We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Selesa, JB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Selesa, JB”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

generally quite spacious and price are reasonable to short getaway to JB. but still got room for improvement in term of those furniture, TV, bathtub etc.

can get more promotion to attract public as you hav a good location to gain a market share compare to new york hotel, grand paragon which located deeper than you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank XavierSimTzeKeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
31
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

friendly and helpful staff that's all that can be said about this hotel. the room had an unpleasant odor. bed bugs were crawling all over the bed and there were cockroaches crawling on the floor. parking is limited.

Room Tip: no tips. just avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lara250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was really regret bring my family for holiday at JB on 7th June 2014, the moment i stepped into the room the carpet was very smelly and very dirty, the toilets are not so clean with cockroach smell. no towel was provide so may times need to call housekeeping to request towels, the tv is out of services the lights are so deem,they never maintain the rooms well, the toilet near swimming pool was very very dirty and smell....you should not allowed any of the visitor to go up with their wet clothes to their room, the water was dripping all over the carpets and make a bad smell, i was booked 2 rooms and both rooms was same problem and the kettle was dirty and stain even we can't boil water, the food in cafe also very expensive not worth of eating there,no any vegetarian breakfast as been provide.no newspaper.not dare to sleep in the bed there were many bugs,couldn't sleep peacefully...you are charging the customer so provide us with good services and clean room...i will never come again to this hotel and recommend any of my friends and family...really regret choose this hotel selesa... please improve and cleanness is very much indeed ...not happy at all ...:(

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we last minute booked it. staff were friendly. room was clean and comfortable. we just want a safe and comfortable place, price is good. we got at rm160++. if other hotel it will be over RM200.good location too

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onteng h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The moment my family and I stepped into the room, there's that damp toilet smell. There were many bugs or cockroach nymphs crawling at the every crevices... killed so many... when I called for their housekeeping, the staff said that they have ran out of insecticide! I couldn't sleep in peace. The moment I switched off the lights, more nymphs came out. Disgusting. The worse hotel in JB I hv been to!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Selangor
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute trip so I booked online and for the price I got a fair deal. To begin with, yes, the hotel is old and certainly looks it. There was a kinda musky smell in the room, the furniture all looks dated, you get a 14' CRT TV with not much channel selection, and even then some channels have poor clarity. The toilet looks old and because of that you get the impression that it's dirty but it's not. It is clean though I wouldn't recommend soaking in the tub. Oh, do be careful with the shower head, the water pressure is so strong that the shower head tends to fly off it's holder! There is also no hair dryer in the room, though there is a shared iron and ironing board at the corridor which looks strange to me. Breakfast variety was limited but adequate. Location wise, although the hotel is centrally located in thr city, there is nothing within walking distance except for a few food stalls and car wash outlets. You could take a 10 minutes walk across the street to Pelangi Mall but for safety and security reasons I would recommend against it. Overall an OK hotel for the price I paid. Would I return? Only if I really have to.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank attw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for three nights. The check in process very easy. Even though I reserved a lot of room. Spacious and comfortable twin room but the room looks a bit old . May be due to hotel ages. But that's not a problem to me as long as the room was comfortable its good enough for me. The bathrooms are most important to me. I am very picky with cleanliness of the bathroom. but fortunately the bathroom very clean. but just one that I don't like about this hotel, where iron board placed outside the room and near the elevator. The hotel should provide a special room for ironing clothes. And the iron board already should be discarded however is still being used by the hotel. at least if you want to reduce the budget, perhaps the hotel can use cover iron board to close all the holes that are on the Board or maybe a housekeeping department can ease themselves send the iron into the rooms when there is request. Overall, im very happy with this hotel. Not bad for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keihahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.0 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#46 of 109 in Johor Bahru
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#23 of 109 in Johor Bahru
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#18 of 109 in Johor Bahru
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#11 of 109 in Johor Bahru
636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
14 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru

Property: Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru
Address: Hotel Selesa Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Selesa Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing