We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel with too many Tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with too many Tourists”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

KSL is a nice hotel very near to the JB Caueway into Singapore. It is above a modern mall = KSL Resort City, which makes it very convenient to have meals and also browse around the multitude of shops and stalls in the mall. I counted more than 20 stalls that were selling mobile phone assessories and phone covers!!! It was clearly a magnet to capture the huge Singaporean market and also the hordes of Chinese tourist whom could not spend the piles of RMB fast enough.

In the hotel - rooms were nicely decorated and we stayed in a deluxe room which came with a 42 inch flat screen LCD TV and also rain shower. Disappointed that hand shower could not be working despite numerous complaints to the maintenance people and the shower never got fixed. Bed was ok, but seriously if we had to pay more for a deluxe room I would have expected that at least they would have provided a room with bigger beds!!

There is also no dedicated Hotel parking so we had to fight for parking space with the shoppers of the mall which was another let down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asian65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    946
    586
    109
    88
See reviews for
1,144
372
35
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I had booked through the KSL website for 1 night at the superior twin room for initially for leisure. We had had wanted to extend another night upon receiving notification that we had to attend a meeting following day. Had emailed the hotel 2 weeks before prior to our stay.

We understood that it was during the vesak day and it is a public holiday that we may not be able to extend the stay due to the insufficient room. The lady, Noor who had responded to my email two days before our trip after subsequent chasing had only asked for my booking number and had not get back to me when I emailed her 1 day before the trip she had set her email to out of office. Had called the hotel to enquire about the extension of stay but it seemed that no one is at the hotel's reception.

We arrived and check in upon checking in we asked the lady at the counter regarding our extension she say it is not her concern and she only accept what is printed out and refuses to check. True, she had upgraded us to a deluxe room (free) and had simply asked us to go and search for another hotel as she doesn't know if there is any empty room(s) in the hotel tomorrow.We had also double check with her if it is the correct room as we do not remember booking a queen's size bed. She totally ignore our questions and continue to work on the computer.I had used a debit card to book the room and other hotels had no problem with deducting the amount on spot while this lady made a big fuss and even told us she banned us from using any facilities. When I told her she is able to just deduct it directly she completely ignored us and just hand us the card and tell us to find our way up. If not for the bell boy who had stopped to help we would have never be able to find our room.My colleague had pose a question is it because we are dressed down at the moment that we had received such attitude?

The room is pretty decent, there is a queen size and single bed in it.Bath robes, slippers and bath slippers were also prepared neatly in the closet. It has everything the room should have. We had a decent night sleep in the room.

The location of the hotel is convenient as it is located within the shopping mall itself. Nearby there is also hawker centre just a good 15 minutes walk away from KSL which sells all kinds of food that can be found in Singapore as well as Malaysia. An sms was sent from the hotel that it is currently promoting a returned discount for those who had stayed in the hotel.

Overall it is a good place apart from the service, for those who expected good,at least a decent service or even to extend another night stay especially you are on a sudden business trip after leisure. This hotel had some staffs who had totally failed in that aspect. I'd pick another hotel or Bliss hotel the next time as we had to stay there for the last night of our business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine_Ho154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru with us.

I am very disappointed and apologize for the circumstances that have left your expectations unmet. We would like you to know that we really appreciateyou taking time to provide us with the necessary feedback. Points highlighted have been briefed to the relevant department head for corrective measure are being addressed to avoid recurrence. I must assure you that this is certainly not normal standards at KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru.

We hope the unpleasant incident does not impair your trust in KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru. We will continue to strive for enhanced services and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future so that you may have a more pleasant and memorable stay.

Thanks & best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Sin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Been there once and like it, the hotel was grand enough for me , the rooms was amazing as when you pull open the curtains , the city view is infront of you as the glass windows covers from the floor to the top . The bed was amazing and comfy ( Plus point ) Regards to check out , we were able to check out at 12pm ( supposed to be 11 as it was the busy period ) but do check with the front desk first for confirmation. If you are bored , there is always a huge shopping center at the hotel itself from shops to food and cinema , you can just stay in if you want otherwise , try walking around and you will find cheap and yummy food along the street. . The buffet that we had was not bad , try the Plata and fill it with curry , Yummy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Good rooms and breakfast, but check in receptionist is somewhat rude and not courteous. As it is the holiday season, its crowded and noisy. I'd pick another hotel the next time

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kengfai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sengkang
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel good except lobby was noisy but they serve tea, soft drinks will waiting for checkin.
Watched midnight movie at mbo n has to go thru carpark in order to go back hotel. . quite scary luckily met security guard who lead us the way.
Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamamia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a horrible hotel. Apart from the location, I really have nothing good to say about it. And I am not even sure where to begin when it comes to the terrible experience I had at this hotel.

First, the check-in time was 3pm. We tried to check in earlier and was told to go to another counter later at 3pm to collect our keys. At 3pm, we were told to wait another half hour. And then finally at 3.45pm, we got redirected to another counter whereby the queue was awfully long, just to collect the keys. Upon collection, they said they only had 1 room ready and we had to wait for the other 2 rooms to be cleared by housekeeping. We went up. Met the housekeeper who told us all the rooms on the level have already been cleared and ready for check-in. So we went back down to tell the counter staff. And we finally got the other 2 rooms at 4.30pm! And yes, all these delay occured despite us informing them that we have a baby who needs a room to rest.

Next about the room cleanliness. The bed linen had stains and even holes. The towels were not washed well. I cleaned myself with one only to realise later that there were dried up food particles on it. The toilet had pee stains on it, and it had a foul stench of ammonia. The toilet floor had black stains on it. We also found leftover rubbish that wasn't cleared properly. It made me wonder whether we had booked into a 2 star hotel?!?!? I have stayed in 3 star hotels in Malaysia which were much cleaner!

And then there's the room service, or lack of it, my brother-in-law was unwell and thus he stayed in and ordered room service. Guess what? His porridge never came, in spite of multiple calls to enquire about it. Never came, nil apologies too.

The final straw was when they called at 10pm at night, informing that that the check-out was at 12pm the next day. First they don't even realise that there is a possibility that people may be asleep by 10pm at night, esp when you have a child around. Second, I wonder whether they even considered compensating the 1.5hrs delay and all the inconvenience caused. Oh yes, they also said, if we check out past 12noon, they will charge 80MYR per hour. In this case, they really should return us 120MYR for the delay they caused us! Btw, they called again at 10.30pm, this time the toilet phone, because we had disconnected the room phone. Do they not get a hint or what?

This is a terrible hotel to stay in. Frankly, as long as you have a car, I would recommend staying at some other hotel, like Mutiara (which is older, but with much better service, more affordable, and value-for-money, cleaner, bigger and not too far from the shopping as well). Never will we ever stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JuneTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Went there on thursday,the eve of a public holiday and stayed at the camellia suite, which is actually 2 rooms at the end of the walkway but they put a door across the walkway, effectively making it into a suite.

Now the good points 1st. The room is absolutely gorgeous with lots of space for the little ones to run and play. Beds are comfortable and plush, towels are big and clean, sofa firm and comfortable. TV is big. Room 1 has a private jacuzzi but the bedroom has no partition, and Room 2 has an induction stove and kitchen sink and the bedroom is partitioned.

Location is fantastic, right below is KSL City shopping centre. Food and shopping aplenty.legoland and hello kitty theme park is about RM60 ride away (7 seater taxi).

Buffet breakfast was pretty decent,standard malaysian spread.

Now the bad.
Not enough lifts to serve the hotel. Always see queues at the lift lobbies. Please note that there are 2 towers.

Wifi is inadequate as well. Thoroughout the stay i always had the system reflect that too many users are logged on.and i dont understand why they only give validity of 1hour for each username and password they provide.

The so-called water theme park is pathetic and expensive! 3 pools with a few water splutting dinosaurs and they call it a theme park? And guess what? The entrance fee is RM50 for adults and RM30 for kids! Madness! If it was RM5 and RM3 respectively i would have paid because the free pool is simply too packed.

But in short, i still enjoyed my stay there partially because of the very nice room and good location.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank archenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Warmest greeting from KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru.

Firstly, we like to thank you and delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

To update you, our Dinosaur water theme park will only be opened next month, with a 50% discount for all room guests.

Just to highlight, our theme park has 3 big pools and 4 water slides. We also have lots of water floats games, like the giant water tube, the banana boat, the Saturn water tube, the no.8 water ring and kid floats. To bring more excitement to the park, there are 5 actual sized motorized Dinosaur with sensor and sound effect. We also have 6 water gun sprays, 2 huge water ring spray and 2 huge water-throw buckets for guest to get splashed.

Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing