We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average taste but slightly expensive ”

Village Briyani Cafe
Ranked #121 of 870 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Off the beaten path,air-conditioned & inviting ambience. Halal, no beef cuisine. Come enjoy specially prepared food with family & friends. Open noon - 3pm (lunch)& 6pm - 10.30pm (dinner)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average taste but slightly expensive ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Went there with friends to have nasi briyani, price is slightly expensive compare to average briyani price in jb. The taste is average but portion is big. My male friends can't finish one plate portion in the end. Tea taste is not bad but price is higher than cafe house price!
I would said overall average! Could be find better restaurant of briyani, I believe.

Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good Taste but Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Briyani was good & tasty but too expensive. Portion were small. Ambience were nice & clean. Staff were friendly. Food delivered late.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siva2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Unpleasant surprise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

It has been about 1.5 year since I been here. Since then, I have had the oppurtunity to eat Indian food in various restaurants in India, Singapore and Johor. I thought of trying this place again and read the recent reviews. All the reviews were excellent. I was curious to know what made the briyani here different than an ordinary shop. Taste is often relative. So, i took away a briyani from here and a normal nasi kandar place. We ate both to compare. Sad to say, the nasi kandar outlet version taste just as good, cost 3 times less. However, I wouldn't rate either one as very good. I have had far better. Both were just oirdinary. Secondly,I also had a take away from next door, village cafe. It was the first dish on the 'chicken' menu. It had chef recommendation and 4 star spice. the gravy was green....the colour of the chili green. I have had spicy food. But this is not normal spicy. I was very dissapointed that the resturant manager did not warn me that this was super hot, chili padi blend kind of hot. The spiciest food I have ever had. We had terrible gastric pain for over 24 hours. As both was 'take away' we could not inform the staff that we did not like the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaKL, Manager at Village Briyani Cafe, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear patron,

We are sorry to hear of your bad experience. Actually, almost all our dishes have chilies (1 to 3 or 4) to denote the level of heat. It does not denote spiciness per se.

However, we welcome feedback from our clientele for all our food, regardless take-away or dine-in. Next time you decide to give our food another try, do inform our staff of your experience.

We appreciate your valuable review and look forward to serving you again.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We've eaten here several times over the last few years and ate there last night. The food is delicious and the servings are certainly big enough for another night. The chicken kabobs are scrumptious and are accompanied by rice pilaf and briyani. Both of these dishes are superb also. The pita bread comes with tzatziki sauce that can't be beat. I've also had the chicken aioli sandwich and enjoyed that also. The moussaka is also delicious and we've had it several times. Usually the service is impeccable and the atmosphere is classy. Last night our salad came later than usual but that has only happened once. We've eaten there many times and will continue to do so.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good food, nice place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

enjoyed a pleasant meal here. food was good. staff were attentive. price was reasonable for a 'restaurant' experience, rather than a simple cafe. would visit here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123bath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShaKL, Manager at Village Briyani Cafe, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Good Day!
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Please approach our friendly staff if you require any assistance.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Briyani Cafe also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Village Briyani Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing