We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, food so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
hk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great room, food so-so”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the Legoland hotel - which admittedly was overkill (2 nights would have sufficed) although my 6 yo loved it. As others have said, the room was well-planned for a family and good value (esp if you book early).

The treasure chest game was a fantastic way to start off our stay, and we got 3 little gifts (presumably for staying three nights) which was very thoughtful.

Hotel is super convenient for popping in and out of Legoland and Waterpark and the 2-day combo ticket was good value.

Only downsides to our stay was 1) the food was really quite terrible and the only option was a food street which had one decent Thai restaurant but was mostly populated with fast food (Burger King, KFC etc). 2) Lego sets in Legoland (and the hotel shop) were extremely pricey (at least compared to Hong Kong and Canada - where we normally buy our Lego) although it did admittedly have a good selection. The only items of value that I found worth buying were the Lego t-shirts.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank doramatalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    798
    230
    58
    36
See reviews for
1,836
32
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed 1 night on 2013/Dec in the Adventure theme room for my family (2 adults & 2 kids).

Good:
1) Well decorated hotels with lego, adults & kids love it.
2) Impressed with the treasure hunt game in room. A good bonding of the family at night since all shops closed at 9pm.
3) Hotel just next to legoland park, easy to access in/out the park especially with younger kids.

To improve:
1) Arrived 11am, but only managed to get my room at 6pm. Next day, asked to check-out by 10am. Never experience such a treatment in any theme hotel (Resort World Sin, Disneyland Hotel HK)!
2) Bathroom is very basic, with not complete toiletries (eg. shower cap).
3) Many "non-hotel guests" coming to lobby to play lego and hang-around. Need to keep an eye on kids for just in-case. Security may need to be imposed.

All in all, if you are travelling with kids, good to book the hotel for more relax play/stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behappy6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked and stayed in the themed room (normal standard room). Room is clean. Not as big as what you see in the picture but can sleep up to 5pax which is ideal for a family trip. If bathroom comes with a bathtub will be more ideal. A small and lower sink + mirror is avail in the bathroom which is cool for kids. Room come with lego set to entertain kids and 'treasure chest' game which comes with free lego gift for the kids to bring home (little things brighten their day).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_How
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Malaysia, Product Excellence Manager at Legoland Malaysia Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear R_How

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that the Treasure Chest brightened up your children’s day.

Although the room type that you chosedid not have a bathtub, I am pleased to confirm that our Kingdom Suites are fitted with these.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Legoland® Malaysia Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed one night in the hotel, Adventure theme room. The room is quite spacious, have areas for kids and adult. Our boys love the treasure hunt game, like the room decor and offcourse the chance to play lego in the room and in other areas in the hotel (lobby, in front of restaurant).

Swimming pool is not so big but quite ok for them to swim and play.

Hotel located in one complex with the theme park which is convenient to us. There are also some small shops and restaurant which could be visited as well.

Restaurant: We went to Brick restaurant for breakfast. The decor is nice, food variety is acceptable but we saw flies in the restaurant which we feel a bit dissapointed. Noted that they will do necessary actions about this and this related with the season and bla bla bla in Johor when we put our comments for this hotel in their survey. One more thing, timing is very important. If possible come as early as they open to avoid long queue especially in holiday seasons.

During our stay the wifi also not working :). All in all, it was an ok experience to visit the hotel despite some concerns mentioned above.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deasy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Malaysia, Product Excellence Manager at Legoland Malaysia Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Deasy2712

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that your boys enjoyed their Treasure Hunt and that you found the Hotel conveniently situated next to the Theme and Water Parks.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to use the wifi on your visit. You visited during a peak time and the wifi did struggle. However, saying that, I am pleased to confirm that we will be upgrading the wifi, so that it is better able to cope with our full occupancy.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Legoland® Malaysia Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is certainly unusual - packed with amazing Lego models, fun disco lifts and crazily decorated rooms that your children will love.
We stayed in a deluxe Kingdom-themed room, which isn't quite as spacious as it looked on the website but it's comfortable and the children loved having their own space with bunk beds and their own TV. There's even a 3rd child bed that pulls out - which means we can fit all our family into one room comfortably without having to negotiate with the hotel over the 2 adults/2children max rule that most hotels operate. The bathroom could just do with somewhere to hang wet swimwear, considering it's attached to a water park.
Housekeeping have been a little lax though - mugs weren't washed and the glasses from room service the night before weren't removed when they made up the room.
The location is brilliant - right next door to the park entrance, which means it's easy to pop back to your room middle of the day if the heat gets too much in the park.
The 'Bricks' restaurant isn't great. At dinner the food on the buffet was all lukewarm and there was a lack of main course options for the children. Breakfast was a little better.
The staff have all been very efficient and friendly. Check-in was handled quickly.
When you're not in the park there's plenty for the children to do - Lego pits, and an X-box dance competition.
We'll be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Malaysia, Product Excellence Manager at Legoland Malaysia Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Hkvoyageur

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you loved the disco lifts, LEGO® pits and all the LEGO® models. It is also great that you liked the third pull out bed for your children and that this made the stay all that bit easier, as we eliminated your need to negotiate about this.

We are sorry to hear that your mugs were not washed and your previous night’s glasses not removed. This has been taken up with our housekeeping staff, so as to prevent this from happening again in the future

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Legoland® Malaysia Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights (kingdom premium room) with a 2 day pass and had the best time! After reading all the bad reviews on here I was expecting the worst, but was very pleasantly surprised! Staff were friendly, welcoming & helpful; the room was clean, spacious, fun & comfortable; the restaurant was enjoyable, clean with a great variety of tasty food. For a family of Lego fans it was a great holiday and good value. We loved all the little details like the disco lifts, the carpets, wallpaper, Lego models everywhere and much more. It was worth a little extra cost for a 'premium' room, with views of the park and extra theming. It was also well worth paying for a driver to take us directly from the hotel to Changi Airport - it was quick, convenient & a comfortable trip. Only minor complaints were the very hard bed (quite uncomfortable) and the difficulty we had opening the treasure chest - the answer was wrong so had to keep trying different combinations! Also, the Hotel needs an all-day cafe or even vending machines, as food and drinks are only available at breakfast and dinner. The small nearby shopping mall was awful - only thing worth the walk over was the convenience store for drinks & snacks. We would love to stay again & definitely recommend it. Thanks for the great holiday Legoland Malaysia - we miss you already!

Room Tip: It is worth the small extra charge for a 'premium' room for a better Lego experience! The Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Malaysia, Product Excellence Manager at Legoland Malaysia Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Louise E

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great time here with us.

Thank you also for your suggestions, and we can’t wait to welcome you and your family back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Legoland® Malaysia Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We've booked a 3 day 2 night stay at legoland hotel Malaysia for our recent trip to the Legoland theme park. Overall i would rate it as a very enjoyable stay as the location and rooms are great but there are areas of improvements especially at the reception and restaurant area where the service and quality was obviously lacking. As usual my detailed review consists of the following:

Location:
There's probably no better place to stay if you are planning to visit the legoland theme park. The hotel is located just beside the theme park and guests at the hotel have early access to the park at 930am instead of 10am. You can go back to your room for a break and continue where you left off to maximize your time at the park. There's a mall connected to the hotel which consists of a few restaurants ( burger king, kfc, secret recipe etc), convenience stall and some retail clothing stores for those who wants to take a break from the theme park but do not expect too much as the shops are limited.

Checkin:

Standard checkin time for the hotel is 4pm which is later than most hotels. We arrived at 9am since we wanted to play at the theme park while waiting for the room. Upon completing our checkin procedures we were told that the room was not ready and they will call us once it is available. Sadly that call never came. We tried to check again at 3pm and the first receptionist could not locate our name, the second told us we have not paid and finally we had to retrieve the checkin documents before they were able to locate our room. So much for first impression :(

Room quality:
We got ourselves a premium room for 3 adults and 2 children. I really like the design of the room as it was very functional and practical. The room is divided into two main area, one which is the main bed room and the other being the kids bunk bed. There is a sliding door which can be closed to seperate the two areas which allows parents to watch tv while their kids sleep in the bunk bed.

There's also more than sufficient storage area for all the luggages and still allow people to move around without feeling cramped ( this includes the toilet as well). The beds are comfortable and the decor of the room will surely keep the kids entertained. There's also free toys and a lego set to entertain the kids. Full marks for the room!

Housekeeping:
This is one of the rare stays where we did not try room service but this is for a reason which we will come to shortly. However we did test out the hotel's housekeeping on two occasion and they passes with flying colours. We asked for slippers to be delivered to us as they were not ther in the room and these was sent to us within 5 minutes. On another occasion we asked for thr bedsheets and cobers to be changed as my younger daughter wet the bed and again they responded with minimum fuss. The housekeeping team that we met along the way were also friendly and cheerful. Full marks again here.

Breakfast:
We always look forward to breakfast as we are huge fan of breakfast. If you are like us you will be disappointed with what legoland hotel has to offer. Breakfast is served at the Bricks restaurant one of the two restaurants within the hotel. You will be adviced to go early as it can be difficult to get a table after 930am.

Service at tbe restaurant is mimimal. Once they lead you into the restaurant you seem to be on your own. The waitress did not bothered to ask us whether we need baby chair or children utensils despite us having young kids. Food wise there's not alot of variety. The spread tends to be more local dishes. While they do have western spread the quality of the western dishes are lacking. Another thing that i noted during my two breakfast visit there is that the coffee and tea are from nescafe vending machine. I have no problem with these even though they do not generally produce great coffee or tea however on both days that i were there more than half of the machinese were not working! You get murky hot water instead of tea, milo or coffee at more than half of the machine! Surely this is not something that a reputable hotel will allow as it is a sign that they have not properly maintained the machines. I also noted stains on the bowls and cups which is another sign that the restaurant is not properly managed. In short i find the restaurant very disappointing and lacking in the three key areas of service, food and maintenence. You are better off skipping the restaurants within the hotel and dine somewhere else.

Check out:
Standard check out time is 10 am. The night before we requested for extended late checkout and was granted late check out at 1130. We used the additional time to go for a last trip to legoland. Upon reaching the hotel we found that we were locked out of our rooms as our keys are no longer working. We were not able to use the lifts or open the door and had to get help from the housekeeping team to open the door for us. This seems to be affecting a number of other guests as well as i met other guests who had similiar issues as us in the lift. Not a big issue but it is fustrating having to make multiple trips to and fro just to be able to get into your room. Thankfully the actual check out was relatively straight forward and was done in a jifty. The hotel really should train the recep desk properly since they are the first point of contact to all guests.

To conclude legoland hotel is a great place to stay if you are looking to maximize your time and experience in legoland. Its location, theme rooms ( free lego toys included) and all the entertainment provided at various parts of the hotel provides endless entertainment for your kids. The rooms are well designed, practical and accomodates larger families without any problems. Having said that they do seriously need to improve the restaurant and front reception desk given the experience that i've had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkw-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Malaysia, Product Excellence Manager at Legoland Malaysia Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear mkw-sg

Thank you for your lovely and informative review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found a number of areas in our Hotel to be great.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback, and we will use this constructively in order to make our guest experience better.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Legoland® Malaysia Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
9.2 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
1.7 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
8.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legoland Malaysia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legoland Malaysia Resort

Property: Legoland Malaysia Resort
Address: Iskandar Puteri, 7, Johor Bahru 79250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Legoland Malaysia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat your family to the ultimate LEGO(R) experience at LEGOLAND(R) Malaysia Resort. From the moment you arrive at the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance, you'll be delighted by interactive LEGO(R) features, themed play areas, kid's entertainment and family restaurant with amazing LEGO(R) models everywhere. All 249 guest rooms are themed, so your family can choose from one of three popular LEGO lines - Pirate, Kingdom or Adventure. Rooms include two separate sleeping areas, with a king-size bed for grown-ups, and a separate area for up to three little ones, complete with a bunk bed, pull-out trundle bed and their very own TV! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legoland Malaysia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing