We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose the side of the hotel you stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Choose the side of the hotel you stay in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is another city hotel. Good value for money. Large room, and good sized bathroom, though not entirely clean.
Internet only available in the lobby, and not that great. Ethernet in the room, but I was only travelling with iPad.
Choose your room with care, as its backs onto a railway line. Trains go through early and late. Worst for this western traveler was the Muslim service on loudspeaker from 5 am on the two consecutive mornings I was there. It's not just the call to prayer, it's an entire 40 minute service, whilst still dark outside. This also sets off local dogs barking. It's such a relief when it's finished, and then followed by the 5.45 express train going through.
When in Rome..I know!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. We appreciate your feedback and we have taken note on your comments on our room cleanliness and rest assured, measures have been put in place to prevent similar occurrence in future. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    301
    151
    27
    24
See reviews for
212
78
22
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
shah alam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the deluxe room... Spacious with 2 queen beds! Great location.
Disappointed with the swimming pool, it looks so old & pool for kids was awful.
The breakfast were nice. Staff were nice & helpful.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe room double queen for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We truly appreciate your business, and we're grateful for the trust you've placed in us. Thanks again, for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at the deluxe room and booked directly with the hotel as the rate was slightly cheaper than other websites (such as agoda and booking.com). There were 5 of us, 2 adults, 2 children and a baby<1 year old.

The deluxe room was huge (2 queen beds with complimentary cot) and comfortable. I have no complaint as we all slept soundly, but be aware the A/C can be too cold). The reasons why I might not come back are the fact that they charge around RM25 for breakfast per child, as the room rate only comes with 2 adult breakfast. We were only told about this upon entering the restaurant.

The internet is chargeable (RM25/24hrs) and free-wifi is only available at the lobby. Room service menu was somewhat limited and very pricey (RM36 for fish and chips). Our room is facing the back area and you can hear the train every once in a while.

The staff was friendly and I wold like to specifically commend on the nice concierge staff. Overall I would come back as a business traveler but would find some other hotels with my family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosmawati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We certainly look forward to your return trip to our hotel where we trust you will have a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

cozy room with spacious built up..very friendly staff and welcoming attitude. Good retreat after hectic working day. The only reservation that i have only the bfast buffet which i think could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshahom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We are delighted to have you stayed with us recently. We have taken note of your comments and will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. We sincerely look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for 3 days with big family in 4 deluxe rooms. Big rooms with well kept furnishings and packed of toiletries, including detergent! Staff were nice and helpful. Location is walking distance to KSL City. Lot of food near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We certainly look forward to your return trip to our hotel where we trust you will have a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Good value for money hotel. More appropriate for families compared to surrounding hotels. Spacious rooms with well kept furnishings. Parking space is safe as the security there is diligent. Mutiara is located next to an old mall which sells a lot of gadget accessories at really cheap prices! Anything that you wish from iPhone to Samsung accessories.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Your kind comments regarding hotel’s services and amenities are much appreciated. We are happy that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and we shall certainly look forward to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel I am informed is one of the best in JB, well it isn't. It is in a run down area, the staff are inefficient, sullen and not very friendly with Westerners. I was the only white female in the hotel on my business stay and I was constantly being stared at. I had to call the reception to get them to vacuum my room properly as there was rubbish at the back of the chair.

The internet is charged at $M25 per day and it is the slowest and most difficult internet I have ever had to connect and use. The member of staff who helped me connect was very helpful though. One or two of the main restaurant staff were also quite helpful as was the doorment, and the staff and food in the Chinese restaurant was very good,( the only reason to visit this hotel is the Chinese restaurant.) My weeks stay was miserable as I was told not to go out at night on my own. It was Ramadam, so couldn't get a seat in the main restaurant at night, so I didn't eat much except when I went to the Chinese restaurant there. There is a new hotel not far from there called KSL, that is where I will be staying next time for sure.

Breakfast was below average

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minxy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We understand your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. Rest assured, we will address the issue as it is our goal to restore your confidence in our hotel. We believe nothing is more important than regaining the trust and all of us hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome and serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
2.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Property: Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#9 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing