We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Indian food ”

Olive Kitchen + Bar
Ranked #21 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the coolest chillout bistro bar in Johor with a magnificent waterfront view of the harbour.
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

1 night in JB so we tested out this place. Lovely breeze from the harbour and very nice Indian food. We are vegan so they had lots of choices and accomodated some vegan variations so we could have a really good dinner. Would def come here again if we were in the area. Situated right on the harbour behind Hotel Jen.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mark_Bay_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Great food and good environment for family. Indian cuisine and bar so suitable for everybody. Love the Briyani.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LovelyJohorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We came in a group of 20 people and we really enjoyed the food and the place . Mr Rajiv was very attentive in giving best of service to us , kudos to the team and definitely will come again

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank palanivelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2018

This was one of the first places we went for dinner during our stay in JB. There's lots of parking spaces and the sea looked beautiful as the sun was setting. When you first arrive, it looks remote with no sign of life but when you walk down towards the restaurants, the place was buzzing with activity...a lot more foreigners, so we felt right at home. The restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived but then we realised everyone was sitting outside watching the sports on TV, where the bar is located.

We ordered a pizza for the kids but little did I realise it would be quite so spicy!! The waiter was a little silly to take down an order for cheese naan from my 5 year old but I had noticed and had that cancelled straightaway. Kids absolutely loved the watermelon juice and everything we ordered was spiced well, had depth of flavour and was cooked to perfection. The food here is better than most restaurants claiming to be Indian!! Its popularity is well deserved...a bit pricey but considering its a tourist hub, it's justified. But do watch out for the mosquitos in the evening.

We wanted to return back here to have lunch when we took our daughter to Hello Kitty but the experience of that was disastrous, so we had to find a famous burger chain to cheer her up instead. A sorely missed opportunity but if we ever return to JB, Olive is a must-go back :)

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank SRS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Great customer service, if I had to select 1 bar tender it would be Raj excellent service and really friendly

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank NathanL2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Olive Kitchen + Bar also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Olive Kitchen + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.