We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Sabah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Very clean... I will stay again if I come JB........ Staff so friendly and helpfully .... The room so clean .... So comfortable when I stay here.... And safety stay here......... Can relax the mind ..if come wit family oso good place... Good environment

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mandysyahchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    66
    51
    17
    9
See reviews for
84
26
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I & my wife were lucky to get a room to stay a night with Hallmark Regency hotel maybe it was due to the examination period. Parking shouldn't be an issue. Smooth check in and overall impression to the room, impressive......Big flat screen TV , nice shower room..... comfortable bed........ but just one thing we are not impress which was the complimentary breakfast....limited food, tasteless fried rice.... no fry eggs station (if you want need to pay)......Overall for the breakfast need a lot of improvement to meet hotel standard.

I will still come back again especially the good customer service officer(Mr. Alex) has done a great job, keep up the good work bro.

Thank you
Victor Tan

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicTanWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had 3 people on a tight budget in which we took the family room with 2 super single bed and 1 queen sized bed. Room was clean when we entered and we were shocked by the size of it! The room is huge! Bigger then the Deluxe rooms in KSL. Not to forget also the bathroom size could easily fit another bed in there but too bad there wasn't any jacuzzi or long bath in it.

Breakfast was extremely basic, which are fried rice or noodles to cater for us Asian and toast for those who like to have it light in the morning. But then not to worry if it doesn't fancy you cause there is a food court just at the back of the hotel that serves dim sum (not sure if it is any good).

Overall not a bad hotel, would recommend this for business and for family trips. Only complain that I have is parking. There are no designated parking space, hence you are required to park at metered parking areas. Hotel will charge RM1.00 for it (which was deducted from the RM20 paid for deposit! The cheapest hotel deposit in town!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Gui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were planning a trip to Johor Bahru, and a friend mentioned Hallmark Regency Hotel. We trusted her opinion and booked the hotel online for quite reasonable price. However, we found some bad reviews from other travelers regarding the hotel right after we have completed our booking. Some said the staff aren't friendly, some said they didn't get the room they booked for, some said the breakfast was tasteless. I tried to ignore those reviews, but after sending them an email asking about airport transfer (because it's mentioned on the website that they provide airport transfer) and didn't get any reply for over a week, I started to worry. I sent them another email to arrange the airport transfer, and received an email which was written in broken English, stating that they would arrange the transport and call me to confirm our flight schedule two days before our check in date. I didn't find their reply reassuring, so my friends and I tried to arrange another transport from the airport to the hotel and sent them another email, cancelling our airport transfer and notifying that we would check in late due to our flight schedule. Their reply was quick this time.

We booked Air Asia flight to Senai Airport in Johor Bahru. Apparently Air Asia provides free shuttle bus from Senai to JB Sentral, so we booked it as well. At JB Sentral, we took a cab (tips: if you need to ride a taxi, find the taxi booth for prepaid taxis. It's illegal for taxis in Malaysia to not use the meter, but so far none of the taxis we rode in Malaysia ever use meters. We always have to bargain!). We paid MYR 10.50 for the taxi.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. This is not mentioned on the website, but the hotel requires the guests to give MYR 20 - 50 deposit (depends on the type of room). We were given our room keys, with the wifi password attached to it. Note that although the password on your key is "WF-1234567", you should only input the numbers if you wish to connect to their wifi and ignore the "WF-" as apparently it's only an abbreviation of WiFi :-) The elevators were very tiny and filled with pictures of Legoland, Hello Kitty Land and Universal Studios, so it might be rather uncomfortable for those suffering claustrophobia.

Our rooms were quite spacious (we booked twin deluxe). They smelled like new furniture, but it was okay. Hair dryer, check. Two extra pillows, check. Safe deposit box, check. Water heater and coffee cups, check. Small fridge, check. There were two small mineral water bottles in the fridge, but those weren't free. The hotel doesn't provide free bottled water for the guests, but there's a free water dispenser near the elevator on each floor. The bathroom was clean and the hot water worked well. The hotel only provides large towels, they will charge extra for face towels.

The hotel is located near several local food courts (there's one Chinese food court just right behind the hotel. Just turn right after you exit the hotel and walk down the short alley dividing Hallmark Regency and the much bigger Grand Paragon Hotel) and Plaza Pelangi, so no need to worry about food. The hotel has a strange policy of making their guests go to the front desk every morning to collect breakfast coupons instead of giving breakfast coupons along with our keys when we arrive, like other hotels. So every morning we had to go to the lobby, ask for the coupons, and walk the stairs to the cafe (or take the lift to M floor, where the cafe is). The buffet breakfast was very good and the chefs were very lovely and friendly. Although I must say that the rest of the F&B crew weren't friendly, especially one lady in particular who kept watching the guests as they were filling up their plates. It felt like she's taking notes of how much food you eat and how many plates you use. Oh, and do note that the milk is not good. It doesn't even taste like milk. But the rest of the food and beverages were good.

Traveling to and from the hotel:
a. To Legoland:
The hotel will offer you taxi for less than MYR 70, but we have more affordable solution. Walk towards Pelangi Plaza, wait for the bus near the overhead pedestrian bridge. All buses that pass Pelangi Plaza are going to JB Sentral, and the fee is MYR 1.20. From JB Sentral, wait for the yellow LM1 bus at platform 1. It will take you to Legoland for only MYR 4.50 (Hello Kitty Land costs less than that). Note: although the map shows that Larkin is closer to the hotel than JB Sentral, do not go to Larkin. Go to JB Sentral instead, because the place is more convenient and most passengers wait at JB Sentral so by the time the bus leaves JB Sentral the seats are all taken. If you board the bus at Larkin you might have to stand up for the whole trip which takes about an hour or so.
b. From Legoland:
Wait for the LM1 bus. Alight at JB Sentral. If you're too tired and want to go by taxi, find the taxi booth. To get there, go inside the small building on your right. Go straight to the other exit near the Senai Airport shuttle bus booth and turn left. The small taxi booth is located there. If you're feeling adventurous and want to go by bus, ask the bus timer person (the guy sitting at the desk near where the buses are) or a bus driver, which bus is going to Pelangi Plaza. You may not board the same bus you ride when you travel from the hotel to JB Sentral, because they have different route and it will take you longer to get to the hotel. Ask the driver which bus goes right to Pelangi Plaza. On the way, look for Pelangi Plaza or ABMH Restaurant sign. If you see it, you've reached your destination :-)
c. To the airport:
If you have bulky luggage or if you're not flying with Air Asia, you might want to arrange with the front desk to order you a taxi. It's mentioned on the website that they provide airport transfer, but during our stay there, we learned that they actually don't. They will call a taxi for you. If you travel light with Air Asia, just board any bus from Pelangi Plaza to JB Sentral, report to the Senai Airport shuttle bus booth there and board the Causeway Link shuttle bus to the airport. Look up the internet for the airport shuttle bus schedule before you leave and allow yourself approximately 2 or 3 hours to travel from the hotel to the airport since the bus may not come on time.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Hallmark Regency Hotel, and will definitely stay again if we visit Johor Bahru in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Summer1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#31 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#17 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#44 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#54 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Regency Hotel

Property: Hallmark Regency Hotel
Address: 16 Jalan Harimau, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Regency Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Regency Hotel in Johor Bahru offers one of the most sought after locations in JB City Center making it one the most ideal urban retreats for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is within a short drive away from major exhibition & convention halls, business districts as well as various shopping malls. Family Theme Park such as Legoland Malaysia, Puteri Harbour Family Theme Park as well as Universal Studios Singapore is only a leisurely drive away from the Hotel. Choose from a pampering range of room selection from Deluxe, Superior and Family Suites that features modern furnishings and guest amenities. Stay with us, we pledge to meet your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing