We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mindblowing but lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mindblowing but lacking”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Visited here as a last minute change due to issues in Bangkok. Was a great surprise for the kids who are still talking about Legoland.

Closer to Singapore than KL, legoland is in a new area so don't be scared if you feel like you're not where you should be.

A hotel that is unmistakable in what it is with themed rooms and great in room activities for the kids.

Close, like next door, is the theme park and water park, but also a mini mall giving you cheap and diverse food options for even the fussiest kid.

Only bad thing about the hotel, being in a room so close to the theme park where the music started (and repeated) 8am to 8pm everyday. Was left disappointed when having to call for someone to come clean our room and upon checkout was left waiting as they were more focussed on check in.

A good hotel that will get better with experience. Will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    772
    226
    57
    35
See reviews for
1,777
31
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

we have been reading bad reviews about this hotel since its opening in december 2012. and here we are, sharing our WONDERFUL experience here.

By right, to stay here is simply a waste of money since we live nearby. But my son has been wanting to stay in the hotel since it's under construction (we visit legoland almost EVERY week!). And after we realised that as a premium pass holder we are entitled for discount, we decided to stay for a night as a birthday treat for him (8/2/2009). check in was a breeze. the room was clean. the kids really enjoyed the bunk bed and the in-house lego provided. the bathroom has both adults and kids sinks with cups and toiletries. u'll be amazed by the decorations that are made from lego. such dedication, and of course, hand made.

the breakfast spread was ok, a mixture of both western and asian delicacies. They provide colourful melamine cups, plates and cutleries for the children. seats are comfortable and well-spaced. buffet counters were also mostly customed at kids height. They also provide crayons and paper to keep the kids occupied. (Oh yeah, we actually asked whether they can bake a lego-themed birthday cake but sadly the staff said they did not have any patisserie chef. Something that the hotel can offer.)

The hotel also has 2 pools located at 5th floor. One at 1.2m depth and another at 0.6m depth. The view was nice and very windy. My kids almost forget that we were going to the water park that day (a nice non-wavy pool is something different i guess).

The hotel has the advantage being the closest hotel to the legoland theme park and water park. But as the price starts from RM800++, it's obvious only certain people could afford it. Maybe as MyKad holders, they should be entitled to get more discounts??

And we are disappointed with the check in time, which is at 4pm and check out time at 10am. We stayed for less than 24 hours!

But all in all, we feel that the hotel offers a wonderful and unique experience for kids within 3-12. It's walking distance to both legoland theme park and waterpark and to medini mall.

Room Tip: rooms at 5th floor is on the same floor as swimming pool, pick the view towards water park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daughterette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed with out children for a couple of nights during CNY. Our kids loved the pirate room they loved the restaurant they loved pretty much everything including the disco lifts. Access to the park is good, the staff were very helpful and the rooms are well setup for parents and kids to have there own space. The only real let down was the food in the restaurant which was pretty average. Also the restaurant only opens at 7am and 7pm which doesn't really suit anyone with kids our age.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhenryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Feb 1 - Went to the reception by 10.30 am. After all the average reviews, we were so pleasantly surprised by the smiling faces at the reception.
They never promised an early check-in but we were told our room was ready, instead of the 4 pm standard check-in time (which is a little strange and which should change).
The Premium Pirate themed room was a dream. Both royale and kiddish I must say. Check out the photos of the hotel in the website.
The other surprise was the lavish spread of breakfast, unlike what I read in the reviews. Plus the service with a smile in the restaurant as well :o)
Didn't feel like leaving the cool comfort of the Hotel but went ahead to the theme park, only to be again surprised by the plantations they have done to keep the place cool.
The few negatives - 1) The cutlery was slightly smelly.
2) We had to check out at 10 am the next day, so we had to shower in the public changing room after the visit to the water park, although we had paid for the Hotel. Maybe should do the water park on Day 1.
3) The management needs to reply to the reviews, since this would create a positive impression.
4) No proper shade in the water park area. Looked like they were selling shade, since they were renting the cabanas and no one was allowed to sit for free, even in the empty ones.

Their superb sense of humour : You will see a list of ALL items in the room with their prices, in case you want to "take" away any of the things on the room :o)

Room Tip: Our premium pirate themed suite was heavenly. Came with all toiletries, I wonder what the reviews ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priyagaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We visited at the end of Dec and it was obvious the hotel had just opened. So many unfinished things like no proper signage in public areas and lifts, room safe was not working and engineering never showed to fix it, my luggage never showed up and I had to go down to the lobby twice to look for it. Second time I saw our bags and the staff said they never received out check in details....etc.

Breakfast was pretty ok so that helped a bit. Selection was good and staff were on their toes catering to the hoards of diners and kids running underfoot.

I liked the general concept of the hotel but hope they will get the opening problem sorted out because they are not exactly cheap to start with. Next time we visit we may give it another try....maybe in a year or so.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a suitcase given to the night manager for storage as we had put gifts and wine spirits for our next leg of the trip in this bag and did not need itl we left- we should have locked it, as someone from the hotel rifled the bag, and stole all the good gifts and the wine. We are sure it was the hotel staff that did this because immediately before checking in at the airport we repacked bags to spread the weight and found the theft. On challenging the hotel of course they denied it. So beware the thieves if you stay there.

The other fiascos we experienced were

1 The failure to pick us up in the airport resulting in us waiting at Changi for 1.5 hours - after a long international flight and with a young child who was 5 hours over his sleeping time when you finally picked us up
2 It took 15 minutes to check in which is far too long
3 The quality of food at the breakfast was terrible - eg bread that was of poor quality to start re-served for two days, an automated egg boiling machine that did not work - with one person making poor quality omelettes at the egg station, no good fruit - eg you could not even get bananas, awful western food all around, and only the nasi lemak being vaguely edible in the asian section
4 No room service food service
5 No bar fridge supplies
6 Our room had very poor "hot" water service - you had to let the shower run for ten minutes before the water would even get a little warm
7 At 8pm one night I wanted to use the business centre room, and no one could find the key to unlock it
8 Every request we made had to be repeated 3 times as the standard of English was generally very poor - eg I asked for butter in the restaurant, and neither the chef nor the waiter could understand the word butter, even when I spelled it out for them.
9 Two days before we left I informed your Indian Malay reception staffer to cancel our airport transfer, as we had booked it and now did not need it . After getting a blank look I repeated my instruction another two times, and finally she understood and said she would cancel the transfer in your "system". Well guess what half an hour before we were to leave your concierge called and said our hotel airport transport was ready. I then went down stairs and told them it had been canceled but they insisted they had no record of that - and when our private driver came they hasseled him about the booking - asking when he was booked
10 They have no electricity converter plugs in the room - and you cannot get one until you lose your temper with them and magically they find one

So in summary we will never stay at this hotel again and we will advise all our many friends in Indonesia and Australia to not stay at this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in the pirate them room on the first floor facing Legoland which was reasonably quiet - ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bobcochrane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Malaysia, Product Excellence Manager at Legoland Malaysia Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Bobcochrane7

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. With us having recently opened, we appreciate all our guests’ comments from all mediums, as we are continuously working to improve all of our service executions.

The safety and security of all our guests and their belongings will always be one of our main priorities. And as such, our security team did a thorough investigation and have come across no evidence to support your allegations of theft.

We do, however, apologise for where our service may have fallen short of your expectations and for any inconveniences or unnecessary aggravations that this may have caused. As mentioned previously, we are working hard to get it right all of the time instead of just most of the time.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I would like to assure you that it will be used constructively going forward.

Kind regards,
LEGOLAND® Malaysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at LEGOLAND Hotel with hesitation, mainly because of some of the reviews on this site!! WE HAD THE TIME OF OUR LIFE. From the pirate themed beds to the disco music in the lifts, from the pirate and Lego themed wallpaper and carpets.
On arrival we discovered that our credit card hadn't yet been charged - only one of 7 hotels to do this. Check in was easy and so was check out. Taxis were easy to get and we were very happy with the food the hotel offered. The included breakfast was excellent. They had 2 hand basins in the bathroom - one at adult height and one at child height. What an excellent idea.
So for the negatives - there was only wi fi in the lobby - who cares! You're meant to be on holiday. The hours for the pool were a bit short - 10am - 6pm from memory. As these are the same hours as LEGOLAND it doesn't leave a lot of time to swim. And the safes weren't programmed so couldn't be used. We did leave our valuables with reception but it would have been relatively easy to tell us about the safe when we checked in. Or put a note on the safe in our room.
We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. Being next door to LEGOLAND makes it just perfect. It's almost like a fairy tale castle. And before you wonder - our ages. 28, 58 and 62.

Room Tip: We had 519 and it was perfect - nice to have a view of LEGOLAND.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
9.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.7 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
748 reviews
8.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
1,242 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legoland Malaysia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legoland Malaysia Resort

Property: Legoland Malaysia Resort
Address: Iskandar Puteri, 7, Johor Bahru 79250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legoland Malaysia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience at LEGOLAND(R) Malaysia Resort. From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO(R) features, themed play areas, kid's entertainment and family restaurant with amazing LEGO(R) models everywhere. All 249 guest rooms are themed, so your family can choose from one of three popular LEGO lines - Pirate, Kingdom or Adventure. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legoland Malaysia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing