We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terribly Disappointing!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was meant to be a weekend treat for my parents and parents in-law. Right from the beginning, it started off on a bad note.

We had logged onto the Shangri-la web portal to book three suites, and the portal prompted us that there was a promotion going on for Shangri-la’s Golden Circle members to book the suites for half the usual number of loyalty points. This was a pleasant surprise, as we were not aware of this promotion prior. We clicked on the option offered by the portal and went on to complete the reservation to book the suites. The portal sent us three separate confirmation emails, and subsequently proceeded to confirm the arrangements for transport and attraction tickets.

One week later, we received an email from Shangri-la’s Golden Circle office saying that they would not be honouring the CONFIRMED bookings, citing some obscure T&C stating that each member was only entitled to book one room at the “discounted” rate, and that since we had only two members in our group, they would unilaterally cancel one of the CONFIRMED bookings. They confessed that the web portal had made a mistake in offering the discounted rate for all three suites and confirming the booking, but refused to accept responsibility for the mistake that THEIR portal had made, and insisted on cancelling one of the reservations which had already been CONFIRMED a week ago. They also said they would not be interested to fix the problem with the portal, and the onus was on the customers to comb through the T&Cs before booking the room to ensure that their bookings were valid. We decided that for the third room, we would just choose the normal room then, since we had kind of already lost the mood for the suite, and even the trip.

Check-in was messy. The lobby was so crowded that there was hardly space for the old folks to sit while waiting for our turn. Even though it was past 2pm, there were families sitting around in the lobby waiting for their rooms to be ready. When it was our turn, we told the staff that we wished to pay cash to upgrade our third non-suite room to a Club Room. He said that they had originally left a “normal” room for us, but if we wanted an upgrade, we would have to wait, as there were no ready Club Rooms at that time. We agreed to wait for the room to be cleaned, and he said that he would sort out the arrangements for us, and once the Club Room was ready, he would send the key card to our parents’ suite, so that we did not have to come to the lobby again to pick up the key.

Two hours on, there was still no sign of the key card. We finally decided to go to the lobby again to check. That was when we were told that the key card was waiting for us at the desk all along, and they did not realise that we were waiting in our parents’ suite for the key card. I wonder if they even communicated during the shift change. As further proof of the messy check-in, for the three rooms that we had booked, the told us that they could only find the welcome letter for one of them, and they searched for the other two in different drawers, to no avail. To add insult to injury, on that one letter that they could locate, they changed my gender in the salutation.

When everything was finally sorted out at almost 6pm, we proceeded for drinks at the Traders Club Lounge, hoping to finally relax and sip a drink before dinner. Unfortunately, there was more drama. There, we were told that according to the information in the system, we were staying in two suites and a “normal” room, and therefore only four of us were entitled to enter the Club Lounge. We pointed out that we had paid to upgrade the third room to a Club Room, but the lady insisted that it was not stated in the system. Although she was rather polite about it, but it definitely felt very embarrassing for us to be interrogated at the snack bar in full hearing of the other guests, asking us things like whom we had spoken with at check-in, whether we could produce paper evidence that we had paid for the upgrade etc. It was as if we were that hard-up to sneak into the Lounge for some freebies!

Perhaps what added to the confusion was the fact that they do not cluster the Club Rooms, unlike in other hotels where Club Rooms are usually on the same level or in a certain block/wing. Here, the suites and Club Rooms appear to be scattered all over, just like the three rooms we had were also all scattered. Other than the Lounge Access, there was nothing else to make me feel like I had paid for a Club Room, as two of our rooms were located on Level One where the view of the harbour was partially obscured.

To be fair, once the mistake had been sorted out, the rest of the Club Lounge experience was fantastic. The service level in the lounge was excellent, and it certainly was the best (or shall I say, the only truly positive) part of the stay. The parents and in-laws were pretty impressed and pleased with the Lounge experience. We were further impressed when in the evening, I offered a tip to the service staff in the Lounge, and they actually declined the tip. Doesn’t happen very often anywhere in the world!

The rest of the hotel was rather mixed. It is relatively new, so things in the room worked well in general. Cleanliness was however another contentious point. The pillows had a slight stench to them, and when we went into the room, we noticed that the coffee/tea mugs were barecleaned. We could still see the stains of the coffee that the previous guest had been drinking. The pool came with a view. However, the water also felt like it could be cleaner.

I do not think I will be recommending this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    572
    128
    42
    36
See reviews for
868
176
15
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

they allow someone to smoke in a non-smoking hotel even I had confirmed which room was smoking. They just ask me to change my room and after changed, my room is smaller than the previous one. I requested a king size bed room in the early morning and they promised when I came back at 6pm, they can allow us to change. Unfortunately, the king bed size they cannot provided and told me that all the room are fully booked. Why don't reserve one for me as I requested in the early morning. Even worse the new room are a cockroach in the toilet, biscuit on the desk chair, desk table is sticky. It was a very noisy room, we don't know where is the noise came from, it looks like someone hitting drum and going on throughout the night time. It's hard to sleep at night and really really very noisy. Now is 5:30pm, I ask them twice to clean up my room but unfortunately no one shown up in my room. I am totally very disappointed with this hotel. I never write a review even i'm still staying in this hotel. I swear I will not come back to Trader, Johor , It was a nightmare.

Room Tip: no higher floor, more noise from the roof top swimming pool and sky bar. machines noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukLuk2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great hotel to stay with an excellent spread for breakfast and nice, clean rooms. Swimming pool offers a panaromic view of the surroundings. There are also a couple of pubs nearby to relax after dinner.
The surrounding environment is pleasant as it is not in the midst of town and offers a relaxing stay for both business or family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank phillow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was a great weekend getaway for us.
Location is great We relaxed well is our room, Found the place well maintained.
The breakfast served had a good variety of food.
Stores available made it well contained venue.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank WickedWitch_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Harbour view room with of course a beautiful view of the marina. Sofa by the window has a pull out bottom level suitable for those who had more than 1 kid. Perfect for my teen. Small touches like hair band with toilet accessories. Breakfast spread was very good esp the fruit purées eg passionfruit, peaches etc and a good selection of nuts - pecan, walnuts, pine, almond etc to make a healthy fruity-nutty start to the day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend. 10 min or so drive from the tuas checkpoint although we got a bit lost and made a detour.

We checked in at 12pm and was given a deluxe room straightway facing the harbour as stated in the reservation. Room was modern. There seems to be a design flaw in that there was a empty space between the daybed and the windows. Was it because the daybed was not able to fit into this space? Anyway this area was not done up and cleaned properly as there was still masking tape used during construction and dead insects and cockroaches near the windows.

Aside from this, room was simply ok with adequate tv channels. Double portions of amenities like shampoo and shower gel were also provided which was a nice touch.

We made use of the swimming pool. Nice infinity pool overlooking the harbour.

Area is not fully completed but there are Starbucks, sushi king, Kenny Rogers and a Chinese restaurant at the mall below the hotel. There are also a couple of pubs at night. We tried the buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant. There was a large variety of food ( although prawns were not fresh) and overall price was reasonable. Staff were also prompt in clearing the plates.

Check out the next day was fast but we had problems searching for the car park validation machine as the sign ages were confusing. If you park at B1 you have to go down to one of the lift lobbies at B2 where the machine is.

Construction of buildings are still on-going around the hotel. When completed, this area will be more crowded and guess that the room prices will go up as well. But for now it remains an affordable place for a weekend stay as compared to the hotels in Singapore.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eatshopeatshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent comfortable stay with my 7 and 5 year old.
In the same complex as and right next door to Hello Kitty World.
Free shuttle to Legoland and only 5 mins away.
Other food selection downstairs of the same complex.
Best pool ever, there are 3 separate pools. 1 small for little kids, 1 small heated and 1 infinity pool with panoramic view.
Room was spacious, bedding was comfortable and no noise.
Staff were friendly and helpful. They might not know alot but they are very keen to help.
There is nothing to fault. I was very impressed, would highly recommend and would return while it is still new.

Room Tip: Worth spending a bit more for the harbour view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxzoomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
7.8 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.2 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
1.9 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#2 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 107 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
6.7 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor

Property: Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Address: Persiaran Puteri Selatan | Puteri Harbour, Nusajaya, Johor Bahru 79000, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotels Puteri Harbour)
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor is located in Nusajaya. It's approximately 20 minutes from Johor Bahru town and is easily accessible via land or water transport from Puteri Harbour International Ferry Terminal. Senai International Airport is a 20-minute drive away and Singapore Changi Airport is only 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing