We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as in the website”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Depok
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not as good as in the website”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

well I can say I am quite disappointed when saw the room, it is not as good when I saw it in the official website. wait until you try the free wifi provided in the room, it is almost impossible to open a website and there is no cable TV channel provided only local channel. the only good thing that the hotel located at same area with KSL mall which was easier for us to find foods.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarioJB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    1,007
    616
    116
    91
See reviews for
1,223
401
45
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woodend, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The KSL Hotel (it's hardly a resort as claimed) is not in the heart of JB as claimed but is in the suburbs about 4km out of the downtown. The rooms are of an acceptable standard and it is conveniently located next to a shopping mall. The big letdown of this place are the food outlets. The lobby and entrance to restaurants smell constantly like there is a sewer running through them and the taste of the food reflects the smell somewhat. The buffet food is often cold and the a la carte isn't much better and at times can be simply vile. The good news is that you can easily walk into the mall next door and choose from a wide variety of better and much cheaper food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Booked 2 rooms. Cos it was a weekday stay, they offered us a late checkout of 1pm.

Problem 1:
The room was not ready even though they passed us the keys. But this was a small problem.

Problem 2:
We returned to our rooms on the checkout day at 12noon. Got locked out from one of the rooms. The key card wasn't working. Later, we realised that they removed everything from that room, including the items in out safe. That includes our passports!! The duty manager investigated and told us that a call from someone anonymous called the reception to request for our safe to be opened. And, they could not verify who exactly opened the safe. We didn't receive any missed calls from the hotel on our phones either. So, the safe isn't safe!

Problem 3:
Instead of trying to recover the situation, the duty manager urged us not to stay in the hotel in future. Seems like the hotel staff aren't ambassadors for the hotel.

I would discourage anyone to stay in this hotel despite its good location and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Junexh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was a bit worried about staying here after reading some of the reviews but my family and I didn't experience any of the problems others have complained about. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, our room in tower 2 level 26 was clean and modern with a good view. I think they self rate at 5 stars but I'd say probably its more like a sold 4 stars. Bottled water was complimentary. Breakfast was a pleasant experience, lots of Western and Asian choices. My 7 year old son can be a bit fussy but with a choice between cereal, fruit, hash browns and waffles he was more than catered for. I tended to go for the local delights like Roti and chicken curry for breakfast, very good. Of a night we either dined in the main restaurant which had a different themed buffet each night or the twilight lounge which was also excellent. Food is very cheap in Malaysia. The pool was fantastic and so was the Dinosaur water park, both located on level 7. Most of the time we had the water park to ourselves as it cost a little extra to use, about $7au, well worth it. The real bonus with staying here is that it is attached to KSL Mall, lots of shopping and food, it even has a Tesco which was handy. We had annual passes to LEGOLAND and caught a cab each day, blue cabs which are clean, modern and air-conditioned were consistently 50 ringgit each way ($15 au), quite reasonable for a 25 min trip.
We intend returning again next year and KSL Resort is more than likely going to get our business again. Tip - Take a hard drive loaded up with your favourite movies and programs as there were only a few cable channels on tv that appealed to us.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the deluxe and suites, it will get you away from the crowds and give you a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkSonjaDeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Not all rooms have bath tub. Went there earlier to check in, but was told to come back two hours later. After two hours later, they told us that one of our room was not ready yet. Hence we have to wait to check in. Felt that the standard and the service was not even 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben10tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is my 2nd time staying in this hotel. I have read about problem in checking in, but on both my visit the check-in was a breeze. On my 1st visit, I booked thro' a travel agent website and on the 2nd visit I booked direct thro' the hotel website.
The room was clean and nice, I guess since it is a new hotel. The breakfast was ok, they have wide range of food. But since the hotel has a mall, food is not a problem.
One thing that I was taken a back is the swimming pool....u can enter the pool by the mall escalator, so anyone even shoppers can go in for a deep. They have a theme pool but u have to pay...it would be nice if hotel guess be given a free entry day pass.
Overall nice hotel and nice staff.
Oh ya the lift was slooowww.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kamsani_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night for business. I have read the previous reviews about this hotel and was very sceptical so I did not expect too much from it. There aren’t many choices in decent accommodation in Johor Bahru. The check in was a pain. I booked through KSL hotel home website 4 weeks prior to my arrival but they could not locate my booking. After 20 minutes searching, finally they found my booking. They demanded payment immediately rather than waiting until the check out time. The hotel is full of tourists, with a fleet of coaches waiting outside the hotel day and night so you can imagine how busy the lobby is like in the morning, over crowed and extremely chaotic.
Surprisingly the pillows and the bed were very comfortable. The shower drainage was slow so the water did not go down during your shower, basically you stood on the dirty show water while having shower. I used the gym, neither towers nor water was available.
The rate is very cheap but I will be looking for quality alternatives.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdPinoTrollFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 110 in Johor Bahru
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 110 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 110 in Johor Bahru
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing