We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the flies?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Malaysia. Comfortable rooms - nothing special (a bit like a Travelodge) but ok for a short stay. Very helpful staff, both in reception, in the bar and restaurant. Good air conditioning (an absolute must!).

Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Nice touch to be given bottled water for the kettle each day too.

My only real complaint was the sheer number of flies in the restaurant at breakfast? I left my bowl of cereal to get some coffee and, when I returned, a dozen flies were enjoying it instead! Not much the management can do about it I suppose but it wasn't very pleasant!

Would I use the hotel again? If I was there on business again I might do but I might prefer to try something a little less Travelodge!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank BarrynEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful hotel and good location too. Aeon mall is just infront of the hotel. The hotel looks grand inside. Room size is ok. Toilet "looks clean" and looks can be deceiving because there were some molds on the tiles that is really yikes! Apart from the bathroom, everything in this hotel is ok.Breakfast is also good and they got plenty of food choices. Staff services etc. were really good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreezynButch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed one night for a shopping trip at JPO. Got good rate through booking.com and had no trouble checking-in. The receptionist who checked us in was efficient and polite. Room was a bit small for 2 Adults and a 9 year-old but suffice for a one night stay. The laminated floor was a plus because I really hate musty smelling carpet.

Breakfast that was included in the rate was okay, the normal fare you get at medium priced hotel. Would stay again for future shopping trips to JPO due to the hotel's location but not if i am on a rest and relax trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank gail_mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel was supposed to be a 4 star hotel & nicely decorated. Some more with its connection to Tunamaya Resort Tioman Island makes me expect more out of this hotel. Location was superb since it's nearby to AEON Bukit Indah. I had a late check in so there was nobody there to welcome me, just the receptionist giving me my room keys. The rooms were rather small. I booked 2 rooms, executive deluxe and twin deluxe at 5th floor. The free breakfast was the worst of all. The restaurant staff were not friendly, look like they are exhausted & no one smiles at us. The breakfast buffet choices were very limited, definitely not for a 4 star hotel. The nasi kunyit that I took were rock stone, hard & difficult to swallow. My hubby could not find anything that he fancied to eat. At 9.30am, they stop to refill the food since the breakfast buffet closed at 10.00am. I would surely not make a come back here. In fact, I would urge those who wishes to stay here to find other places to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evazmieza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Went for a short trip with my family to Johor Bahru. Booked this hotel through agoda.com. The hotel is easy to find. Situated just in front of AEON shopping mall. A lot of eateries nearby the hotel with McDonald in front of the hotel. Located about 15-20min drive to Legoland and Johor Premium Outlet. Booked 2 rooms for a family of 5. Rooms are clean and look new. Very happy with the room condition. Buffet breakfast was OK, a lot of choices but not all of them are tasty. My only complain is that we couldn't get side by side rooms or rooms with connecting doors. Which is quite frustrating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Azmnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located opposite a big and modern shopping centre and 24hr Mcdonalds beside it. Theres a complimentary undergrd parkg. The hotel lobby is big and receptionists are polite. The junior suite that we booked is pretty small. Its size seems like a deluxe room. But the room was clean and cozy. Breakfast spread lacks varieties. No swimming pool. But perfect for a short 1-2night stay thanks to its location and price.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lyzzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Contrary to some reviews here, i found my stay at granada hotel pretty ok. Yes.. The room is pretty small, but the hotel made up for it by providing me with a comfy bed. Yes... There is no bathtub, but the standing rain shower is enough to melt away my tiredness.

As the chinese saying goes, '麻雀虽小,五脏俱全'. Hotel granada has everything you'd need for a good night stay.

Only grub i have is the area serving breakfast. Think the restaurant's name is call olla or something... Its full of houseflies..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Soulwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
6.8 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
669 reviews
7.0 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
7.5 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,326 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
10.6 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granada Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada Johor Bahru

Address: 55 Jalan Indah 15/2, Johor Bahru 81200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £31 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru, managed by Care Luxury Hotels & Resorts is a 4-Star Business Class Hotel, offering 192 luxurious rooms designed for ultimate comfort ranging from the Executive Deluxe Rooms to the exclusive Granada Suite. The hotel provides facilities and amenities for private events and functions as well as pulsating food & beverage outlets offering various local and international cuisines, together with both recreation & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Granada Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing