We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JA Residence Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Thistle Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mutiara Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lavender Inn Permas(Johor Bahru)
US$25
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bliss Boutique Hotel(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
0
2
11
3
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
2
11
3
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We have been staying here during the great CNY road festival on 06/03/2010,we booked 3 rooms 2 months ago before the festival day and have requested for connecting room for 1 of our family consist of 4 children. BUT on the check in day they just ignore of our request and with their own reason of 'fully booked' and sent us to different floor. After the CNY road show ends nearly 1am, we got back to our room to take shower , i noticed that the bathroom has no body & hair shampoo supply ,even in the room alot of things need to upgrade: the parquet floor is spoil, the pillows are dirty, the refrigerator dosen't cool at all, even the breakfast for the second day seems like not enough for guest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2008

I had a one-night stay in this hotel in early July 2008 and at that time it was in the process of being renamed the J.A. Residence Hotel and I think that's now complete.
I needed a place to stay for one night because I was flying off from Singapore the next day and had seen this hotel before and thought it looked alright from the outside and the lobby looked ok too. I thought it would be a big saving in terms of accommodation costs.
Well, the hotel wasn't really great at all. Not a good one. Firstly, reception was just clinical and there was nothing more there.
The room was really of a poor standard. The bed wasn't really clean at all and the pillows were just filthy, full of past sweat stains and even the spare pillow in the wardrobe was filthy. I had to put a shirt over the pillows just to manage to sleep at night. Even the thing behind the bed wasn't really clean.
I had a room which had a connecting door to another room and late at night, there was just too much noise and I'm not sure what sort of activities were going on but I don't think I should mention it too much.
On that point, perhaps the hotel staff thought that was the reason for my stay and gave me a room which was only really fit for a short stay of a few hours duration because the room really didn't look inviting, it wasn't completely clean -- the writing desk wasn't clean, neither the sitting chair or coffee table. The curtains were old and dirty as was the window.
The bathroom was ultra-basic but it functioned.
The breakfast was included with the wotif booking but there wasn't anything to mention there, it wasn't great at all. The food was simple and didn't taste that good.
The good thing about the hotel is that it is located in central JB and close to the City Square shopping centre, although that is still about ten minutes walk away. However, the hotel is located very near the Causeway towards Singapore where a bus from the Malaysian side towards Singapore is frequently available.
Would I stay here again? Not unless there has been a major improvement since I left. The room cost Rm140 per night which is really not all that cheap in Malaysia. I would have expected at least basic 3 star comfort for the price but I didn't find it by any means. I do not consider this hotel value for money and it made me think twice about trying to save a bit of change when it comes to hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamar dilantai atas kita bisa melihat pemandangan di singapore
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews