel CIQ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel CIQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing