We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and Dirty Room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Ranked #76 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old and Dirty Room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed in many hotels in jb even tried the budget ones which was much cleaner than this hotel. We had a bad first impression of the man who checked us in and even asking what room category we booked eventhough it clearly stated in our confirmation letter. Upon entering the room i did not wanted to stay as the whole room looks terrible. I cant believe that they are selling those kind of rooms and i thought we had the worst room in the hotel. There was a musky smell in the room. The carpet is dirty and furnitures are old. The wallpaper are stained and peeling off too. I did not want to go inside the bathroom, the floor tiles are dirty and the bathtub color paint are peeled off. So not worth the money. We ddnt had choice because its already late night. There are way better hotel around the area like KSL or Paragon Hotel. Dont stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
31
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel room is spacious but it's very dusty. The carpets are dirty, the bathroom is dirty. Even the cups at the buffet were dirty. The ac was too cold and the temperature could not be controlled. The facilities in the hotel were substandard. I would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had stayed recently in the hotel. It maybe near the causeway but everything else in the hotel sucks. From Interior to Services. Therefore the price we paid , i rather add a couple more dollors to stay in a better hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaybabies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Sigh...not satisfied with the hotel overall... room was so poor.. bathroom
.bed..mattress. ..even the old tv... sigh... I stayed for 2nights..... even the location is stragetic...but the delivery of service was dissapointed me...-MHMK-

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mohdhaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajang
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My mum and I stayed here as we bought a Legoland package together with the hotel stay. The price is quite reasonable, We took a 3D2N package. No transportation to Legoland is provided in the package, but you can get transportation from the hotel to Legoland with extra charges. There are ample parking spaces at the hotel so no need to worry if you drive your own car. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially in informing us on how to go to Legoland (since it was newly opened at that time). The room was spacious and clean. There were some restaurants nearby too but I guess I preferred to go other places for more choices. The breakfast was okay with an array of choices available. With the room rate, I guess it is worth your money to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Booked through AsiaRooms,com for 2 rooms & 2 nights. The room still spacious after added an extra bed. Services are excellent & prompted. Hotel staff are very friendly. Ample indoor parking lot. Swimming pool was nice & clean. Food not so variety but quite well to our family. We were only taking breakfast.

Room Tip: View either facing the city or pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opit3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Great Great Breakfast though everything else in the 90's. Restaurant and Pool on the 11th floor. Breakfast open till 10.30am so you can do your brunch there and skip your lunch ha ha.
The concierge.... errrrr I didn't see them so dont expect that service. Lift slow moving. Got 2 massage chairs under the escalator infront of the lift.... I wonder why they put it there? Also got a cafe at the lobby but it was closed at 11pm last night.
If you are really tired near midnight get a room here. Drop yourself. Later in the morning shower yourself (the water pressure excellent). Get a good breakfast at 10am. Then check out. It would be very very nice indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaimShauqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.0 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#54 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#22 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#19 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.3 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#21 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru

Property: Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Address: Hotel Selesa Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing