We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room, Awesome Bed but Disappointing Housekeeping”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious Room, Awesome Bed but Disappointing Housekeeping”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Pros:
Check-in process was smooth sailing as we got there around 5pm on a Thursday. Not bad for a first impression. We booked a superior triple room that accommodates up to 3 adults and was wowed by its size as soon as we walked in. The queen and single beds were comfortable especially the not-too-soft-and-not-too-firm pillows so we woke up without neck pains. The hallway was calm and quiet (though it could've been less dark), no outside noise whatsoever that gave us a good night's sleep during the entire stay. Shower had nice water pressure and perfect temperature.

Cons:
We only found 2 bath towels as opposed to 3 bath towels, hand towels, and a floor mat towel, so we had to dialed housekeeping for the missing towels. The room was not properly cleaned on the 2nd day after we got back from our day trip. We noticed hand prints, mostly belonged to my 4-yr old son, on the surface of all the tables. Water spill from the night before was even still there. We could just tell the housekeeper never wipe-cleaned any of the furnitures because they were still dusty and messy with my son's art supplies (drawing book, papers, pencils, etc) and yes they were still all over the place, untouched, unremoved. They did not even replace one of the used mugs with the new one. We found the TV channels were boring and expected a lot more from a 5-star hotel.

Conclusion:
We were glad that at least we could get a good night's sleep and that all beds were made and nicely tucked on the 2nd day! Will we stay here again? Maybe yes, but may ask for a better housekeeping next time!

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms as the wall gets pretty warm from the blazing sun during the day, hence the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DhaniAditia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    996
    612
    113
    90
See reviews for
1,211
395
43
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Went for a dinner buffet at KSL Resort Hotel and it was a superb ! From Asian to BBQ grill to Japanese fusion and to the dessert station, oh my it was marvelous. It was worth paying such an amount for a delicate buffet like this. I would definitely return again for a high tea/lunch/dinner buffet with my family. Nice ambiance. I had a wonderful birthday celebration with my loved ones!


rates for dinner buffet : (its more expensive over the weekends) RM81.20 NETT (rough estimation)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Meeera93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Went for a last minute getaway across Singapore lately.Direct public bus transport from the Malaysian Immigration building and had a smooth public bus ride for about 40 minute price is about less than 2 Malaysian dollar each person.Better get some loose change ready.

Grand Lobby lay out,neat set up for the reception business center and a live band pub along the stretch of the main lobby with a hotel cafe at the end leading to tower 2 of the hotel thus I suppose that there will be more than ample rooms for our taking without any reservations needed and in no time we were placed on the 25th floor as per request overlooking part of the state with the Singapore northern part over the horizon

Rooms are sufficiently spacious and neat.Toilet is impressive but amenity are limited.Mini fridge is provided and the stock up is not an issues as the shopping mall directly below has all the necessary with good shopping spreads mainly for the ladies.Room service must try the "nasi goreng kampung"

Will be back for more soon

Room Tip: Higher floors view are more panoramic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The rooms were small but nice.
Everything was about space.
Luckily there was aconnecting room.
There wasnt enuf space for us as muslim to pray .
There wasnt even a qiblat indication on the wall for the muslims.
The good points- the staffs are very friendly and very welcoming.
The shopping mall resembles pudu plaza or imbi plaza in kl.
It was not so enjoying for us being muslim.
Luckily the breakfast was beyond expectation.
It was so nice that i think that was the only thing that was great about the stay.
It wasnt suitable for families..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmyhasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

KSL is a nice hotel very near to the JB Caueway into Singapore. It is above a modern mall = KSL Resort City, which makes it very convenient to have meals and also browse around the multitude of shops and stalls in the mall. I counted more than 20 stalls that were selling mobile phone assessories and phone covers!!! It was clearly a magnet to capture the huge Singaporean market and also the hordes of Chinese tourist whom could not spend the piles of RMB fast enough.

In the hotel - rooms were nicely decorated and we stayed in a deluxe room which came with a 42 inch flat screen LCD TV and also rain shower. Disappointed that hand shower could not be working despite numerous complaints to the maintenance people and the shower never got fixed. Bed was ok, but seriously if we had to pay more for a deluxe room I would have expected that at least they would have provided a room with bigger beds!!

There is also no dedicated Hotel parking so we had to fight for parking space with the shoppers of the mall which was another let down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asian65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I had booked through the KSL website for 1 night at the superior twin room for initially for leisure. We had had wanted to extend another night upon receiving notification that we had to attend a meeting following day. Had emailed the hotel 2 weeks before prior to our stay.

We understood that it was during the vesak day and it is a public holiday that we may not be able to extend the stay due to the insufficient room. The lady, Noor who had responded to my email two days before our trip after subsequent chasing had only asked for my booking number and had not get back to me when I emailed her 1 day before the trip she had set her email to out of office. Had called the hotel to enquire about the extension of stay but it seemed that no one is at the hotel's reception.

We arrived and check in upon checking in we asked the lady at the counter regarding our extension she say it is not her concern and she only accept what is printed out and refuses to check. True, she had upgraded us to a deluxe room (free) and had simply asked us to go and search for another hotel as she doesn't know if there is any empty room(s) in the hotel tomorrow.We had also double check with her if it is the correct room as we do not remember booking a queen's size bed. She totally ignore our questions and continue to work on the computer.I had used a debit card to book the room and other hotels had no problem with deducting the amount on spot while this lady made a big fuss and even told us she banned us from using any facilities. When I told her she is able to just deduct it directly she completely ignored us and just hand us the card and tell us to find our way up. If not for the bell boy who had stopped to help we would have never be able to find our room.My colleague had pose a question is it because we are dressed down at the moment that we had received such attitude?

The room is pretty decent, there is a queen size and single bed in it.Bath robes, slippers and bath slippers were also prepared neatly in the closet. It has everything the room should have. We had a decent night sleep in the room.

The location of the hotel is convenient as it is located within the shopping mall itself. Nearby there is also hawker centre just a good 15 minutes walk away from KSL which sells all kinds of food that can be found in Singapore as well as Malaysia. An sms was sent from the hotel that it is currently promoting a returned discount for those who had stayed in the hotel.

Overall it is a good place apart from the service, for those who expected good,at least a decent service or even to extend another night stay especially you are on a sudden business trip after leisure. This hotel had some staffs who had totally failed in that aspect. I'd pick another hotel or Bliss hotel the next time as we had to stay there for the last night of our business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celine_Ho154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru with us.

I am very disappointed and apologize for the circumstances that have left your expectations unmet. We would like you to know that we really appreciateyou taking time to provide us with the necessary feedback. Points highlighted have been briefed to the relevant department head for corrective measure are being addressed to avoid recurrence. I must assure you that this is certainly not normal standards at KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru.

We hope the unpleasant incident does not impair your trust in KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru. We will continue to strive for enhanced services and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future so that you may have a more pleasant and memorable stay.

Thanks & best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Been there once and like it, the hotel was grand enough for me , the rooms was amazing as when you pull open the curtains , the city view is infront of you as the glass windows covers from the floor to the top . The bed was amazing and comfy ( Plus point ) Regards to check out , we were able to check out at 12pm ( supposed to be 11 as it was the busy period ) but do check with the front desk first for confirmation. If you are bored , there is always a huge shopping center at the hotel itself from shops to food and cinema , you can just stay in if you want otherwise , try walking around and you will find cheap and yummy food along the street. . The buffet that we had was not bad , try the Plata and fill it with curry , Yummy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,280 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing