We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel attracted me is indoor pool as we plan to escape haze from S'pore. Walk in w/o reservation, managed to get room @MYR170 offer a queen size bed.
Lift is a real problem,it has 3 lifts, only 1 or 2 working sometimes.
Small room with a sofa, nice scenary, tv is old, reception not clear for channel 5, wifi not accessible though password given upon check in.
Breakfast is offer fried mee, rice, curry, toast bread, cereal, salad,etc. I'm not fussy with food, but this cafe really disappointed us, left after 15mins.
For supper, we bought food at nearby eateries (1min walk). Fav food is mobile truck offer 'lok lok' cost MYR1.60~MYR3 per stick.
Overall just an average hotel, don't expect to much.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sngsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

It is just an average hotel..
Don't put your expectation so high when u stay here... Or else you will be dissapointed...
The hotel need to revamp their facilities/ rooms/ sevices/ menu & etc...
However, the staffs were nice and helpful..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aezmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My mum and son stayed here, the service was great and the staff were friendly, however the room we were in on the 18th floor smelt like it had febreeze odour spray sprayed over everything and blocked our sinuses each night that we had stayed(4 in total) The rooms definitely need a revamp. The breakfast had a variety of foods and was the highlight of our stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chix_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The New York hotel is very run down. The lifts are extremely frustrating taking forever to come. (That is if they are working at all!) The rooms are not worth what you pay. There are so many other hotels in the area don't waste your time and money here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golfprotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The rooms may be spacious and big. Bur for 250 one would expect:
-there to be Non Smoking rooms a valuable, but according to front desk all are smoking rooms....
so Non smokers should not stay here.
-The TV has NO asto channels are often grainy

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jekoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. It's overall ok to stay for few days.

The buffet breakfast provides local food, and simple western food, such as toast, buns, corn flakes... you know, not many varieties but enough to get your stomach full.

The room is spacious with a king size bed and it's comfortable, but the old small TV has bad resolution.

The car park and Wifi are free but the car park has no security and the internet is almost zero speed in my room at 21 floor. Outside the room has lobby where internet works better.

The surrounding has lots of hawker centers and a popular Thai seafood restaurant that is packed with people but I would recommend a nearby decent cafe called Asian Spice where you can find western snacks and the pizza was yummy. You just need to press the buttons and the waiter will tend to you shortly. The internet in that cafe is much faster than New York Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bellyclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

It's nicely located in JB town and the road is bustling with activities especially at night. One can taste local delicacies as well as `pubs all around the hotel's vicinity.
The hotel has free parking spaces for its guests in the building itself. free internet access for guests is also available. The rooms are big and cosy and there's an indoor swimming pool, a jacuzi and sauna rooms on the 11th floor. so, it's quite private.
The breakfast offers a variety of choices and starting from this year, there is some improvements in the food galore. It offers different menu sets daily during lunch time which is open to the public too.
It's just a walking distance to a nearby mall and a 5 minutes drive to Holiday Plaza where one can get some good bargains.

Room Tip: Rooms facing JB town and Singapore as well as the ones facing the main highway offers a nice panora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#17 of 109 in Johor Bahru
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#33 of 109 in Johor Bahru
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#20 of 109 in Johor Bahru
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#35 of 109 in Johor Bahru
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Address: No. 22 Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £29 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New York Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel Jb
New York Hotel Johor Bahru
New York Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing