We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Ranked #76 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed there in January 26 - 28,2013. It was great to stay at the Selesa Hotel for 2 Nights...... overall I am happy with my room and breakfast they provide ...... though it is not a new hotel ... it has all the facilities I needed :)

I can rate it a very good hotel, considering its rent ......... I enjoyed the breakfast and swimming pool ....

My expectation was not that high as a result I enjoyed my stay in the hotel ................

I can recommend you this hotel for your stay, considering the money you will pay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAJUL_GHANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
31
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is an old hotel. Carpet and furniture are old. Elevator is musky. Check-in is a breeze but front desk personnel seem to be incapable of answering touristy questions. They were very helpful though and even arranged for our cab ride to Legoland. The room we got is on the 24th floor and has a nice view of Singapore. The sheets seem worn-out and have a couple of human hairs stuck on them (yes, look very closely at the light brown fuzzy cover, quite revolting, really. I don’t even want to mention the type of hair we found!) – we quickly requested for new ones. No towels so we had to request for them. Hot shower and tub ok. Bed is comfortable. The only nice thing going for this hotel is the buffet breakfast, but few selections. If you are on a budget and want a centrally-located hotel with breakfast, best to look elsewhere. Good thing we got this at a promo rate at 325 MYR for 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelogue823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Check in was fast and hassle free. Hotel is clean. Very good hotel for a short stay after shopping at Johor Bahru.
Wifi network is chargeable and slow.
Stayed in the executive deluxe room. Room is clean and huge. Lots of space to move about.
Nearby local eateries and shopping malls.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tawffiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is always fully booked despite pathetic staff and world war 2 room interiors.
Reception: The staff think that the customer owe them a living. Created receipt Rm300 but
Key in Rm 400 in credit card.
Rooms: No remote control, no towels,no wifi,bathtub with paints peeling off
Breakfast:I prefer Hotel Paragon breakfast

Room Tip: Don't ever stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathivananspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed in Superior for 2 nights, after we check-in (we booked online) run smoothly but there is a little misunderstanding between the reception desk and housekeeping, , the reception desk allow and say the room is ready and we go to our room, but when we go to our room the housekeeping would cleaning up the room, so we have to go down and wait in the lobby for 15 minutes, while we waiting in the lobby they give us welcome drink. We used too hotel’s business center for booking flight and printing the ticket, great facilities with high-speed internet connection, after all we enjoy our stay . The PLUS: Room is wide with bathtub, Breakfast buffet with various choices, Swimming Pool for kids and adult, French Bistro Chez Papa in a walking distance The Minus: Co-ordination and service need improvements, the location is a bit far from Johor Bahru CIQ/ Kota Raya bus terminal / JB Sentral so we have to take taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We had to stay at Pasir Gudang. When we checked the comments about hotel we decided not to stay at Hotel Selesa. However we made a trip to the hotel to verify the situation ourselves before making our decision. We were well greeted by the hotel staff and allowed us to inspect the room prior to register. Our inspection did not reflect any of the unpleasent comments stated in reviews. All the staff were extremely pleasent and courtesy. This is the type of staff we require for developing the Iskander Corridor. The breakfast was simple and remarkably good spread. We stayed in room 604 for 3 nites. Our exprience was in contrary to what we read.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiniKluang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed 5nights here,the room was large,with high ceilings,decorated in old furniture and paintings.The hotel has been running for a long time (20 years) and has changed ownership to the local State government. The breakfast served mainly local food,but the dining area was stuffy.

One annoyance was that the gym was poorly equipped and you would have to ask the reception to open it for you.This hotel suits the locals,it is more family oriented and also good for holding seminars. The location is within walking distance to the new KSL shopping mall,Holiday Plaza and City Square.The is a very good well equipped gym called Style Fitness down the road 800 meters away.

The laundry service was slow and didnt arrive at the time promised.Overall,it was over priced for MYR150++ night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiwitKongNakMuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.0 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#55 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#22 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#19 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crystal Crown Hotel
Crystal Crown Hotel
#71 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru

Property: Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Address: Hotel Selesa Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing