We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in KSL D'Esplanade Residence”
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Travel on 18th January 2014 with my boyfriend.

We booked though Agoda for a Studio King room, was given a service apartment.

The service apartment is in the other tower in KSL, can be access within KSL shopping mall.
Every access to tower from shopping mall or from carpark requires card (white in colour).
There are furniture left in the lobby of the tower, still see workers moving things into tower.

Room : Quite clean and spacious with balcony. There are still some wires left hanging from the ceiling wall. Pipe visible from the corner of the floors. There is no safe, telephone and door hole. The bed and sofa is a little dusty. Toilet is clean with toiletries, bathtub, shower head and towels.
The room is not sound proof, thus maybe a little noisy when people is talking and walking along the corridor.

Service : Check-in is fast, staff is polite and courteous. However, did not proceed with our request to extend our check-out time to 1.00pm even though they did acknowledge to it earlier. We are locked out from our room when we try to tap in to our room door, lucky for us to have a cleaner around to open the door. The lift to room took longer to come, and it seems unstable when you have more than 4 people in it. The lift will shake a little when we have 8 people in it.

Overall, had a simple and good stay for one night.

Room Tip: Request for high floor when check-in, gives a goods view of JB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chunbinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,028 - 2,034 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked a Deluxe King room with breakfast over the weekend as the Superior King rooms were fully booked. Took a bus from customs to KSL at 1.50 ringgit per person, 10 min ride. Tried to check-in at 2pm, but the receptionist claimed that there were no Deluxe King rooms available and tried to switch us to another room (not an upgrade though) unless we were willing to wait for an hour. We were willing as we wanted to grab lunch, but upon hearing that, the receptionist claimed to "suddenly" find an available Deluxe King room and allowed us to check-in. He then said the check-out time is 11am when the time stated on the website and card is 12pm. We clarified with him before he said it's ok to check-out at 12pm.

Otherwise, the stay was very pleasant. Room was sufficiently large, Nescafe and English Breakfast tea packets, room slippers and pool slippers, basic toiletries were provided. TV channels included Singapore channels, Fox Movies Premium, and National Geographic (was disappointed not to have any sports channels, but live football can be watched at the pub near the hotel lobby). A safe and a fridge are both available.

I headed to the restaurant at 7.30am for the buffet breakfast after reading comments online that it may be very crowded. I'm glad I woke up early as it wasn't that crowded when I was there and managed to enjoy the good selection of food that was available. There is a cake station, omelette, roti canai, congee, fried noodles, sausages, hash brown, and more.

Overall, it was a good stay and I did not experience any long wait for the lifts or delayed check-in that some people have mentioned. There was also express check-out available and the swimming pool was nice too (although the winds there make it a bit cold).

Room Tip: Stay in higher floors to be able to board the lifts easier, go for breakfast early (latest by 8am) t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HL_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Booked a room for RM256 by "LIKE" their FB promo, apparently they do not check if you really do that. Managed to check in at 230pm despite hearing many horror stories, offered non-smoking room and gladly took it. The staff at counter was having problem and had to drag another senior staff to bait her out, overall 15mins not that bad.

Corridor to room was dark, but i'm fine with it. Fortunately room is clean and comfortable. Cons is no SAFE to keep your valuables, no fridge (seriously?!) Some TV channels fuzzy but watchable. Weak wifi signal (maybe my phone is lousy, dont use much of internet for holidays...) As for the dino theme park, Dino pool water (shallow) way too cold when i went at 9am. The normal adult pool beside is fine.

Waiting time for lifts are acceptable for a sat stay, perhaps most complains happened on peak season. Did have 1 "incident" that my access card unable to open door after i returned from shopping, had to go down reception and re-program the card. Never had this before in my travel experience @_@ Also took a lift with another guest who's card cant access the lift reader, was working fine previously. Doubts about their system @_@

Overall an average stay which can't complain for the price. Good for shopping and eating good food at half price, rest for 1 night and continue the same thing for the next day, with free parking of cos :) Valid 24hrs after you check out, especially great when they just raised the parking to RM2/hr

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oink_squeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We could not find the entrance lobby of the hotel. Therefore, we just went up to the car park of the mall and the hotel. We went to level 3 until 6 and level 6 was not fully parked however the parking was dark and scary. So we went to the level 5 and tried to find parking and we managed to find parking that were near to the hotel lobby lift. However when we went to the lift, the lift was not only the hotel lift but it shared with the mall itself. We waited quite long for the lift to reach to level 5 and when we ride, we brought our luggage which was quite huge and the lift was small and we need to shared with the customers of the mall and it felt humiliating cause we were full with luggage and the lift was cramped. Once we arrived lobby, we couldn't find the reception, it was quite confusing. We couldn't understand what the receptionist was talking.

When we went to our room, the room was okay but the bathroom was super small! and the lighting throughout to the room was dark and scary. The bedsheets of the bed has lots of smudges! The comforter / blanket was super rough even the bedsheets too! The tv channel some of it could not be watched.

The pros are the restaurant served good and tasty food during our dinner buffet.

However, we will not come and stay for this hotel because it doesn't show any maintenance thoroughly. Their lift even shared with the mall and also the parking. They should at least provide specially for the guests of the hotel. Overall, the hotel was not friendly except for the good and tasty food served for dinner buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonnymous83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is not professionally managed, especially the housekeeping department does not follow the standard of a starred hotel. As we entered the room, we noticed the bathroom's shower area had a hanging metal pole that needs immediate fixing, and also there was a hair ball left un-scooped on the floor. The queen bed linen has several holes. For the 4 nights that we stayed there, there were 2 days that the cleaning people did not bother to wash the mugs that had been used for coffee and tea even though they replaced the tea bags and the coffee sachets. The lobby area has full of commotion and gives an unsettled feeling as hotel guests. I guess because they set up a area for sales people to market the hotel property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

To begin with, we were shocked that the room we booked through Agoda was a service apartment! The confirmation clearly stated it was a studio twin. How is this acceptable when there is no wifi, safe box, welcome note by the GM, menu and etc? Although we were briefed that we need to tap our security card in the lift, there was no need to. I do not feel safe especially the entrance to the check in room is through the car park. Definitely not for single ladies or all girls group. Extremely disappointed. This hotel is just in a hurry to make money by offering service apartment but overlook the fire safety instructions and map for the guest.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonrocky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Firstly, System down when we are checking in at 3pm!!! EXCUSE ME... 4* Hotel no back up!!! Waited for 1/2hr and nothing been done... So we just left and when to our massage appointment.. Secondly, Requested for Queen side bed.. We got 2 single bed... When we asked, There no available rooms... HELLO... U have 2 towers... OMG!! Finally, e receptionist.. worse than ever... No smile.. no eye contact.. & can't even give me e rite answer... BAD MANAGEMENT... NOT recommended at all...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QasehAnwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#39 of 319 in Singapore
22,999 reviews
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 109 in Johor Bahru
496 reviews
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 109 in Johor Bahru
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £41 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing