We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel with good service”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here twice in the span of 6 months.

Breakfast was average. Air-cond was too cold. Bathroom needs to be upgraded. Comfortable for couples and family. No good walking distance restaurant except for the hotel's. Other attractions in Johor are is not too far away from the hotel.

Overall: Definitely coming back here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faizal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    313
    160
    29
    26
See reviews for
220
82
24
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

There wasn't a doorman when we entered the newly renovated-looking lobby of the Mutiara. The hotel, located a little further away from town was nice for Johor Bahru. The check-in staff was somewhat snobby, and we didn't really like the way she makes us feel not as welcomed as we expected (she didn't smile the whole time and seem to have not liked seeing us arriving). Our room was facing train tracks, so it did get quite noisy sometime. However, we do love the fact that the room is bright and modern, with the huge television that even 4-star hotels in Singapore don't have. However we had very limited information regarding internet and whether it is paid or complimentary. Our room was also not really prepared properly as there were some leftover dirt in the corners and we weren't given any bathing gel or shampoo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the train tracks, and possibly one facing the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I haven't stay in this hotel for a long time, they upgraded my booking from superior room to deluxe room with two queen size beds. The room is newly renovated and clean. Next to the hotel is a shopping complex, you can find a lot of hand phone accessories there but the complex is quite old.
The sauna was quite run down and steam bath was not working on the health centre.
There are many eating store in Pelangi food court a short drive from the hotel. You can find many variety of food there.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank francisphang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed: 1 night, 2nd stay.
Location: This hotel is at the city center of JB, next to Holiday plaza. 10 mins-walk away to KSL city mall.
Shopping: Holiday plaza looking like a den, Mostly handphone shops, with only 2 edible eateries: KFC and Macdonald's. Nothing else nearby except KSL and small massage outlets.
Status: The hotel has done with the renovation has a nice grand lobby.
Room: Bathroom has been renewed, but the bedroom smelled but it was okay. Bath tub is very compact, max adjustable water temp at 40 deg only.
Room service: Limited choices, international cuisine. Tasted alright with normal 4 star hotel prices.
Restaurants: Short of choices, Chinese, pub, coffee house and that's it.
Breakfast: Average standard international food.
Hotel facilitates: Just stayed for a night, so didn't try any of them. But free WIFI is remarkable as compared to other hotels. There's no auto log out. Stayed on with excellent reception and speed 24hours on unlimited devices. Parking at the front lobby is safe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were invited for our family friend's function over the weekend in JB. This is our second stay as a family and we had booked a Junior Suite for our family of five. I noticed that the lobby had undergone a major facelift. It is much brighter & looking chic. During our stay, it was raining almost all day in JB and we spend lot of time in our room. We ordered room service for out late supper & breakfast The room service was so excellent, the service is fast & the food is great. We also have a very good sleep as always. This hotel will always be our first choice when in JB.

Room Tip: Booked a room at the New Wing which is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhamad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

August 2014 was the second time I used this hotel. Overall experience is good. It has all the facilities, gym, restaurants, swimming pool, and wifi. Breakfast was good with many to choose. Room is spacious. I was here for short business trip, so I can't really write all the facilities it has.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudutmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th time staying at the hotel over a weekend within the year and we will definitely head back there again!

Booked 2 Deluxe rooms and rooms are nicely done up. The only problem we had is an eccentric air con control. Air con control in one of the rooms think has a mal functioning thermostat. Room is cold enough to rear penguins I think.

Spread for breakfast is good but the replenishment of food took a while. Can be improved I feel. Location of hotel is awesome. Next to Holiday Plaza where mac and KFC are located. Also near to KSL mall and many eateries. Opposite the hotel has a good spa and massage place. Worth a visit.

Friendly staffs as usual and we will be back if we go visiting relatives again in JB.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank medgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
806 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
205 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 109 in Johor Bahru
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Property: Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing