We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“Happy overall”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Went there on thursday,the eve of a public holiday and stayed at the camellia suite, which is actually 2 rooms at the end of the walkway but they put a door across the walkway, effectively making it into a suite.

Now the good points 1st. The room is absolutely gorgeous with lots of space for the little ones to run and play. Beds are comfortable and plush, towels are big and clean, sofa firm and comfortable. TV is big. Room 1 has a private jacuzzi but the bedroom has no partition, and Room 2 has an induction stove and kitchen sink and the bedroom is partitioned.

Location is fantastic, right below is KSL City shopping centre. Food and shopping aplenty.legoland and hello kitty theme park is about RM60 ride away (7 seater taxi).

Buffet breakfast was pretty decent,standard malaysian spread.

Now the bad.
Not enough lifts to serve the hotel. Always see queues at the lift lobbies. Please note that there are 2 towers.

Wifi is inadequate as well. Thoroughout the stay i always had the system reflect that too many users are logged on.and i dont understand why they only give validity of 1hour for each username and password they provide.

The so-called water theme park is pathetic and expensive! 3 pools with a few water splutting dinosaurs and they call it a theme park? And guess what? The entrance fee is RM50 for adults and RM30 for kids! Madness! If it was RM5 and RM3 respectively i would have paid because the free pool is simply too packed.

But in short, i still enjoyed my stay there partially because of the very nice room and good location.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank archenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Warmest greeting from KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru.

Firstly, we like to thank you and delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

To update you, our Dinosaur water theme park will only be opened next month, with a 50% discount for all room guests.

Just to highlight, our theme park has 3 big pools and 4 water slides. We also have lots of water floats games, like the giant water tube, the banana boat, the Saturn water tube, the no.8 water ring and kid floats. To bring more excitement to the park, there are 5 actual sized motorized Dinosaur with sensor and sound effect. We also have 6 water gun sprays, 2 huge water ring spray and 2 huge water-throw buckets for guest to get splashed.

Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
There are newer reviews for KSL Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,093 - 2,099 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

we arrived at ksl during the eve of vesak day. it was very crowded and we had to wait for 15 mins to get a lift up to our room. when we finally arrived at our rooms, we realised that there was already someone occupying the room. we went down to the lobby and asked for a change and this time the staff ensured us the room will not be occupied. so, we waited for 15 mins again to get a lift up. guess what.. there was another family inside the room!! this just clearly show how insecure and ridiculous the system is!! be sure to lock out your belongings and be careful when staying in ksl.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelzzzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stay in May. I read the tripadvisor before visiting this hotel. There were some negative comments regarding this hotel, however, most of them mentioned it has great location and connected to shoppping mall so I don't mind giving them a try.

I reach the hotel and greeted warmly by the bell boy and they leaded me to the check in reception. Check in was smooth. Although there were people in the queue, I took 5 mintues to get my room key.

Room were clean and toilet amenities were abundant. Water pressure and temperature was fantastic.

After checking in, went around the shopping mall. It was incredible huge. There were lots of food and beverages restaurants, fashions, massages, padicure, medicure and even a cinema and TESCO hypermart. Everything was convenient and I could just buy some extra clothing or anything when needed. I wanted to go JPO at first, but after completing the mall itself, I was exhuasted. Things were so so cheap there.

Besides shopping, we took a day tour to Singapore Universal Studio arranged by the hotel. You won't believe that it was only 2 turns to reach Singapore. Journey took about 45 minutes. We were back in the evening.

For the breakfast, there were alots of variety. Replenishment were fast enough. Clean and spacious.

Overall, it was all good. Perhaps, the owner did take the comments from the Tripadvisor and improve on it. I had nothing more to ask for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markallen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed there for three nights with my two kids. My teenage daughter liked the location as it was right next to a shopping mall. Good location if you want to travel to singapore for day trip as the hotel is very near (about half mile) the causeway.

The rooms were clean and comfortable but it seem to take forever to get checked in!

The buffet dinner and breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor was good value but the so called international free flowing buffet on the 7'th floor is not worth it! Half the dishes had not be cooked one hour after the buffet started!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Let's start about the good side.

The hotel room is spacious and is well equipped. Clean and neat. It's connected to a shopping mall where you can grab some food without walking outside.

Here comes all the drawbacks.
1) My friend booked the Legoland Package through a Singapore based travel agent. However, a front desk staff claimed there's no such booking. Lucky I had the hotel voucher printed and she finally granted us a room.
2) The staff are not well trained. They are not efficient and not familiar with the hotel facilities, say the office hour of its business centre.
3) There was a little damage on either the wall or bath tub so water leeks while having shower.
4) The bed cover was worn out. I never stayed in a 5-star hotel which provides bed sheet with holes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ngrowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Very clean hotel, friendly staff. Good size clean rooms, great pool, comfy sun loungers. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent food in clean restaurant. Nice bar to relax in while listening to good live music. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susiewhozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

In my opinion, this is the most convenient hotel in Johor Baru. Located smack right in the centre of Johor Baru city or JB. For less then £50. Or RM 250. You will enjoy the clean room with full aminities. It's very new and all facilities like the air conditioning is in top working order.
Unlike some hotel located in oasis of their own, this hotel has a Tesco hyper Market in it's annex block. There are approx. 30 restaurants and food outlets like causeway bay, Kim Gary, kfc , western food, Thai food, nyonya and many international food outlets.
The street along this hotel has a once a week "pasar malam" or night Market. Every Monday night. One can find many goods and food from fresh fish to nasi lemak , roast duck, clothes and others. The street is approx 300 meter long.

The only catch with this hotel, in which I think makes it a little less elegant, is the fact that they will provide free wifi service for in roo guest. The catch is, it is very slow and if you want a faster service, they spell out that you have to pay RM 20 per day for fast Internet. About £4.
the only problem this hotel doesn,t realise is that the longer a person stays in the room, the higher the electricity cost.

The breakfast was really good with many choice of food. The array of local, Chinese, continental, the egg station , etc. Abundance of quality and fresh food. Satisfactory taste.

Room Tip: Room 1828 . 18 floor city view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishaq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
882 reviews
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,299 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £39 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing