We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location. Would definitely stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights with young children. Room was small but clean, modern and well equipped (good wi-fi connection). Bed comfortable and lovely soft sheets/bed linen. Buffet breakfast for western food was poor but the Nasi Lemak was very tasty. TV also caters more for Asian travellers with mainly Singaporean and Malaysian channels although they did have Fox Sports and Discovery. Location is excellent for families with Aeon/Jusco across the street and local restaurants around the back (right next to MacDonalds also). Free parking was great.

Negatives? Housekeeping should pay more attention to detail - 1st night bath mat not replaced, 2nd night coffee and tea not replaced, 3rd night toilet paper not replaced & final night room not cleaned at all! Had to ask reception to arrange room cleaning at 6pm at night! Shower did have mould but this is a common problem in tropical asian countries and difficult to treat! Bathroom also had a foul smell from pipes every day. But overall room was very clean and modern and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Aeon - the other side faces a construction site for large high rise building. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquiddyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    132
    93
    22
    12
See reviews for
137
42
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed here since March 2013. In the beginning, the hotel was disappointing, but through cooperation with the management, the hotel service is steadily improving. The hotel has hired a new chef that has international training and brings new flavor and style to the food in the restaurant. The housekeeping department has improved its consistency. This property does not have a pool, which is not a big concern for me. There is a spa with massage, sauna, steam room and small gym on the second floor. The Quando Quando bar had nightly entertainment in the Rythmix band that plays songs from the USA, and other countries as well. The location is excellent for shopping, as the Aeon mall is across the street. There is also a 24 hour McDonald's right next door to the hotel. However, you will have to eat your food outside of the hotel, as they don't allow outside food inside the hotel. Remember that this hotel opened in December of 2012 and is still in its infancy. Work with the front desk manager to iron out any problems that may occur. To dispel one review I read on Trip Advisor about the hotel parking lot - I am driving a Toyota Hilux 4x4 pickup truck and I have absolutely NO problem negotiating the basement parking lot. There is no real danger of hitting corners with your vehicle as was posted in another review.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawau, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great Location near to Lego Land. Excellent service, clean and comfortable room. Definitely will visit this Hotel again. Multiple choice for breakfast and room service. Easy excess to Johore Bahru Town and airport.

Room Tip: Connecting Room Available for family trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Good132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here during the Hari Raya holidays. The hotel is situated in a very good location- surrounded by restaurants and a nearby AEON shopping mall. Staff during check in time was pleasant. Rooms were quite modernly decorated but toilet smelled. The room was cleaned only at 5 pm - perhaps because it was festive season and they didn't have enough housekeeping staff to clean the rooms on time.

The only thing I was not happy was that this hotel had a no outside food policy. We literally couldn't bring any outside food back to the hotel room. My brother in law and children were targeted twice for bringing their drinks into the lobby while it was clear that other patrons also brought in food but were not stopped. They had to either finish their drinks or throw it into the bin before being allowed into the hotel.

Never before I've been to other hotels and got stopped for bringing outside food and drinks into the hotel. Even the 5 star hotels do not do this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times for work and to be blunt there are certainly some things that would prevent me from taking my family there such as no pool, no real gym and the outdoor bar is tiny. But for a business trip I found it to be brilliant. The rooms are not massive but enough space if all you're doing is coming back to sleep after a day's work. The restaurant on the ground floor is really nice with the biggest complaint from expats being that "it's all asian food". To that lot I'd say "if you really don't like asian food then don't go to asia". The value for money is good and the rooms have always been clean and I've never had a problem with things going missing from my room as has happens in other hotel in the Johor area. Here's a few really good bits more about the location of the hotel, in that there's a massive variety of local restaurants surrounding the hotel both as stand alone businesses and in the AEON centre across the road. For those who just can't or won't stomach asian food then go to McDonalds next door or Tesco's down the street. If you were looking for somewhere for a short stay with your family then it would be ok as it's really close to Lego Land and several other tourist attractions. All in all for business a great little place and also for short family stay too.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lifts and service stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caleransw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel, relatively new, though the staff mostly are non-english speaking. Their manners are moderate. Good hotel location, with basement carpark, free for patrons. Room condition is ok, all in working condition, with smell of new paints. Breakfast was nothing interesting...

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Humbleernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Terengganu, Terengganu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was here for a short 2 days 1 night trip to JB last june and it was a very pleasant experience from the check in process to the room condition.I was amazed with the room condition with the amount that was paid.As per what I was read earlier which regards to this hotel it was totally different when I was there.But anyway different people have a different perception and opinion but for me this hotel was good enough for me and let say if I were about to visit Johor Baharu again in the future,I will definitely choose this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are coming together with your family,try not to book for a Deluxe room because it is spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasrol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
7.0 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
4.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
4.4 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granada Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada Johor Bahru

Property: Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
Address: 55 Jalan Indah 15/2, Johor Bahru 81200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru, managed by Care Luxury Hotels & Resorts is a 4-Star Business Class Hotel, offering 192 luxurious rooms designed for ultimate comfort ranging from the Executive Deluxe Rooms to the exclusive Granada Suite. The hotel provides facilities and amenities for private events and functions as well as pulsating food & beverage outlets offering various local and international cuisines, together with both recreation & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granada Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing