We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic facilities”
Review of Bayu Marina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayu Marina Resort
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel is located close to the new highway to the Pasir Gudang Port. There is a shopping mall, maybe about 10 minute drive along the highway – at that area, there are plenty of shops, restaurants, pharmacies, clinics and some hotels as well. Around the hotel, there is not many shops around – there are a few rows about 5 minute walk – groceries shops etc, but not many choices.

I would say that the hotel would be more suitable for family holiday because the rooms / apartments and some facility are geared towards that group of guests. The lobby is simple and not much deco – perhaps the management could spruce up a bit since this is the 1st impression of the hotel. Although it may not be an immediate necessity, I think the lobby can be improved with some deco. However, the front desk service was good and efficient – when I arrived, the room keys were ready and after a few minutes of the usual checking in procedures, the keys were with me.

Similarly, the restaurant is quite basic in its deco – the buffet breakfast is foyer area before you enter the air cond restaurant. However, the spread was fantastic for this type of hotel – plenty of choices. They even served dim sum apart from the usual offering of local delicacies and some western food.

The unit size is OK – not too huge but more than enough space, and comes with a fully equipped kitchen. There is a lounge with balcony overlooking the river, and since my unit was a corner unit, our bedroom’s balcony is all connected from 1 room to the other rooms.

Our unit was the 3 unit apartment – with the master bedroom has en suite bathroom. I think the bedrooms are relatively small as compared to other apartments that I have been before. However, it is adequate for 2 persons to stay in a room. One minor thing was the insufficient no of power outlets in the units. This is especially so if all 6 persons have a handphone each, and coupled with laptops / tablets / game consoles, it will be just impossible to charge them simultaneously – you may end up charging some of them at the kitchen area.

The housekeeping is good and efficient, and the unit and areas are generally well kept and clean.

One thing I should mention is the parking. It is located, I think on the 4th floor of the building. If you are driving a large vehicle eg SUV or MPV, it may be difficult to manoeuvre up and down. I got to know this when I was stopped by one of the hotel management as I was about to enter the parking, and was asked to park at the reserve parking lots on the ground floor. I really appreciate his gesture.

If I am travelling again with my family or a group of friends, I would return to this hotel. The basic facilities / requirements are well taken care off – the fancy stuff – very limited or almost non existence.

Room Tip: Get a corner unit - you can have both view of the river and the town
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Bayu Marina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

The location is horrible basically away from anything, you have to take a taxi for anything you want. The area in General low class. No attention to cleaness, bed rooms are very small. Bathrooms have no tub, sink and toilet very small too, the entire finishing of the building is cheap. It's very obvious the the hotel management is trying to cut costs as much as possible, for example there was no iron, you need to order when you need one, breakfast was a bad experience, the place was dirty, crowded, nobody was cleaning finished dishes I think staff is not enough to handle customers.

Overall I don't recommend this place at all

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sattyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for a night last weekend. Booked the Legoland package which included tickets to Legoland as well as shuttle to/from Legoland (which is pretty helpful if you're not familiar with the road there)

Stayed in the two-bedroom apartment. The rooms were quite spacious and the stay was alright. However, did notice that there were no power outlets at all in the bedrooms, which resulted in us charging our phones and other electronics outside (the living room area).

Breakfast was ok, choice was good but food was not topped up frequently (and I think they stopped topping up about 10AM, breakfast was until 10.30AM).

Free parking for hotel guests but be careful when going down the ramp to exit the car park as there's a sharp turn (and judging by the amount of paint transfer on the walls, seem like a lot of people miscalculated their turn there)

Overall an ok hotel to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Maybe we just had too high an expectation of this hotel, but needless to say our overall impression was marred when the hotel first confirmed that we would be given a two-bedroom suite (which is normally given to groups of 4 as part of our package while we were only 3 pax), downgraded the night before we checked in and not told until we checked in and inquired when we entered our smaller room. The staff couldn't seem to explain what had happened, or who was at fault or appease us and just kept passing us from one person to the next. To make up for it, they gave us two umbrellas (again, we were 3) and a handful of pens.

But aside from that, the room was quite nice and clean. It was long, which made watching tv a bit challenging, but the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but still clean with the shower nice and hot. We ordered room service for dinner and it was alright. Getting transportation from the hotel is a bit challenging, nor is it in an easily accessible neighborhood.

We had the package with the Hello Kitty and Legoland tours, although we didn't get to go on the Hello Kitty one as we were exhausted by the time we got to the hotel on the first day. The hotel has a shuttle that brings you to the parks at specified times and picks you up at specified times as well.

Despite all the issues with check in, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discursus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in a studio room for one night and it was really a pleasant surprise

Pros
-spacious and clean
-room amenities - microwave, fridge, kettle with a kitchenette, very convenient
-room service until 11pm-ggod if you are too tired to have dinner at the nearby shops
-efficient and satisfactory service from housekeepng, reception and F&B
-value for monet...slighly above RM200 for one night (weekend rate)
Cons
-kitchen sink blocked, have to remove the retainer for smoother flow of water
-men's sauna left unrepaired and hence, unuseable

You will need your own transport have ease of travel in Johor Bahru as public transport is not easily available.

Room Tip: Choose a river-view room on the upper floors (17 and above) for a really good view of the surroundin...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srihartamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The room is clean, big and comfortable. The service is very good, car park is free and secure. Breakfast so so only but if they could improve then everything will be perfect. This hotel still new and i can see that they are improving their service, facilities etc. I booked this hotel together with the USS ticket, with the price i gave, this hotel is value for money. Good for business travellers, family fun and couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviaYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It is a new hotel which located beside the JB city and close to JB customs. However, some of the facilities do not seems very good, such as swimming pool, looks a bit old and unattractive. The lobby and other spaces of hotel do not look grand at all. As for room, the concept is good as the all the units being provided with full furnishing which is more than the normal hotel provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
4.7 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#23 of 109 in Johor Bahru
303 reviews
7.3 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#18 of 109 in Johor Bahru
104 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#29 of 109 in Johor Bahru
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,299 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Marina Resort

Address: No 1 Jalan Bayu Puteri 2/1, Johor Bahru 80150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £31 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayu Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayu Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing