We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of JA Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
JA Residence Hotel
Ranked #94 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

The room conditions & view was ok but breakfast serves was not really into the standard. Not many choice & cold. Have to improve the breakfast menu. Anyhow, Front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riezalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    11
    3
    15
See reviews for
13
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Me & my wife (Newly married), check into this JA Hotel on Apr 03' 2011. Lobby was fine, not up to that Standard. We check in around 12.30pm and I did a payment via Credit Card and I wasn't given any Credit Card Charge slip. Never mind.... Room key (1512) was handed over to us. We went up and open the room, came to our horror the room still have guests. Can anyone guess what would had happen. Front office person did not update the check-out & check-in or other reason. After that we were given another room key (1203). When we step in can anyone guess what happen??? The rooom has a kind of smell, no Bath mate, no soap. I wanted to feedback the Front office but my wife stopped me.
Next horrible incident- at around 9.30pm someone tried to open our room. Fortunately I locked the room when step in. It might be another wrong key issuance.
Next day (Apr 04' 2011), we went for Breakfast. Oh my gosh! Food was just warm, coffee was like water, just black in colour and some coffee smell. Well I would say you can get much more better food in Foodcourt then this JA Breakfast. So halfaway we went out and had our Breakfast.
Another horrible happening: we were having a rest, suddenly our room phone rang. And it was from reception asking us to Check out- Are they chasing us????? I know the check out time is at 12noon. So 11.30am we went Front office to check out. When I mention this incident to Front Office Executive Mr Vijay Menon his reply was: Oh we cal the room to remind the guest to check out. What the heck???? Anyone would forgot to check-out????
Well, there's many more unpleasant experience from Check-in to Check-out but hope you guys got my point. If anyone woule like to know more can contact me at: yogentri@rediffmail.com
Even the hotel management team if anyone would like to enquire more unpleasant experience of mine, then welcome.

Yogen

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogenTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Do not stay here if your hygiene standards are high. Everything is dirty. The moment I entered the hotel room, there was a cockroach on the cabinet. The sofa is an ugly sight, I didn't even dare sit on it. The pillow was DISGUSTING! It was smelly, and I caught a glimpse that the pillow is already brownish in color. I had to mask the smell with my own blanket. Even the headboard is dirty. The toilet is acceptable, though refurbishing would be nice. Our door lock is disfunctional, the temperature adjusting buttons were missing.

Breakfast was simple but great. Yes,it's strategically located (just a walking distance to City Square and JB Sentral) but there are many other hotels situated here, so there's nothing significant about this.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emme257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

honestly the first time, i decide to stay here because of the lobby look a bit nicer compare to other hotels around the area. the check in was quick and we got the junior suite as the deluxe room was fully booked (i think there was a seminar held in this hotel at that time). the room is spacious but feel a bit old. it got a nice view of the causeway and the city. the room have a basic wardrobe, mini bar (not even cold), a lounge set and CRT tv with local channel. the toiletry is really basic, and i mean BASIC. only 2 small bar of soap. luckily there's a lot of 24hr shops nearby the hotel to buy all your needs. one thing i really need to stress out is, there's NO sound proofing of any kind. our room is connected to the next room and only separated by 2 thin doors. on our firt night, there's a night market down the street with open karaoke session all night long. we feel like they're singing next door even with all the windows shut tight. but we manage to sleep after it end around midnight. we got no problem on our 2nd night. the breakfast was nice with few selection available. all and all, it was just average for me.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

We have been staying here during the great CNY road festival on 06/03/2010,we booked 3 rooms 2 months ago before the festival day and have requested for connecting room for 1 of our family consist of 4 children. BUT on the check in day they just ignore of our request and with their own reason of 'fully booked' and sent us to different floor. After the CNY road show ends nearly 1am, we got back to our room to take shower , i noticed that the bathroom has no body & hair shampoo supply ,even in the room alot of things need to upgrade: the parquet floor is spoil, the pillows are dirty, the refrigerator dosen't cool at all, even the breakfast for the second day seems like not enough for guest.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

I had a one-night stay in this hotel in early July 2008 and at that time it was in the process of being renamed the J.A. Residence Hotel and I think that's now complete.
I needed a place to stay for one night because I was flying off from Singapore the next day and had seen this hotel before and thought it looked alright from the outside and the lobby looked ok too. I thought it would be a big saving in terms of accommodation costs.
Well, the hotel wasn't really great at all. Not a good one. Firstly, reception was just clinical and there was nothing more there.
The room was really of a poor standard. The bed wasn't really clean at all and the pillows were just filthy, full of past sweat stains and even the spare pillow in the wardrobe was filthy. I had to put a shirt over the pillows just to manage to sleep at night. Even the thing behind the bed wasn't really clean.
I had a room which had a connecting door to another room and late at night, there was just too much noise and I'm not sure what sort of activities were going on but I don't think I should mention it too much.
On that point, perhaps the hotel staff thought that was the reason for my stay and gave me a room which was only really fit for a short stay of a few hours duration because the room really didn't look inviting, it wasn't completely clean -- the writing desk wasn't clean, neither the sitting chair or coffee table. The curtains were old and dirty as was the window.
The bathroom was ultra-basic but it functioned.
The breakfast was included with the wotif booking but there wasn't anything to mention there, it wasn't great at all. The food was simple and didn't taste that good.
The good thing about the hotel is that it is located in central JB and close to the City Square shopping centre, although that is still about ten minutes walk away. However, the hotel is located very near the Causeway towards Singapore where a bus from the Malaysian side towards Singapore is frequently available.
Would I stay here again? Not unless there has been a major improvement since I left. The room cost Rm140 per night which is really not all that cheap in Malaysia. I would have expected at least basic 3 star comfort for the price but I didn't find it by any means. I do not consider this hotel value for money and it made me think twice about trying to save a bit of change when it comes to hotel accommodation.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms and room noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#37 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#60 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
Baguss City Hotel Sdn Bhd
#67 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmanSari Express Hotel
AmanSari Express Hotel
#63 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#31 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Residence Hotel

Property: JA Residence Hotel
Address: 18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 108 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — JA Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your JA Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing