We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Changed room for 3 times during my stay. 1st room the shower is broken. 2nd room the air cond leak. The receptionist still dare to ask me to wait and ask the technician to check. While in that night before, I already report to the supervisor on duty and even ask them to set a change for me at 8am. They dint even bother to call me up. Very upset with their ignorance attitude.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArthurZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
31
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for Hari Raya hols. Nothing really great about this hotel, nothing really bad either. The pool is a really ugly, square thing, but if you just want to do some laps, I guess its sufficient. Breakfast buffet was ok, but room service food was really tasteless, think the cook forgot the salt or something , and we just ordered kuey teow. One thing I really didn't like: the room was dusty! Even if its a no frills hotel, it should at least be clean. They don't bother to wipe the lampshades or headborad - its got dust that you can actually see on it.

Overall the stay was good for the rate that you pay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quadhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I had a night stay at this hotel with some friends recently. Not a very nice experience for me thou. The bedsheets smells bad, the room smells musky, well, only the toilet was acceptable.. and the Soundproof wall? The sound of the toilet flush from other rooms was loud and clear, people walking around and shifting the furnitures!! All was heard throughout the night! I will definitely not go back again!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Stayed here for a night and was of good value for money. A no frills hotel that touts itself as a "Business Class Hotel Of Its Own", and I Can't agree more! It truly IS in a class of its own with an unmade guest room that greeted me at check-in, a leaking cistern and shower tap, torn and abused room furnishings and stained, grimey carpets. Breakfast was quite delightful, though, with an array of local malaysian food. However, I won't return to this hotel anytime soon for as long as I can help it!

Location is superb with its close proximity to Pelangi Mall and quaint Malaysian 'tsz char' places. There are numerous food stalls that line the street where the hotel is sited, too!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EgoTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

The hotel was clean, except for the electric kettle which was quite dirty. When we called for service, we had to wait for about 20 minutes or so. Another thing is that our room did not have hot water. So we had to bathe in cold water. They have pool and gym, which is good. Food at coffee garden was okay...had to pay RM20++ for the buffet. And they served sausages, rendang (malay style beef), omelet, eggs, bread, wedges and so on. Not very worth it. Some food was cold too. Good location, near to shopping malls, pubs, disco, mignight stalls, car wash, bus stops, and its across the road frm a police station.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampang
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

pros:
-spacious room
-comfortable
-nice view
-food stall right across the hotel
-spa & ktv centre approximately 5 minutes drive from the hotel
-pelangi mall within 10 minutes walking distance
-bathroom with bathtub
-easily accessible from main road

cons:
-average breakfast buffet

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Probably a hotel for the business traveller. Not much frills in this hotel, no luxury. Very average. Clean rooms, fair food, well priced, good location. Don't expect great customer service or facilities.

  • Liked — Location. You get what you pay for - average value for money
  • Disliked — You get better value elsewhere
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.0 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#45 of 109 in Johor Bahru
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 109 in Johor Bahru
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#22 of 109 in Johor Bahru
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#47 of 109 in Johor Bahru
12 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
#42 of 109 in Johor Bahru
119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru

Property: Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Address: Hotel Selesa Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing