We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bayu Marina Resort Family stay”
Review of Bayu Marina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayu Marina Resort
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bayu Marina Resort Family stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

i took 3 bedroom for 3D2N stay in Dec2013.
The reception service was poor. The rooms key not working on day2 and can only be restoerd by the maintenance guy .... not at the reception.
Since its for 6pax stay, the resort should inlcude 6 mugs/6spoons/6plates for the patrons.
the kitchenette big cupboards are empty.
The city view at nite was beautiful.
Pool was amazingly great with great view.

Room Tip: Request for city view instead of sea view as the sea view is actually just a river.... with the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susi_karan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    77
    63
    13
    23
See reviews for
105
21
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed 7 days. Had planned for a quiet year end family retreat with view of river. Internet not working 90% of the time though it was stated on web page there is free internet which is a top priority for us. Bathroom ceiling was leaking. On one of the mornings while having breakfast, part of the ceiling in the restaurant breakfast area fell off to the floor! And this is a new hotel? After 3 days, we filed a complain and all we got for service recovery was they transfer us to another room with separate bed and offered my son an extra mattress, internet was still not working! So we had to move back and they did nothing about it after that.

To top it all, the last 3 days, they decided to do major construction on our floor which is the peak holiday season of Christmas and New Year. Literally drilling and hammering for 8 hours a day! No exaggeration here. I won't comment too much about the facilities...gym is a joke with equipment not working, though I don't use the pool, noticed it had hardly any seats for the parents and swimmers, noticed every morning that for 7 days, breakfast toasters was not working and saw guests had to run toasts through 3 or 4 times and still it was not fully toasted nor fixed by the time we left.

Definitely a very distasteful experience. So much for a peaceful holiday!

Recommendation: Don't promise things on your website you cannot deliver. Go get some help and training for your staff and for your service. You were given opportunity for service recovery and you did minimal and our situation was left as it is. 7 days is not a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAllenFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Nice room, spacious..lack of staffs..breakfast: too many guests...delay refill in the cafe..swimming pool was awesome..location quite far from city..parking space adequate..need to improve on room service, reception area..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights during a family gathering visit. We've booked a 2 bedroom quad via online. Check in was easy & fast (deposit RM100, will be refund during check out). The rooms are big, with one room with double bed, another room with 2 single beds. The living room are spacious, with the balcony (swimming pools view). Breakfast is ok. The hotel is near to the EDL highway where it is convenient for us to drive to Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GohSzesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

At first we arrived, its like 'cheap' hotel. When check in to the room, even it was a standard room but the room is amazing and spacious for two of us. Breakfast for two are the best but only few choices. For me, the best is their dim sum and the pancake. Two nights stay are worthy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 123fNAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel was very easy to find from airport with new highway.. the room was big and very nice city view from top floor like us 1612.. pool staff was very friendly and front office staff was good but need to have smile while contact with guest.

Cashier girl at café was very helpful and very friendly. need more staff like her for the busy café. food not so much selection but porridge was ok.

Will comeback again as kids like the pool so much..and it was very nice view from there and very relax . for the price we pay, it's value for money.

Room Tip: higher floor to have clear city center view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wow this place is great room was so big and well appointed and the staff are just fantastic
Will stay again for sure from such a selection of great food for breakfast to staff that just
can't do enough for the guest was fantastic stay to say the least

Room Tip: If you want room to relax this has it and the border crossing to Singapore is so easy Top value wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
4.7 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#22 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.3 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#18 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.2 mi away
Silka Johor Bahru
Silka Johor Bahru
#33 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel
Crystal Crown Hotel
#72 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Marina Resort

Property: Bayu Marina Resort
Address: No 1 Jalan Bayu Puteri 2/1, Johor Bahru 80150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayu Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayu Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing