We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look Away”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KSL Hotel & Resort
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Look Away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wait, wait and wait is the operating rule at this huge hotel with its two towers of rooms and other facilities.

In the 4 days spent here, we spent so much time:

1. waiting at the elevators to get to and from our room cos there are only 4 elevators serving each tower of rooms and each lift fits no more than 8 persons at a time without luggage,

2. waiting for the third towel for our room that never came even though we paid for a 3-person sharing room

3. waiting for the room key card to actually work...seriously, we had to approach reception on a daily basis to get the key re-programmed to allow us up the elevator and into our room, the record being 4 times on our second day..

As for the pools, they were not clean. Discerning children did not want to go into them a second time... Enough said.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGPTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    946
    585
    109
    87
See reviews for
1,143
371
35
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just like before, this would be my honest feedback about KSL Hotel which I have stayed over the last weekend for a 3 days 2 nights. Before that, I have been reading about the feedbacks at Agoda and Trip advisor before really deciding to stay there. So giving back this lengthy feedback is to those people whom I read of their feedback a way to say thank you.
Let me begin, before selecting your hotel rooms, please beware that the hotels have 2 sections, one is the apartment and the other is the real hotel rooms. I am not sure why they have lump both together, but choose correctly. I can’t give my comments on the apartment building, as there are negative feedback, I decided against to stay there. I chose the hotel room instead, paying slightly more than the apartment rooms.
On the day of visit, locating the hotel is a breeze as it is the only largest hotel around JB, I presume. Plentiful of parkings for the car both at the basement and at the multi storey parking beginning at the 3rd level. I went to the basement initially, looks a bit dark and I was not comfortable parking there. So I went up to the 3 level. (there are more parking at level 4 and level 5 as well) more brightly lighted but avoid parking at those scheduled corners. I will touch on the parking a bit more later. By the way, its complimentary by the hotel if you are a guest there. So don’t tap on your TouchnGo card. Press the button for the hotel card ok?
Went straight to the lobby of the hotel to do the check in at about 2.30pm on a sunday, and it was a pleasant surprised for the very fast check in, I timed the staff and she took less than 5mins. Boy I was impressed as I have read very bad reviews that they took many hours and some even till at night not ready, not sure if they are referring to the apartment side instead. Was also brief on the morning breakfast which included in my room package for 2 adults at the lobby restaurant, I was also told of the free entrance to dino park – a swimming pool with some dino figures. Swimming pool close at night, so no swim after 9pm, there is a gym also, but don’t expect it to be that of a 24hr gym at hard rock hotel rws. Just a average gym. Lastest time to check out is at 1pm upon request. And here you go, my check in is done.
So I was scheduled at Tower A, there are 2 tower blocks in KSL hotel. 4 lifts are the only lifts serving all the way to level 27. I was given a room at level 18. Not much people at the lift so I got to my level quite fast. Upon entering, inserted the card and activated the electricity. Closer inspection, the room was ok. Not big and not too small. IT was just an average room for the superior room which I book. As usual, I did a entire room check before any other things else. Noticed that part of the lower wall paper near to the bed was already popping out, but I am ok, just that it is not so nice… next is the cabinet door for the safe, it was already partially spoilt but still managed to close back the door. Next is the hook behind the toilet door, also spoilt. And shaky. The maintenance did not do a good job on this. For the cleanliness of the room, I felt that it was average. Basically, the beds were clean and the carpets were clean, but the glass shelves were pretty dusty, obvious that it was not clean for a very long time. The glass shelves above the water kettle. Plus the windows were really full of prints and dusty albeit . These I give a 5/10 standard. So in average, ok to stay in. But as a 5 star hotel in JB. The hotel management need to really look into it. I paid about SGD 140 per night. After conversion to ringgit is about rm360 per night. For a 360rm standard. It must be greatly improve.
During the stay, it was comfortable, the shopping center was just below, plentiful of restaurants, a cinema on the 4th level, so many shops, a Tesco at the basement easy to get your groceries before heading back to Singapore. Basically, it was not a bad stay, consider that it was a 2 in 1 place, hotel and shopping centre. Plus, it is only about 15mins drive to Bukit Indah, and 20mins drive to Legoland or Puteri Harbour where your kids can enjoy. Mondays there is also a pasar malam directly in front of the hotel. Good idea right? Enjoyed it. KSL is enjoying many customers mainly is because it is a combined hotel and shopping centre.
So is it about 10pm, I went to the lounge to have some drinks, entire bar was empty except me. Still the drinks took a while before arriving, I gathered is only a bartender on duty. But still, it took a bit of time. Drinks was not to my expectation. My score for this place. 6/10.
11pm went up to the carpark. Almost deserted. Not much cars parked. So I shifted my car to be near a guard post just near to the entrance of the barrier at level 3. Avoid parking too far away.
Next 2 mornings, had the buffet breakfast. Very crowded and very busy. The food is average. Some are cold. It will be my last buffet breakfast with the hotel, so I leave it to your imagination on how is the food. Imagine queuing more than 20mins for a piece of roti cannai or some say prata? Food selections is quite a lot but the quality of it is very bad. Maybe the management can consider boosting up the morale of your staffs. Really, please take this into your consideration. My next staycation with KSL, I will definitely skip this buffet breakfast and eat out.
So, at about 1pm on Tuesday, did the checkout at the counter. Again, to my surprise, it took less than 2mins to did my checkout with the hotel. I was please.
I have to take this opportunity to feedback on the lifts availability. To my opinion, the usage of 4 lifts is definitely very inadequate. Many a times, I have to wait for quite sometime to get into the lifts to go to my desired level. There was a time, coincidentally, a tour group of Vietnamese came and everyone was pack to the brim at the 4 lifts of Tower A. I had to wait a good 15mins for my turn to take the lift up. And is very slow. Cause these poor 4 lifts are serving 27 storeys. It is seriously not enough. Considering that this a hotel with many tourist with luggage. Please kindly take this point of consideration.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank louis1186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I never seen 3 swimming pools in single hotel, the special one is dinosaur themed swimming pool
breakfast buffer is okay
location is good
A large supermarket in KSL city shopping centre, just beside KSL resort hotel
many different types restaurants inside KSL city shopping centre

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoiPan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is my second time staying in this hotel. The location is convenient.Room was spacious and clean but the room no.2246 was very warm because of sunlight. The breakfast was nice, a lot of choices. Monday night there is a night market just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yap64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

booked a superior double room in a saturday night, we arrived johor at noon and we ask the taxi driver to drive us to KSL for leaving our luggage, then we go legoland directly.

After playing in legoland, we back to KSL to check-in in around 18:30 , there is no queue for check-in luckily so we just need to wait for around 5 mins from hotel lobby and go up to our room.

our room is in tower 2, the room is spacious, all amendities are functioning well, wifi working normally, the breakfast in the next morning is rather good too athough there are many people when we go down in 7am.

the hotel is connected with the ksl mall, no need to worry for food and shops

so recommend this hotel as we are satisfied with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

booked this resort for 3 nights with my children and husband, so we could experience legoland. I left with mixed feelings - the shopping mall was fantastic, as was the weekly open air market. My kids loved the dinosaur themed pool area. And had the pleasure of cocktails in the little bar which was wonderful, and your staff there couldn't have been more wonderful! The decor of the main foyer was also beautiful. Was disappointed with the basicness of the family room, it was small and felt very cramped for 2 adults and 2 small children. The breakfast and resteraunt also was disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimeli1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Made a last minute booking at this hotel for a short trip to Legoland Johor and Johor Baru. After reading the reviews in Tripadvisor, I had mixed feelings about this place but subsequently decided to give it a try anyway.

I made a point to avoid the apartment block since almost all feedback was negative. Booked a hotel room and requested for non-smoking room with a king sized bed.

Location
̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿
The hotel location is rather central in Johor Baru town. Unfortunately the surroundings of this "resort" is pretty complicated and a huge mess. One good thing is that there are many eateries surrounding the hotel and you can easily get a sampling of cheap local food.

We drove and had to look for the entrance to the carpark. The roads were rather busy when we arrived at night and cars were going in all directions. Finally we found the entrance to the basement carpark. As mentioned by some other travellers, the basement carpark is crowded since the carpark is shared with the mall. Although this resort is rather new, the basement carpark is TERRIBLE and filthy. It looks more like a badly maintained 10-year old place. Since we were already in the basement, I didn't bother to look for the upper floors parking area. As a guest of the hotel you get free parking. All you have to do is get your parking ticket validated at the hotel reception.

Check in & check out
̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿
We arrived around 8pm. Since it wasn't a peak period for check in, the process was smooth. I was given a room as per my request. There are 2 hotel towers - Tower 1 & Tower 2. We were given a room in Tower 2 which was a short walk away from the lobby (Tower 2 lifts were right in the lobby). The passage to Tower 2 lobby smelt of rotten eggs for some unknown reasons. I'd suggest you request for a room in Tower 1 for convenience.

We requested for late check out but was allowed to extend till 12:30pm only. Had to queue about 15 minutes for check out as it was the peak period. Process was relatively quick since my room was pre-paid.

Room
̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿
Carpet - YES
Wifi - YES
Came with free wifi but was good for only 2 devices at any one time. The reception was good enough to give me a few slips (with userid & password) for 1-hour complimentary wifi use if I needed to use more than 2 devices. Room size was reasonably big and could accomodate 2 adults and 2 children. Maintenance wasn't too good though. The bathtub wasn't cleaned well and the was mould at the corner of the wall. Water leaks onto the floor when you shower. There is a rain shower but we didn't use. The position looked like it would wet the entire floor if we used it.

Water Park
̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿
The resort boasts of a water park on the 7th floor. There is a regular swimming pool that is meant for hotel guests and a separate "water park". The entrance fee to the water park costs RM50/person but is free for hotel guests. Hotel guests simply need to write down their room number and check-in/check-out dates in the registry at the entrance to gain free entry. there is no verification required. Anyway, it is totally not worth paying RM50 for the park. The water park is really small with a couple of slides for kids and shallow pools to laze in.

Shopping
̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿ ̿
The hotel is connected to a large shopping mall. You could spend the whole day shopping here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Tower 1 for best convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttChet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
8.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Property: KSL Hotel & Resort
Address: 33 Jalan Seladang | Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 5 minutes away from the Causeway,10 minutes from Johor Bahru Business District and 20 minutes from LEGOLAND. LEGOLAND tickets and return shuttle service is available at the hotel or you could include it during the booking at our website. The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing