We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good but cleanliness is below standard”
Review of Baguss City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baguss City Hotel
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at a seaview Deluxe Room for a 3D2N trip. The room size is acceptable. The location is very good. It is just a walking distance to Johor Bahru City Square shopping mall and JB Sentral. It is so convenient for me to take bus to Legoland, Kittyland & Johor Premium Outlet. Also, the staffs are nice. However, I found a cockroah just one the desk next to my bed on the first night! I complained verbally to hotel reception counter at once and asked them to clean up my room deeply when doing housekeeping next day. I didn't find cockroach any more for my stay.

Room Tip: To choose a Delux Room is worth for money rather than a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viviensin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at Baguss City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and we were glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. It is our pleasure to give you the best accommodation and facilities. We will be looking forward to welcome you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Walked from City Square shopping centre to the hotel. Cautious to ladies, if walking a long a street with construction workers gathering place is not a problem for you.
Not fancy by its lobby setup, very small and old. Room size is OK with the price paid, no complain about the size if it is only for a night stay.
Clean room although bathroom could be cleaner. Wifi only available at the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main street (Wong Ah Fook as noisy construction is just opposite the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchooong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at Baguss City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and we were glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. It is our pleasure to give you the best accommodation and facilities. We will be looking forward to welcome you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stay here for 3D2N few days ago. We arrived late at nite around 2am in the morning and the check in process was quick and easy. The room was small but with basic amenities without the fridge but aircon and water pressure works greatly. The most I love about this hotel is the walking distance to city square and jb central was so near around 5 minutes walk. You can just goto level 3 to walk to CIQ building for entrance to singapore. There are lots of shops nearby.. and you can have choices to eat nearby. My room have a view looking at CIQ building and we can see cars and buses go in/out to/from singapore. Most important this hotel also have their own parking space.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at Baguss City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and we were glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. It is our pleasure to give you the best accommodation and facilities. We will be looking forward to welcome you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

So I have never written an online review before, but me and my friend had an amazing stay last night for the price, so I thought I'd make the effort.

So I haven't stayed in a hotel for over a year as I've generally been on a student budget, but as we were in Johor for the one night, we thought we'd splash out on a hotel. Essentially it was a spur of the moment thing and we didn't have a hotel as of 8pm. We had a quick browse round JH sentral, places like citrus hotel we're charging ridiculous amounts (~S$80)! So we had a quick google after sitting in mcdonalds and found here, we weren't expecting an awful lot for (£22/$40), but it had everything I needed!

A really comfortable bed, Room-controlled AC, spotlessly clean room and a 16th floor view, what more could i ask for? (can you tell i've been staying in hostels?). Even an ironing board on every floor in the hall to iron my shirt for the 'horse races' in singapore the following day!

Oh and the best bit was, the included breakfast in the morning. It was buffet, all you can eat style with a really wide selection, anything from the local dishes to scrambled egg/toast/fruit/cereal/fresh-made in front of you pancakes! (and if you have really fussy children, they even serve potato wedges too). Served from 6.30-10.30 (yep...we were the two that wandered down at 10.20, but there was still the entire selection of food there)

Location: Literally a 2 minute walk from the City Square mall north-west exit! Then the bustling saturday night market(really cool, i'd suggest it) is about 5 minutes in the other direction!

P.S. The picture on trip advisor doesn't do the hotels outside appearance justice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRHamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at Baguss City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and we were glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. It is our pleasure to give you the best accommodation and facilities. We will be looking forward to welcome you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

DamanSari Hotel can be viewed from the moment you have your passport chopped at the Causeway. I crossed the JB Central and enjoyed some shopping at the nearby City Square. Then I walked along the City Square along Jalan Wong Ah Fook, I checked into the hotel with all friendly smiles at the counter. "Have a nice stay", "The Internet access is at the lobby - free", "the morning breakfast is just over there" ---these are the greetings words from the receptionists. I had to use the electronic card to access to my room. It was security. I felt comfortable, relaxed and enjoyed the city view from my 18th floor. The hotel was clean and no foul odour. Room was made up daily. I had 2 nights there and I enjoyed the hospitality of the hotel especially the morning breakfast where foods were of varieties and aplenty. After the sumptuous breakfast, it could be some 10am and ready to go shopping nearby, to Debrau, to Legoland, Holiday Plaza and many more. I had a memorable stay at this new hotel. Buses are just "three steps away". So convenient to travel around from there. Amansari may not be easy to find in buses but City Square is famous and we would not get lost. And the rate is just below RM200 per night from Agoda...cheers...

Room Tip: I had a memorable stay at this new hotel. Buses are just "three steps away". So convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tohkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at Baguss City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. It is our pleasure to giving you the best accommodation and facilities.

We truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms are small and the floor configuration is peculiar, which betrays its former use as an office building. You will see odd pillars in your room, and avoid corner rooms. In any case, the hotel is fairly new, so it will still do. It is only 10 min walk to City Square, and the immediate area is deserted at night, with a transvestite street-walker or 2. Low-budget package tours tend to pick this hotel for the night before their onward or next-day itinerary in Singapore.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvin2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at Baguss City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. With these information we will try our best to accommodate our guests with the best comfort and giving additional facilities and services in the near future.

We truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed with this hotel for A night on 27th July , I used my new credit card( NO OTHER TRANSACTION MADE BEFORE)
To my shock on the 1st August Early morning 0300-0400hrs I received alert message from the credit card company mentioning that my card has been charged for 3 transaction on paypal, paypal gave me the person’s name who tried to use my credit card for 3 transaction in the wee hours. Obviously, one of the staff in the hotel is a crook trying to use my card for some online purchase.
I was even more surprised further because I tried getting in touch with the Hotel’s General Manager for two days in vain. He neither returned my calls or even tried replying my messages. Finally, I walked down to the reception and lost my cool with one of the staffs and he gave me the GM’s mobile number.
Please listen how a Hotel’s General Manager reacted to the situation. The GM Lawrence( very rude chinese gentlemen) who answered his phone with a very rude tone and could not wait to get off the hook. The moment I mentioned that my credit had had been cloned in the hotel his straight answer was the he cannot do anything and was very quick to just tell be to report to the police and cancel my card. This gave me an immediate impression that he gets many calls on credit fraud in the hotel. There was no apology or to the extend a kind word from him. He even hang up on me before I could finish my ordeal(my phone bill proven the duration of the conversation between I and him). All he said was I give my email you just send the complain to me.
I cannot get over the thought that the owners of this property can actually employ such a sloppy gentlemen for a GM. In the hospitality industry this is the first time I have met a General Manager with such a caliber. How is Malaysia going to succeed in bringing in the tourist especially in Johore now. I am a malaysian and I feel so ashamed and angry to be treated this way. Can you imagine if I was a foreigner?

Dear MB Group/Owner of Amansari hotel, Please if you keep such people in your property with no integrity you will soon see your property down the drain.

Dear friends, please think twice before using this hotel. Amansari Johor Bahru.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
12  Thank Shebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at Baguss City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. Regarding to the matter that you have highlighted, we will get into it and take immediate actions accordingly. Can you please give us more details about the incident, paypal transactions and the name of the paypal user? Kindly drop your details at info_jbcc@amansarihotels.com and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Once again thank you for your time with us and we truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.0 mi away
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
#59 of 109 in Johor Bahru
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 109 in Johor Bahru
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#73 of 109 in Johor Bahru
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baguss City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baguss City Hotel

Address: No. 49 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia (Formerly AmanSari Hotel City Centre)
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £20 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baguss City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baguss City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing