We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily we saw the room before we checked in and paid!”
Review of JA Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JA Residence Hotel
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 21 August 2011

When we arrived we had to insist to be shown a room. We were told that this is not usually done but finally we could have a look. Happily - as we would never have stayed there, certainly not with our small children!

The room was on the 11th floor and all that was great was the view. The room was far from clean. The air in the room was smelly and hot, the walls had lots of traces of humidity, the airco was small, old an way too weak to provide fresh and cool air. There were small bugs on the floor and on the beds (no "classical" bed bugs we checked, also no such stains in the mattrass). The sheets were greyish and did not smell fresh though they seamed to have been washed.

The room and the hotel were extremely worn and you'd wonder if you survived the cracky lift and how long it would take till the whole building fell. The carpet outside the rooms was downright disgusting. In the rooms there was a tile floor.

The lobby did not look bad at all but as soon as you got into the lift you'd only hope to get out of the whole place soon.

We had chosen this hotel because it had got a good review in the Lonely Planet (2010 edition). Maybe the author should go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Carolpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for JA Residence Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night in August 2011.

The first room we were given had a very very strong smell of mould. The second room were were given also had a mouldy smell, but was not as strong.

It appears that the floors, bathroom sink and toilet had been cleaned. This is where the cleaning ended.

Bathroom: The glass shower door had not been cleaned in a very long time and there was mould around the handle. The white shower tiles had turned yellow with grime. The spotlights in the bathroom had been replaced with a flourescent light and the holes had been stuffed with toilet paper.

Walls: Similarly, the walls had not been cleaned in a long time and had covered with stains and mould.

Soft furnishings: The padded chair, bed runner and lamps were all stained and had holes in them. The pillows had a bad smell. The headboard was made of a plastic woven material and was very dirty and stained.

The Lonely Planet describes the hotel as slightly worn down. Perhaps it was slightly worn down two years ago, but it appears that there has been no maintenance or upkeep on the rooms in the meantime - both rooms we saw had an equal level of neglect.

In my opinion, the room was disgusting. The next day we checked into another hotel, just metres away that was very clean and considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brownsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The room conditions & view was ok but breakfast serves was not really into the standard. Not many choice & cold. Have to improve the breakfast menu. Anyhow, Front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riezalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Me & my wife (Newly married), check into this JA Hotel on Apr 03' 2011. Lobby was fine, not up to that Standard. We check in around 12.30pm and I did a payment via Credit Card and I wasn't given any Credit Card Charge slip. Never mind.... Room key (1512) was handed over to us. We went up and open the room, came to our horror the room still have guests. Can anyone guess what would had happen. Front office person did not update the check-out & check-in or other reason. After that we were given another room key (1203). When we step in can anyone guess what happen??? The rooom has a kind of smell, no Bath mate, no soap. I wanted to feedback the Front office but my wife stopped me.
Next horrible incident- at around 9.30pm someone tried to open our room. Fortunately I locked the room when step in. It might be another wrong key issuance.
Next day (Apr 04' 2011), we went for Breakfast. Oh my gosh! Food was just warm, coffee was like water, just black in colour and some coffee smell. Well I would say you can get much more better food in Foodcourt then this JA Breakfast. So halfaway we went out and had our Breakfast.
Another horrible happening: we were having a rest, suddenly our room phone rang. And it was from reception asking us to Check out- Are they chasing us????? I know the check out time is at 12noon. So 11.30am we went Front office to check out. When I mention this incident to Front Office Executive Mr Vijay Menon his reply was: Oh we cal the room to remind the guest to check out. What the heck???? Anyone would forgot to check-out????
Well, there's many more unpleasant experience from Check-in to Check-out but hope you guys got my point. If anyone woule like to know more can contact me at: yogentri@rediffmail.com
Even the hotel management team if anyone would like to enquire more unpleasant experience of mine, then welcome.

Yogen

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YogenTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Do not stay here if your hygiene standards are high. Everything is dirty. The moment I entered the hotel room, there was a cockroach on the cabinet. The sofa is an ugly sight, I didn't even dare sit on it. The pillow was DISGUSTING! It was smelly, and I caught a glimpse that the pillow is already brownish in color. I had to mask the smell with my own blanket. Even the headboard is dirty. The toilet is acceptable, though refurbishing would be nice. Our door lock is disfunctional, the temperature adjusting buttons were missing.

Breakfast was simple but great. Yes,it's strategically located (just a walking distance to City Square and JB Sentral) but there are many other hotels situated here, so there's nothing significant about this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emme257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

honestly the first time, i decide to stay here because of the lobby look a bit nicer compare to other hotels around the area. the check in was quick and we got the junior suite as the deluxe room was fully booked (i think there was a seminar held in this hotel at that time). the room is spacious but feel a bit old. it got a nice view of the causeway and the city. the room have a basic wardrobe, mini bar (not even cold), a lounge set and CRT tv with local channel. the toiletry is really basic, and i mean BASIC. only 2 small bar of soap. luckily there's a lot of 24hr shops nearby the hotel to buy all your needs. one thing i really need to stress out is, there's NO sound proofing of any kind. our room is connected to the next room and only separated by 2 thin doors. on our firt night, there's a night market down the street with open karaoke session all night long. we feel like they're singing next door even with all the windows shut tight. but we manage to sleep after it end around midnight. we got no problem on our 2nd night. the breakfast was nice with few selection available. all and all, it was just average for me.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zen012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We have been staying here during the great CNY road festival on 06/03/2010,we booked 3 rooms 2 months ago before the festival day and have requested for connecting room for 1 of our family consist of 4 children. BUT on the check in day they just ignore of our request and with their own reason of 'fully booked' and sent us to different floor. After the CNY road show ends nearly 1am, we got back to our room to take shower , i noticed that the bathroom has no body & hair shampoo supply ,even in the room alot of things need to upgrade: the parquet floor is spoil, the pillows are dirty, the refrigerator dosen't cool at all, even the breakfast for the second day seems like not enough for guest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#59 of 109 in Johor Bahru
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#34 of 109 in Johor Bahru
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baguss City Hotel
Baguss City Hotel
#45 of 109 in Johor Bahru
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#37 of 109 in Johor Bahru
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Residence Hotel

Address: 18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £17 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — JA Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JA Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing