We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Johor Bahru...but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best in Johor Bahru...but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

As the review title states this hotel is by far the best in the Johor Bahru area. I have stayed her for around 50 nights between December 2013 and June 2014. The service in general is good and attentive and the hotel is clean.
The food in the restaurant is generally very good with an excellent selection available at breakfast and a varied buffet for the evening meal. The one thing I think that really detracts from the excellent restaurant is that they allow people to eat breakfast in their work overalls which on occasions are less than clean - not what I would really expect from a 4 star establishment. Although I have rarely used the bar the prices are extortionate and I suggest you use the bars in the local area which are plentiful.
The gym and the pool are excellent facilities with all the equipment in good order.
One area that really could be improved on is the reception where it is not uncommon to find only one member of staff at peak times - very frustrating when you know there are other staff just in the back office. This happened this morning (10/6) but fortunately the manager saw this and went and chased them out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valiantlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and also for coming back to us after each stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, but in the same time I feel disappointed that our service were not exceptional for you as our loyal guest. Most of our long stay guest are business travelers from the industrial port of Pasir Gudang, nonetheless they are our guest, therefore we cannot bar them from eating at Cafe BLD due to their work attire. However, we will look for ways to improve in that area.

I’m certain that the front office team has taken action in regards to the lack of ambassadors during the peak hours. Hopefully the next time you visit us, you’ll notice the signs of improvement.

Once again, thank you for taking the effort and time to review us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again.

With best regards,
Marc Cosyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    283
    79
    17
    24
See reviews for
239
116
26
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

A nice hotel. This hotel opened about the same time as Traders Puteri Harbour. If to talk about location which one is nearer to Legoland & Hellp Kitty Town, of cos it's Traders hands down but of we're talking about room quality/how nicely done up, I would give it to Renaissace ;)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jzelynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

The location of the hotel is relatively further to Legoland and Hello Kitty Land, but despite that it is a pleasure to hear that you have opted for us because of the better service.

Leisure traveler or not, we are always to make sure your every trip is a great one.

See you soon!

With best regards,
Marc Cosyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance JB for two long stints recently so have experienced the best and worst of it. I am judging it really as a business hotel, not somewhere I would come for a holiday.

Firstly, the good bits:

- Service is nearly always excellent and the staff very welcoming and helpful (except each time I wanted to pay my extras bill, it seemed to take more than half an hour for reception to organise - one time, more than an hour!)

- Rooms are spacious (bigger than Traders in JB), the TV has an above average choice of TV Stations (Fox Movies Premium, BBC World, etc.), beds extremely comfortable, bathrooms have a nice stock of toiletries, everything is very clean (good housekeeping)

- Gym is big, well equipped and airy, with good changing rooms

- Business Centre is very good, with space for small off-the-cuff meetings, computers, printing facilities.

- The Club Lounge is great (if you have access) - well run and a good space for relaxing

- The area is mainly Chinese and good for shops and amenities (e.g. laundry, beauticians, bars, restaurants) in walking distance.

The less good:

- The reception and bar area are cavernous and not welcoming. They need a re-think. There are too few seats in the lobby and its not the most comfortable environment to have a coffee or drink and the bar is awful - half in the lobby and the music is too loud.

- The pool - again a design problem. I have rarely visited a hotel pool that has no bar area (you can't even get a drink!). It is a grey wasteland, and should have better foliage and more sunbeds.

For business visits I would say the best in JB (as long as you need to be towards the east of the city). This is the first year of the hotel and it has done incredibly well. And thank you to Marc, Radzli, Hadi, Faizal, Belle, Yaya and all the other staff whose names I sadly can't remember!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StillLoveTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you indeed for choosing to stay at Renaissance during both your stays here. Many times we enjoy reading good feedback but there is nothing we appreciate more than an honest opinion about the hotel.

Our service has its flaws but despite that, we are trying our best to ensure a fast check in and out for all our guests. We do apologize if we have caused any delay in your itinerary due to the slow response, but please assured that we have put this as priority of improvement.

We are also apologize that the comfort of the lobby has been disrupted by the loud music in RBar. Rest assured that we will looking into a better solution for the issue. In regards of the pool bar, it is already on our plan and we are looking for the completion of some items. Hopefully we can launch it in the near future and attracting more pool visitors as well.

We truly treasure your genuine feedback and with it, we’ll be able to improve. With regards to the negative sides of the hotel, I hope that we’ll be able to make up for it with the good service all around.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and with every visit I say, live life to discover. Your trip here has certainly opened our eyes to many things, so we can’t thank you enough for it.

With warm regards,
Marc Cosyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Come on, this is best hotel in Johor Bahru i have visited.
The staff in breakfast very helpful, Marriott service was excellent...
Many choice of breakfast..
Please always keep your smile with the guest, because thats Marriott standard....
Hope to see all of you in my next trip...

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank AltafSAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for referring to us as the best hotel in Johor Bahru! We are deeply honoured and we certainly hope that we will continue to earn that title for as long as we serve you.

Thank you very much for reviewing us as well, and to even select us to accommodate you while you are in Johor Bahru. Your kind comments have not gone unnoticed and we promise to keep up to Marriott’s standards.

We very much like to see you again on your next trip.

With best regards,
Marc Cosyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Planning to surprise my wife for her 36th Birthday In this hotel, overall my wife love it so much....
N the room is well decorated!!
Well trained staff n double thumbs for the service..
We had our dinner at Cafe BLD.. The food were awesomely delicious.. Worth every ringgit!!!
Highly recommend!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oni78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you had successfully give the best surprise for your wife, which is shared to us through this great review of your time spent in our property. What makes me even happier is knowing that our team had contributing a great support in making it all happen.

Thank you for marking our room, our delicious dinner buffet at Cafe BLD and also for appreciating our associate's hospitality. I am glad that your overall stay with us was memorable. Hope you can continue to discover more of magical discovery of our Renaissance service in the long run.

Cheers,
Marc Cosyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

good hotel for relaxing with fly & loved ones. Out from busy town, clean hotel,nice swimming pool, gym, wifi all over the hotel, comfy bed! V stayed for 2 nights at 14th floor & enjoying our dining at lounge at 16th floor. nice view..good simple food & thks to En.Mohammad Faizal (Club Floor Mgr) & his team for their good service of food to all of us. We also had our last day bfast at BDL & thks to Mr. Simon Hew(Mgr in charge) for his good service of food there too.. V enjoy or stayed. thks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nncy_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your little family getaway. We are glad to hear that our different amenities and facilities were beneficial and satisfactory to you during your stay.

I’ll be sure to forward your kind comments to Simon and Faizal and to all the team for their great work.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Marc Cosyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Never been to JB, but great city just outside of the hussle and bustle of Singapore. Definitely on the outskirts of the city centre, but plenty of shopping and local flare. The property is well appointed and the room was new and modern. The staff was as expected. The food and drink offerings were very good and reasonable, but most anything is reasonable after Singapore. Would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the pool, give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moobs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Welcome to Johor Bahru! First of all, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation and we are honored to be a part of your first trip to JB. We sincerely hope you had a splendid time here.

We are always happy to hear from our guest and it is a pleasure to know that our amenities were satisfactory to your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again and once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

With best regards,
Marc Cosyns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
4.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
11.9 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
5.3 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
12.0 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
13.3 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#2 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel

Property: Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Address: 2 Jalan Permas 11 | Bandar Baru Permas Jaya, Johor Bahru 81750, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star elegance and personalized service await you at the luxury Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Collection. Located half an hour from the Senai International Airport, and just 10 minutes from Singapore, our hotel offers a wide range of amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Beautifully appointed rooms and suites feature beds with luxury linens and spacious, contemporary bathrooms; upgrade to a Club level room or suite, and take advantage of access to our hotel's exclusive Club lounge. If you're in Johor Bahru for work, you'll appreciate our well-equipped business center and 16 flexible meeting rooms; we also offer a modern, 24-hour fitness center and an outdoor pool. Dine on modern Cantonese cuisine at WAN-LI, our hotel restaurant, or venture outside of the hotel and explore Johor Bahru's 5-star dining and entertainment options. Additional nearby attractions include Johor Premium Outlets and LEGOLAND® Malaysia. Visit us today, for a memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing