We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Ranked #16 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in late evening after a long day thinking to enjoy the night with well rest. Disappointed with:
1. Old furniture
2. Stained bathroom wall
3. Cracked and stained bath tub
4. Hair found on the bath tub
5. Stink shower curtain
6. Stink pillows

In summary, horrible maintenance. One of the worst hotels on my list.

Asked the receptionist how long it takes from hotel to the airport. My jaw fell when asked to check with the concierge. My colleague asked a different receptionist but given the same answer. That is a standard question most visitors will ask! What is the management doing in training their staff?

Checked out early morning and attended by a male receptionist with no emotion on his face. Don't work in service industry if you can't smile and greet your customer pleasantly and willingly.

However, the attendants in concierge were friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    217
    212
    76
    59
See reviews for
216
125
38
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
guangzhou
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived just before midnight, 4 people at reception all desperately trying not to catch my eye. Eventually a very tired me aka loudly if anyone wants to Check me in. Get to room, tired decor, fridge making a noise, unplugged that. Bathroom greets me with a clump of hair on the floor. Get into bed and can clearly hear the next door room going about their bathroom routine! I've only been here 30mins! Not good at all

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TonibellaGuangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for a conference in Johor Bahru. The staff at the reception was helpful and accomodating The food was decent and value for money.. Food for room service comes at the specific time that I requested. Concierge staff were helpful too. Bedroom is clean, however I prefer a standing shower rather than a bath tub (which was not available). Swimming pool - great, however I prefer a rectangle shape swimming pool rather than rounded edge (it's a bit difficult to go back and fro). The room that I stayed was facing a temple, and they play loud noise until 12am, so it's best to avoid room facing the temple.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is currently under renovation and some uplifting works to their common areas which we can accommodate to that, but we didn't really enjoy our stay. Don't really seems like a five star hotel. Here's some pointers on why.

Check in process: slow with moody looking reception staffs. Ya, not a single smile or greeting.
Rooms looking very tire with worn out furniture.
Stained bathtub, towels, bed sheets, curtains and carpet. No hand towels didn't provided.
The wall mounted hair dryer isn't working at all.
There's a 80's TV set and no disc player provided. We didn't even try to on the TV as we reckon our ipad can provide us with more entertainment.
Aircon control isn't working, we were frozen in the mid day, asked for an extra blanket but was given half a velvet sheet.
The in room phone isn't not functioning well. Oh yes, they have speedy maintenance service, which they had replace a phone for us.
Wifi almost pointless, password given and entitled only to one device, and once you logged out, you can't log in with another. Download and upload speed: almost not working.
Breakfast was chaotic with less than 50 pax at 10am. Not much varieties. Certainly a 3-star standard. Slow and almost no replenishment, we understand that it was near to closing hours, but there were many other guests still walking in at that time. We didn't expect full replenishment but at least a small portion.
Sleep was a nightmare. Worn out and flat pillows. Bed is fine. And the mosque directly opposite was praying early at dawn (think 5am +) I can hear them with my ear plugs on. And the sound from neighbors with running kids above us was annoying.
There are 3 restaurants selling at the average cost of food on par with Singapore's restaurant prices. We chose D'coast for our dinner and it was fantastic. Tasty and great service rendered by a brilliant staff, Jaay.
Plus point: They have excellent location with a shopping mall just next to this hotel and City Square two streets away.
Oh yes, I think we won't be back again.

Room Tip: Away from the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Talking about the front office staff was not polite
The incident was that time the room TV got problems and unable to watch TV.
We want to change rooms and waited for the front office staff to actually bring us to another room to stay.
But it keeping us waiting too long and it more than 2 hours and we inform them from phone that we had to gone for dinner by 7.30pm will come back to hotel.
After dinner also wait till 8.30pm then can change rooms. we had never enjoy because of one night with this hotel and next day we are leaving malaysia and went back to my own country. But what i like this hotel is their room service is fast and foods are nice and polite.

Recommendation is to go to their morning breakfast to eat nasi lemark.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Room:

-excellent bed with down feather pillows for deluxe room
-furnishing & fittings dated but decent cleanliness
-low point it's only the bathtubs, as it's dated

Service:
-excellent service staff
-just like staying at your friend place
-taking efforts to make sure Everthing alright

Food:
-great value for money especially semi dinner buffet was excellent
-breakfast was amazing with lots of variety
-impress by a lady service crew who's introduce us to each and every type of dish in the semi dinner buffet

A friendly neighborhood hotel, already been here since the Pan Pacific time. Improve a lot especially the breakfast quee:)

Thanks team for a great hospitality experience!

Keep up the good work regards!
Jason Chai

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason82Chai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at the hotel with my family of 2 kids, my hubby and our helper. Booked 2 Imperial Deluxe rooms and our request for interconnecting rooms was met without any fail. Checking in process was quite a wait but it wasn't that long. It was smooth and within 15 minutes, we were up in our rooms. There was a queue for the checking in, think I was 2-3 pax behind.

Rooms were basic clean but you can see the worn and tired look of it. Carpet and some of the bathroom tiles need to be scrubbed down. If I'm not wrong, the hotel is currently undergoing some major refurbishment. Thus expect some inconveniences caused by the works. Toothbrushes and some amenities can be given only upon request.

Breakfast spread was average. The usual local choices and american choices like nasi lemak, noodle soup, hotdogs etc. Prata is a must try.

Service staffs at the hotel are rather friendly and it's good that the hotel put in some effort to separate the smokers and non smoking area. Families with young children love this kind of hotels.

Hopefully after the refurbishment, the hotel don't look so worn out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.3 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#31 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
1.8 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Property: The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
Address: PO Box 293 Jalan Abdullah Ibrahim, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is the largest 4 stars hotel in the southern region of Malaysia, located in the centre of Johor Bahru with easy access to Singapore via the causeway. The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru is a business and convention-focused hotel offering 416 appealing guestrooms inclusive of apartments and suites, all equipped with wireless internet access. There is an array of food and beverage options to choose from,this includes Selasih Restaurant which offers traditional authentic Johorean and Malaysian cuisine, Mediterranean inspired fun dining at D'Coast, Cantonese and Szechuan cuisine at Kai Xuan and The Puteri Cafe offers both local and international menu. For recreational activities, Pacific Fitness Centre comprises of the gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, tennis and squash courts, and an outdoor swimming pool. A choice of 29 function rooms and Convention/Exhibition spaces with necessary facilities are readily available to cater to your needs at Persada Johor International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puteri Pacific Hotel
Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing