We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CNY 4D3N @ Mutiara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CNY 4D3N @ Mutiara”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I had read some of the reviews and room tips before I had decided in booking this hotel. True enough, the hotel does not stop to impress me.

Service was excellent all round. At the front office, I had asked for several options for my room and all were almost adhered to judging that it was CNY and the hotel was running at peak.

Housekeeping staff at the hotel were an efficient really polite and helpful team. They had a wealth of information on the good surrounding eateries and shopping centres to head down to. Requests such as extra towels, floor mats were given without any questions asked.

Room tips:

1) Get the rooms which face KSL City Mall and the main road
2) Any floors above 5 should be fine as there would be less noise from the pool
3) Ensure you get non smoking rooms or get rooms in non smoking levels as the hotel allows it's guests to smoke within the hotel premises
4) Parking can be a crunch as the hotel has limited lots, either the surface carpark immediately in front of the hotel, very limited basement carpark lots or more lots at the slope up from the hotel. Don't forget the sunshade for your car windscreen as the sun could be quite unforgiving
5) Pay a bit more and get the duluxe rooms as they are big and spacious with a bathtub
6) The room service is quite expensive with a fish n chips costing RM$30 or simple sandwiches costing RM$18. I had found a fantastic Chinese restaurant very near to the hotel. Head down and walk along the Holiday Plaza till you hit the first traffic light. Cross and walk up the slope and you will see it across the road. Fried rice for two, dry chilli chicken and veges will set you back for around RM$30... Really superb food!

To summarize, this hotel is fantastic for its location, cleanliness, upkeep and service. Good for all.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank geeesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    315
    161
    29
    26
See reviews for
221
83
24
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Being a regular guest, I must say
my stay here is par excellence! They just renovated the lobby, the reception and business centre. The rooms and Coffee House were also recently done last year. Nice.
The Director of Rooms, Mr. Sam, is the most accomodating and nicest person who would go all out to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are big, very clean, and the single bed is actually a Double Bed. The staff are warm, friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is superb. There's a shopping complex right next to it, where there are Parkson, and fast food joints.
Me & my family love this place.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I like the design for the room, very exclusive, very clean, the bathroom is a big, the staff is well manner, friendly, good service, the food is really good. The swimming pool is not too bad. I plan to come here again for the next trip to legoland & universal.

Room Tip: higher floor with deluxe room is comfortable for family n kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is under major renovation with a grand lobby underway. Apart from some dust, our stay is ok with comfortable bed except that the hot water fails to work occasionally. Breakfast variety was good. Hotel location is centralized. Shopping centers in surrounding is a little rundown. Overall experience is acceptable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Holidaypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed in a two queen size beds room. Very big and spacious. Iron is available in room, together with an ironing board. Wifi isn't available, sadly. TV channels are not bad, many channels from Singapore available. Hair dryer is also available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Not big lounge though. Location is OK, you should use a car anyhow in johor. Spas and car shops are the surroundings. KLC shopping mall is a 5min walk. Need to go to johor for the kids to enjoy 3-4 full day attractions

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was our second stay at Mutiara Johor Bahru and since we enjoyed our first experience 2 years ago, we booked 2 deluxe rooms for the kids and us for an enhanced experience. Unfortunately, it did not turn out as expected.

The front office staff was severely understaffed and we had to wait a while both for check in and check out. They had recently renovated the lobby and now have separate counters for check in & check out with 1 staff minding each counter. Hence, the slow service.

We arrived at 4.15 pm and the second room we booked was not ready. Luckily the first one was ready. They promised that the second room would be ready in an hour as it needed to get cleaned. 1 hour later & 1 phone call later, the cleaning process had not even started. We eventually got the key at about 6 pm.

As for the deluxe rooms that we booked, they were not much different from the superior rooms, except just a little bit more spacious and that they had flat screen TVs. Other than that, there were no other discernible differences, perhaps we should have just stuck to the superior rooms for better value for money. Bed was comfy enough, pillows were fresh.

Apart from the slow service at the check in & check out counters, other services were also noticeably slow, like when we requested for additional towels. The coffee house staff, however, were rather efficient, even if the breakfast buffet was slow in being replenished.

So, it was a bit of a let down after an initial positive experience. Would probably give other hotels in JB a go for our next trip there.

Room Tip: Do remember to request for a non-smoking room if you cannot stand the lingering smell of cigarette s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayser10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
829 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Property: Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing