We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable decent hotel in Johor Bahru”
Review of Bayu Marina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayu Marina Resort
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rates of hotel has skyrocketed in recent years due to it's close proximity to Singapore, high property prices and fast development of the city. I had planned to take my family for a vacation where we will visit Legoland and Johor Premium Outlet. While looking around for accommodation, it strucks me that the rates for most hotels, especially those in the city center, is on the highside, even slightly higher than the capital city of Kuala Lumpur. We scoure and found this hotel that was quoting a very affordable rate for the facilities that it provides.
The first problem we encountered is locating the hotel. We had read that the hotel is located on the city outskirts right in the residential area. I had planned to bring along my GPS unit but accidentally left it back home. Once we reached the toll exiting the North South Highway, made a call to the hotel. It took sometime before finally managed to speak to the reception and asked for direction. We were informed to go straight and enter another highway. Please note that the toll both for the inner city highway only accepts payment by Touch n Go, no cash payment allowed. As such, we had to line-up at the booth which offer purchase of Touch n Go. Took us about 30 minutes just to get through and end up had to pay RM10 for the card which had RM5 of value. So please note the bring along or purchase elsewhere your Touch N Go card before going into the city. We made some wrong turns and had to tried to call back the hotel but unluckily no answer, Stuck in the massive rush hour jam, we asked people on the roadside and was informed that we should have just drove heading towards the Woodlands checkpoint (the border to Singapore) and exit to Permas Jaya before reaching Woodlands. So we drove back to the highway headed towards Woodlands.
Once we were on the elevated highway heading towards Woodlands, we are able to spot the hotel from a far, with the name of the hotel in green neon light on top of it. Exited the highway towards Permas Jaya, Taman Bayu Marina is just a couple of km away. The hotel is nestled between some residential apartments and condos with the back facing a river.
The first impression is that it looks more like a condo than a hotel and looked a bit aged despite reading somewhere that the hotel is just 2-3 years old. The lobby, while large, reminds more of a budget hotel, decent looking but does not reflect a supposedly 3/4 star hotel.
Check-in was not a breeze. We arrived there after dark. Booked the rooms through Asia Travel and was informed that we had yet to make the payment. Pointed the reception to our voucher that stated payment has been paid but was informed that the hotel did not received any payment. As such, we had to wait for them to contact their manager to get it sorted out. Luckily we were allowed to proceed.
The lifts also looked aged, but the room that we were allocated to was suprisingly good. Clean and in good conditioned with new furnitures and contrasted to our initial impression of the hotel. We had booked a room facing the city but it was actually facing another condo/apartment nearby. However, it was not too close to the other unit and was quiet and peaceful at night. We should have booked the room facing the river, would have given us a slightly more scenic view from the balcony, although it is slightly more expensive.
For food, we would usually travel to the restaurants nearby, some Malay and Mamak restaurants within walking distance or if you fancy for more variety, just drive to the Permas Jaya town centre where there is Aeon shopping centre nestled in the middle of shops and restaurants selling variety of foods including the typical fast foods.
Breakfast is served on the floor where the swimming pool and gym is located. The food is mostly chinese style dishes and some Malay and Indian dishes. No western style dish except for pancakes and toast. Luckily the chinese style dish was good especially the wide variety of dimsum.
The swimming pool looks inviting especially during the hot weather season when we were there. An infinity (almost) pool overlooking the river. It gets a bit crowded during the breakfast time but seems to be void of people before noon. There is also a small playground next to the pool and gym with decent equipment for cardio.
Lifts can sometimes take a while to wait and the multi storey parking area looks unclean. There are security guards at the parking area. However, please note that when about to exit the parking area, be sure to drive slowly once about the enter the ramp going downwards. The space is very tight and it requires you to turn the car while going thru the ramp. Saw multiple skidmarks of the wall of the ramp, evidence of numerous car fender contact.
It takes roughly 30 minutes to go to the Johor Premium Outlet and almost an hour (depending on traffic) to Legoland.
While the hotel has lot of things to improve but for the price I paid, the very accommodating and quiet room, a hotel which is out of the hustle and bustle of the city and good breakfast, I would not mind staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the river. While the river may not be exactly clean but it is a welcome view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanmyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked for 2d1n stay on 1/2/3/2014 in a 2bedroom apt and my review and from tripadvisors review are the same points. Awesome apt with spacious living room and nice deco living.
Surrounding is safe and fine.
For best view, waterfront view is my choice as city view is facing all those neighbourhood apt with not much nice scenery.
Our apt was located on the 19th floor and from all the feedbacks and research, I requested for corner waterfront view.(with half pool and sea view location).
Indeed it is a nice view to stay.

Let me touch on their breakfast :)
Like most of the viewers replied, I love their DIM SUM corner too. Really nice and superb and to be frank, only the DIM SUM caught my appetite cos to me their breakfast really bad. Certain food are tasteless and even my sons know the awful taste.
Well that's my opinion and up to individual choice of food.
BUT surprisingly, their IN ROOM DINING MENU, was really delicious! (Seafood tomyum & nasi goring kampong) -strongly recommendation with an affordable price. We end our dinner at Senibong seafood which is a well know seafood area.
Taxi fare ard rm10 plus incl booking fees as the hotel arrange for it. For best convenience, take mpv taxi so that we can liase with him to pick us up after dinner cos its really difficult to get a taxi there.

Overall nice place to stay and relax. Will plan to come and stay again!
:)

Pools:
Great infinity pool,kids pool and children playground on the 9th floor. Breezy air

Security:
Well guarded and elevator needs to have card room access.

Location:
So far safe and not that desserted area.

Shop:
10 mins walk from the resort to the neighbour supermart, massage centre, barber shop, handphone shop, laundry shop(DIY) and indian seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eija81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Went there to visit LegoLand with my family and stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment along with an extra room on another floor for the gents. It was a very nice apartment, very clean, very neat and very spacious but when we wanted to borrow the clothing iron, and we expected to be allowed to borrow for at least a day but they only allowed us for 20 minutes! Eventually my sister-in-law got 45 minutes out of them but that is unbelievable. The service wasnt as good as I thought it'd be, they weren't welcoming, it felt very dull. But the room is self is wonderful. Would love to come back with a bit of an improvement from the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank ShereenSuhaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We (2 adults, 2 kids 6y & 8y) stayed in a two bedroom apartment in mid-December mainly to go to Legoland. We got a waterfront apartment as booked (MYR1044 for 3 nights) without any hassle at the check-in. Also we were given breakfast vouchers for all three days. This was a surprise as we were not expecting this.
Our apartment was on the 14th floor and was spacious but not tidy. Although there was a kitchenette, no cutlery or plates were there. Tea and coffee making facilities were good. No hot plate either. Wifi was fast but dropped some time.
Hotel seems to be quite new but maintenance and cleanliness not up to date. Floor was dusty and some hair was there. Bathrooms are not cleaned properly. Living and kitchen area was bit dark. Due to our apartment’s location close to the lift shaft it was noisy, especially during night. Moving lifts made a terrible noise.
Hotel is away from the town but some local shops are within 10 mins walking distance. Locality is residential and seems to be safe. Water view is the river and most of the time water was muddy. In the night you can see a well lit Golf Course across the river.
Pool on 9th floor was very nice. Bay View Cafe on the same floor was not very clean and tidy but the food selection in their breakfast buffet was wonderful, good local and western food selection for you to eat much as you want.
We took taxi to and from Legoland. Red colour budget taxi drivers we used honestly used the meter. To Legoland cost MYR27 and from MYR30. If you ask hotel to book one for you they will charge you heaps more. Just walk out to the street and get a passing by taxi. There is a but to JB Sentral stopping just out side the hotel but takes about 35 mins for the trip (cost MYR 2).
FYI
Hotel said it will cost MYR250 to book a taxi to transfer us to Changi airport. Instead we took a taxi to JB Sentral and then bus to Kranji MRT station as we had ample time. Taxi to JB Sentarl was MYR11 and took 10 minutes. Bus (CW1N) cost MYR1 pp! There was little inconvenience at Woodlands (long ques) otherwise was ok and took 3.5 hours.

Room Tip: Do not choose if you are serious about cleanliness. Ask for an apartment away from lifts to avoid no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Booked this hotel at the last minute despite the negative comments here. The following summarizes the pros and cons during my short stay:

Pros
1. Affordable pricing
2. Big and spacious for big groups
3. Free parking
4. Near the Causeway

Cons
1. Had a room on the 11th floor facing another condo, rather noisy at night. (Despite my request for a high and quiet room)
2. Hot water was inconsistent
3. Noisy corridors (sounds of echo when people talk or walked)
4. Being priced lower than most other hotels I checked, you may encounter guests that may be inconsiderate (i.e. big groups of young people that partied all night long)

Will I return here? Probably not unless absolutely necessary.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merk_kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I read some of the reviews before booking the hotel and found that most of them are accurate regarding this hotel. Furthermore, this is one of the very few hotels I’ve seen where the photos on the website actually looks the same as the room, without the need for special camera angle or wide angle!! We booked a Studio room with city view and it was huge. The fact that the hotel is actually converted from an apartment, it was really a studio apartment rather than a room. There’s a partition to separate the beds from the living and dining area, there’s actually a proper and quite comfortable 2+1 sofa set with coffee table and also a dining table. The flat screen TV was positioned awkwardly due to the built-in furniture but a little adjustment does the trick. There’s a kitchen area with microwave oven and mini fridge, though without any utensils so you’ll have to bring your own if you intend to whip up some instant noodles. There’s also a small balcony with a small table with chairs. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. So room wise I was really satisfied.

The bathroom was also spacious, the only problem we had was with the heater. After a couple of attempts, we learnt that you ought to turn on the heater switch approximately 5 minutes before you intend to take a shower. Anything less than that you won’t be getting any hot water; anything longer than that you’ll get scalding hot water where you’d have to turn down the water into a trickle so that the temperature cools down. There is free WiFi in the room but connection is choppy at times.

The hotel has an outdoor pool as well as a children pool. The swimming pool has the infinity pool concept on one side overlooking the River Tebrau so it’s kind of cool... if you can ignore some of the unpleasant sights of floating objects in the river. The breakfast provided was quite good with many local varieties, and it is probably halal as there were many Malay hotel guests. Not much continental flair though other than an egg station, and very limited amount of cold cuts. The dining area can get pretty crowded at times as I think the hotel is used by tour groups, and even though there are three lifts you might have to wait a few minutes to get one available during peak hours. Oh yeah, like what most other reviewers have mentioned, the exit from Level 3 car park is pretty tight :p

The hotel is situated in a residential area so it really is not that ideal, though there are some convenient shops and mamak restaurants some 5 minutes’ walk away. So it advised that you should have your own transport, or at least have transportation arranged for your stay. You can get to some of the malls like KSL City or Aeon Tebrau City within 20min, Aeon Bukit Indah is a little further. Legoland and JPO are about 30~40min drive away so still acceptable.

Overall, we are quite satisfied with the stay and would consider staying at this hotel again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose high floor, river view is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aurfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stay in Bayu Marina on the 12/12/2013-14/12/2013.It takes about 20 mins frm checkpoint.We took 2 bedroom suite and it consist of 3 bedroom 2 queen and 1 twin.There's living room as well as dining and kitchenette..there's swimming pool at level 9 as well as the restaurant.Our room facing waterfront.Breakfast are good too.The room is really spacoius and cozy too.Overall I have a pleasant stay there.

CONS:not much shop around.coffeeshop/shops take abt 10 mins walk sells indian food.
far away from town.(taxi fare ard RM15).
food from restaurant(room service) is way expensive.

PROS:BEST internet access(FREE)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dyalonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
4.7 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#22 of 109 in Johor Bahru
311 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
725 reviews
7.3 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
691 reviews
3.1 mi away
GBW Hotel
GBW Hotel
#47 of 109 in Johor Bahru
334 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Marina Resort

Address: No 1 Jalan Bayu Puteri 2/1, Johor Bahru 80150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £25 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayu Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bayu Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing