We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all-round value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Ranked #74 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good all-round value”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Not a new hotel, but the rooms are well cared for and clean. The bathroom was simple, but everything worked. Beds very comfortable. Air-conditioning was effective, a little noisy perhaps but if there was other noise, the A/C masked it nicely.

Not too many frills here - no mini-bar and minimal amenities (no bottled water for example), no pool, not sure if there was room service (though we probably wouldn't have used it anyway). They concentrate on what matters - comfort and value.

The cooked breakfast was quite good - a range of asian and western foods including french fries! The range of cold foods was less impressive.

Location is very convenient to Kotaraya bus terminal. There are restaurants across the street which can sell you water or soft drinks, otherwise it's about a 15 minute walk to a convenience store.

An earlier review commented on slow elevators - they must have fixed this because we found them exceptionally fast.

I booked through their web site and surprisingly it seems the 10% deposit I paid represented an internet-only service charge - if you're booking here, you might be better off phoning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    22
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
25
11
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I was looking up the Internet for a cheap hotel with an internet connection for my internet-addicted husband, and found Tropical Inn. I booked online and found it a convenient and simple process. The hotel itself was trickier to find - we drove up and down the length of Jalan TAR and Jalan Trus before we could find Jalan Gereja, but once we did find it, we realized it was definitely conveniently located to the Causeway to Singapore and to town. The basement parking was dirty, smelly, and dark but the external parking was convenient to the entrance.

Checking in was quick and simple, though they did a funny business of charging my credit card for RM300 and refunding it back. Apparently to check its validity. The elevators were old and slow and the corridors smelt musty and you could hear thumping noises from inside various rooms, but the room itself was pretty good for its price - clean and functional. The internet and the TV worked fine too. Despite the lack of insulation within the corridors, inside the room, we heard nothing from the other rooms. We slept pretty well. Sadly, the breakfast was ordinary fare, and some of it was almost inedible.

I'd say it was almost exactly what we expected and we got our money's worth. The only thing I would ask to improve would be the basement parking, as sometimes the external parking would be full and we would be forced to park in the basement, which was really, genuinely awful.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hanishoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I stayed quite often at this place in the past, due to its proximity with the bus station. Its ideal if one wants to take the early morning bus to Senai. My previous stays have been ok except this one time, which probably will be my last stay there. The counter girl during our checkout was rude and totally uncouth. The rest of the staff were however, quite civilized and pleasant. Nonetheless, just this one gal was enough to put me off this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kchpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

My husband and I had to travel to JB for a close friend's wedding. Due to tight schedule, we could only stay for one night. I made the booking 2 weeks earlier because the wedding was held during Chinese New Year (public holiday). The online booking thru hotel's website was easy and the hotel's rates are within budget.

Since we were running out of time after driving from KL, we requested to check-in 2 hours earlier than the normal check-in time. Our request were granted without any extra charge (provided room is available). The room was clean and tidy, prompt action taken when I asked for iron and hairdryer, friendly staff & service and good breakfast.

Will definitely come again for our next one day trip to Singapore because of its strategic location.

  • Liked — friendly staff and good service
  • Disliked — basement carpark - looks scary
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lila08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 January 2006

I stayed two years at the Tropical Inn from August 2002 to December 2004 while working in Johor Bahru, it might only be two star but the food is good and the company at the Gold Bar is great, Thursday night appy hours are the best. Ask for Chief Woon.

The owners spent quite a some of money in 2004 on renovations to the downstairs, coffee shop, lobby and bar, plans are in for renovation to the bedrooms.

Johor Bahru was a wild town just across the causeway from Singapore, a bit quite these days but the entrance to Malaysia from Singapore.

Best part is, I met my wife there during a conference.

John Dennis
Ex Exxon, Petronas, and ABB.
Email: johndennis88@yahoo.co.uk

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
#39 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#38 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
V3 Hotel - Nusajaya
#58 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#28 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#6 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn Johor Bahru

Property: Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Address: 15 Jalan Gereja, Johor Bahru 80100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Inn Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tropical Inn Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru
Tropical Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing