We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other bargin in Johor bahru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No other bargin in Johor bahru”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Have been staying in this hotel numerous of times because of it location and no other “better” hotel available in Johor Bahru.
The staff service is still below par compare with international hotel chains.
The room is still in a conventional way as most typical Malaysia hotel where you will find that the bulb doesn’t light or flickering and of course don’t expect to have a slipper or laundry bag in the room if you don’t ask for one.
Breakfast is ok, at least valuable for the price you paid for.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Xiao_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    313
    160
    29
    26
See reviews for
220
82
24
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

I came here for the weekend with husband and friends. Exterior looks bad considering the building is old, but inside it is surprisingly well maintained. Room is spacious & clean, but don't expect to get good views as the hotel in the residential neighboorhood. Nice hotel for a place to sleep. Hotel staff is friendly & curteous, I'd definitely come here again. Although the room is quite pricey, but the hotel is offering the weekend package ithat's considerably cheap and worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitomi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2009

An interesting find while checking out hotels in Johor Bahru especially because of what the family room offers i.e. a separate section with double-decker beds for the kids. If I remember correctly, there was an online offer then.

1. SERVICE & AMENITIES
Not much of an issue checking in. Counter staff were friendly enough.

Having driven in from Singapore, parking was a tad challenging as it was the Chinese New Year weekend then and there were not very many lots available. Only outdoor, unshaded lots were available.

Overall, the hotel looked and felt a bit old-ish e.g. furniture, decoration etc. Had a bit of a tired feel about it.

The adult swimming pool was decent enough, but the kids paddling pool, OMG, was comparable to a large in-built circular basin! One of the most pathetic things about the otherwise decent experience we had there.

The buffet breakfast was delicious and quite a wide spread of local favourites as well as international dishes like nasi lemak, roti canai, sausages etc.

Hotel front-desk offers a decent selection of PSP game DVDs you can loan out to play in your room.



The lift lobby looks like a scene right out of a circa 80s shot. Red carpeting, Cane furniture and dumbcane plants.


2. ROOM
The family room we booked was quite large and clean when we arrived. So was the adjoining bathroom; clean but basic-looking with a decent set of guest kit e.g. toothpaste etc.

There was a complementary, albeit sad-looking, fruit platter available near the sofa. The bananas were bruised and over-ripe.

Two sets of robes and bedroom slippers were provided in the wardrobe, together with a few hangers, a safe, an ironing board and an iron. Towels could also be found there. Have always wondered about the wisdom of those small safes, the sort not fixed to anything in particular, which perseverent robbers or the kleptomaniac cleaning staff could really just carry off if they had wanted to. I'm just saying is all...not saying that the staff were that! But sure, the safe was available too.

The kids immediately took to the kids section of the room with the double decker beds. Tastefully furnished with nice nature-themed wallpaper and border, together with a matching clock which didn't work soon after we checked in (but I'll let that detail slide) and other decorative accents like the framed butterflies and the ladybug night lights, the kids were delirious with excitement deciding on which bed was theirs.

The beds come complete with soft toys which should have come with some sort of note of assurance as to their cleanliness. But appreciated how much pains they took to ensuring that the theme of the kids section was maintained i.e. nature - one was a ladybug and the other was a frog. I really liked that. The bedspread though, looked like they've been around for 20 years or so - very faded but clean. I mean, there's only so far you should take the real home feel about with a hotel, right?



3. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
Rather blah surroundings made even blah-rer by the fact that it was CNY and most everything was closed. Opposite the hotel, there was a line of car-washes modeled out of terrace houses - something which you would never find in Singapore I'm sure! =P Holiday Plaza shopping centre right beside the hotel didn't have much halal food selections except for Pizza Hut and KFC.

There were shuttle services to the more popular shopping areas like Danga Bay etc, but it seems like an unpopular service as it was run only when needed not like a regular service, The staff were even a bit surprised, but polite nonetheless, that I had asked about it.


4. OVERALL
An ok stay albeit a bit overpriced for a somewhat old hotel with a not-so-fantastic location.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopaholic_Mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I stayed there of 4 nights .It was a nice hotel and i really liked the view ....pictersque view with the small railway track winding its way thru the greenery.
Nice friendly staff, very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rupesh_Berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

It did not looked as good as the website, but the room was ok. Bed was comfortable, had sufficient amenities and room was spacious. The place is slightly old but for the price, I will consider it value for money.

Holiday Plaza is just beside, there are lots of food around and there is a row of car washes just across the road. Location of Mutiara is good.

The service of the hotel staff is up to standards, they were polite and rather efficient. So I have no complains and I will go back to stay there again.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Rather dirty beds
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chryssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
207 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 109 in Johor Bahru
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Property: Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing