We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel has nice rooms, staff are friendly and facilities are OK. The airport transfer was not perfect but the manager in charge quickly sort it out and was very apologetic. Rooftop pool area was under construction although pool was opened.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank VK N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    613
    141
    46
    38
See reviews for
936
189
19
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We wanted to take our 3 year old daughter to Hello Kitty land and chose this hotel by default because it was the nearest. Just a quick review- efficient staff, quick check-in, free parking, lovely room with comfortable king-sized bed, rooftop pool, a nice variety of restaurants just underneath the hotel, and my favourite- gorgeous rain shower with lots of toiletries! We drove from KL and only stayed one night, but it was so relaxing it felt like we were on a week-long holiday!
If we ever go back to JB, we'd probably stay in Legoland hotel for the kids, but for relaxation and at half the price of Legoland hotel, you can't go wrong with Traders!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZadaZainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one day on business trip. Hotel looks new and the rooms are nice and clean. Buffet breakfast spread is fantastic! Lots od F&B oitlets nearby. Will define stay here the next trip. However there seems no shopping area nearby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pj
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is my favourite hotel. never fails to amaze me with their excellent service. The helpful, cheerful, friendly staff gives this hotel an added advantage. My family chooses this hotel for the second time and the food was really good. As a matter of fact, we are planning to come again soon.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank taziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

it was my first visit to johor, Traders provides excellent service and food was nice. Location was good, next to Kitty Land but it was quite far from JPO, taxi will take you about 30-45min, cost about RM65. They provide shuttle service to Lego land but i'll prefer if hotel provide shuttle to JPO too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Yee1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was meant to be a weekend treat for my parents and parents in-law. Right from the beginning, it started off on a bad note.

We had logged onto the Shangri-la web portal to book three suites, and the portal prompted us that there was a promotion going on for Shangri-la’s Golden Circle members to book the suites for half the usual number of loyalty points. This was a pleasant surprise, as we were not aware of this promotion prior. We clicked on the option offered by the portal and went on to complete the reservation to book the suites. The portal sent us three separate confirmation emails, and subsequently proceeded to confirm the arrangements for transport and attraction tickets.

One week later, we received an email from Shangri-la’s Golden Circle office saying that they would not be honouring the CONFIRMED bookings, citing some obscure T&C stating that each member was only entitled to book one room at the “discounted” rate, and that since we had only two members in our group, they would unilaterally cancel one of the CONFIRMED bookings. They confessed that the web portal had made a mistake in offering the discounted rate for all three suites and confirming the booking, but refused to accept responsibility for the mistake that THEIR portal had made, and insisted on cancelling one of the reservations which had already been CONFIRMED a week ago. They also said they would not be interested to fix the problem with the portal, and the onus was on the customers to comb through the T&Cs before booking the room to ensure that their bookings were valid. We decided that for the third room, we would just choose the normal room then, since we had kind of already lost the mood for the suite, and even the trip.

Check-in was messy. The lobby was so crowded that there was hardly space for the old folks to sit while waiting for our turn. Even though it was past 2pm, there were families sitting around in the lobby waiting for their rooms to be ready. When it was our turn, we told the staff that we wished to pay cash to upgrade our third non-suite room to a Club Room. He said that they had originally left a “normal” room for us, but if we wanted an upgrade, we would have to wait, as there were no ready Club Rooms at that time. We agreed to wait for the room to be cleaned, and he said that he would sort out the arrangements for us, and once the Club Room was ready, he would send the key card to our parents’ suite, so that we did not have to come to the lobby again to pick up the key.

Two hours on, there was still no sign of the key card. We finally decided to go to the lobby again to check. That was when we were told that the key card was waiting for us at the desk all along, and they did not realise that we were waiting in our parents’ suite for the key card. I wonder if they even communicated during the shift change. As further proof of the messy check-in, for the three rooms that we had booked, the told us that they could only find the welcome letter for one of them, and they searched for the other two in different drawers, to no avail. To add insult to injury, on that one letter that they could locate, they changed my gender in the salutation.

When everything was finally sorted out at almost 6pm, we proceeded for drinks at the Traders Club Lounge, hoping to finally relax and sip a drink before dinner. Unfortunately, there was more drama. There, we were told that according to the information in the system, we were staying in two suites and a “normal” room, and therefore only four of us were entitled to enter the Club Lounge. We pointed out that we had paid to upgrade the third room to a Club Room, but the lady insisted that it was not stated in the system. Although she was rather polite about it, but it definitely felt very embarrassing for us to be interrogated at the snack bar in full hearing of the other guests, asking us things like whom we had spoken with at check-in, whether we could produce paper evidence that we had paid for the upgrade etc. It was as if we were that hard-up to sneak into the Lounge for some freebies!

Perhaps what added to the confusion was the fact that they do not cluster the Club Rooms, unlike in other hotels where Club Rooms are usually on the same level or in a certain block/wing. Here, the suites and Club Rooms appear to be scattered all over, just like the three rooms we had were also all scattered. Other than the Lounge Access, there was nothing else to make me feel like I had paid for a Club Room, as two of our rooms were located on Level One where the view of the harbour was partially obscured.

To be fair, once the mistake had been sorted out, the rest of the Club Lounge experience was fantastic. The service level in the lounge was excellent, and it certainly was the best (or shall I say, the only truly positive) part of the stay. The parents and in-laws were pretty impressed and pleased with the Lounge experience. We were further impressed when in the evening, I offered a tip to the service staff in the Lounge, and they actually declined the tip. Doesn’t happen very often anywhere in the world!

The rest of the hotel was rather mixed. It is relatively new, so things in the room worked well in general. Cleanliness was however another contentious point. The pillows had a slight stench to them, and when we went into the room, we noticed that the coffee/tea mugs were barecleaned. We could still see the stains of the coffee that the previous guest had been drinking. The pool came with a view. However, the water also felt like it could be cleaner.

I do not think I will be recommending this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

they allow someone to smoke in a non-smoking hotel even I had confirmed which room was smoking. They just ask me to change my room and after changed, my room is smaller than the previous one. I requested a king size bed room in the early morning and they promised when I came back at 6pm, they can allow us to change. Unfortunately, the king bed size they cannot provided and told me that all the room are fully booked. Why don't reserve one for me as I requested in the early morning. Even worse the new room are a cockroach in the toilet, biscuit on the desk chair, desk table is sticky. It was a very noisy room, we don't know where is the noise came from, it looks like someone hitting drum and going on throughout the night time. It's hard to sleep at night and really really very noisy. Now is 5:30pm, I ask them twice to clean up my room but unfortunately no one shown up in my room. I am totally very disappointed with this hotel. I never write a review even i'm still staying in this hotel. I swear I will not come back to Trader, Johor , It was a nightmare.

Room Tip: no higher floor, more noise from the roof top swimming pool and sky bar. machines noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukLuk2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
7.8 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.1 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
12.0 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
2,185 reviews
6.7 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,282 reviews
8.7 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor

Property: Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Address: Persiaran Puteri Selatan | Puteri Harbour, Nusajaya, Johor Bahru 79000, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotels Puteri Harbour)
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor is located in Nusajaya. It's approximately 20 minutes from Johor Bahru town and is easily accessible via land or water transport from Puteri Harbour International Ferry Terminal. Senai International Airport is a 20-minute drive away and Singapore Changi Airport is only 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing