We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel but Bad Valet service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but Bad Valet service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The room was very big for a standard room, hopefully they maintain it. The pool over there must go even though its crowded. The GRO not friendly(maybe too busy due to super peak period) but its ok they still did a stafying service. If you are driving there please do not give your car to the valet. My husband gave our car to valet(look tipsy) after our supper(drive out) around 1am, the next day when we take back our car we were shock. Side of our car got damage, when we ask the supervisor he was helpless. He told us that it was not his man's mistake after checking the CCTV. The supervisor didn't allow us to watch the cctv when wanted(don't know why). He said his man did check the car after parking there wasn't anything there, then I asked did any outsiders damage it can he see anything like that the cctv. He said no, no one did anything to our car. How can this be possible? Then who else can have done it? We thought our car will be safe if give to valet, but...... we were wrong! Never give your car to the valet! Or Don't drive high chances of robbery attempt.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Letchumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    946
    586
    109
    88
See reviews for
1,144
372
35
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked a simple room for night over the weekend. We do not need breakfast or room service as we were surrounded by eateries. The serviced apartments was a good choice at KSL. the room was big and spacious. It has a pretty well equipped kitchenette, sadly we did not really had the chance to put it to test.

Only bane was that the sound proofing was not fantastic. We could hear everyone who was walking past our door as there was a gap that was abt an inch high as the bottom of the main door. We were also afraid to watch the TV till late affecting neighbours.

It did offer a good sleep. Bed was nice, huge and firm. Air-conditioning was strong. Toilet had a bath tub to our surprise. Had a good soak in it. It's kindda dark in the bathroom though still sufficiently lit. I would still preferred it to have been brighter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KelunOfSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Excellent ! What I liked the best lobby outseeing a very nice garden, Fast check-in/check-out and Friendly staffs in reception especially bibek and faiz . both of them made my stay totally awesome with their good services.What the hotel needs improvement: Bellmen should be proactive to help patrons with luggage while them checking out, not only checking-in. The important things is hotel provides car park with FOC,just pass the ticket at lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

First day of arrival, the hotel room is ok, only toilet was smelly. Luckily the location is strategy and nearby shopping mall, so we went to buy the room freshener. We added 1 more night to stay, as my kids enjoyed to swim in their swimming pool ( designed for kids ) and privileged to use dinosaurs theme park as well. Waiting time for check in n check out was very long queue, it could be it was peak period ( Christmas holiday ) so the hotel was fully booked. Overall is ok, we will sure be back for next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Short drive from the causeway and check in at 3pm to fully utilize its facilities.

Shopping mall beside is a female heaven for hair and nails, food for the guys and cinema for both.

Spacious room, the perfect bed you want at home. Amenities all checked and I have to mention the lovely rain shower!

Minus point, we had to return to check in counter as both access cards did not work and wifi was unstable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Travel on 18th January 2014 with my boyfriend.

We booked though Agoda for a Studio King room, was given a service apartment.

The service apartment is in the other tower in KSL, can be access within KSL shopping mall.
Every access to tower from shopping mall or from carpark requires card (white in colour).
There are furniture left in the lobby of the tower, still see workers moving things into tower.

Room : Quite clean and spacious with balcony. There are still some wires left hanging from the ceiling wall. Pipe visible from the corner of the floors. There is no safe, telephone and door hole. The bed and sofa is a little dusty. Toilet is clean with toiletries, bathtub, shower head and towels.
The room is not sound proof, thus maybe a little noisy when people is talking and walking along the corridor.

Service : Check-in is fast, staff is polite and courteous. However, did not proceed with our request to extend our check-out time to 1.00pm even though they did acknowledge to it earlier. We are locked out from our room when we try to tap in to our room door, lucky for us to have a cleaner around to open the door. The lift to room took longer to come, and it seems unstable when you have more than 4 people in it. The lift will shake a little when we have 8 people in it.

Overall, had a simple and good stay for one night.

Room Tip: Request for high floor when check-in, gives a goods view of JB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chunbinlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked a Deluxe King room with breakfast over the weekend as the Superior King rooms were fully booked. Took a bus from customs to KSL at 1.50 ringgit per person, 10 min ride. Tried to check-in at 2pm, but the receptionist claimed that there were no Deluxe King rooms available and tried to switch us to another room (not an upgrade though) unless we were willing to wait for an hour. We were willing as we wanted to grab lunch, but upon hearing that, the receptionist claimed to "suddenly" find an available Deluxe King room and allowed us to check-in. He then said the check-out time is 11am when the time stated on the website and card is 12pm. We clarified with him before he said it's ok to check-out at 12pm.

Otherwise, the stay was very pleasant. Room was sufficiently large, Nescafe and English Breakfast tea packets, room slippers and pool slippers, basic toiletries were provided. TV channels included Singapore channels, Fox Movies Premium, and National Geographic (was disappointed not to have any sports channels, but live football can be watched at the pub near the hotel lobby). A safe and a fridge are both available.

I headed to the restaurant at 7.30am for the buffet breakfast after reading comments online that it may be very crowded. I'm glad I woke up early as it wasn't that crowded when I was there and managed to enjoy the good selection of food that was available. There is a cake station, omelette, roti canai, congee, fried noodles, sausages, hash brown, and more.

Overall, it was a good stay and I did not experience any long wait for the lifts or delayed check-in that some people have mentioned. There was also express check-out available and the swimming pool was nice too (although the winds there make it a bit cold).

Room Tip: Stay in higher floors to be able to board the lifts easier, go for breakfast early (latest by 8am) t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HL_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing