We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Disgusting and Expensive”
Review of New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Hotel
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed there with my girlfriend over a weekend and the bed sheets were filthy. She broke out in rashes on her neck and arms where sheets came into contact. Washroom ceiling panels were all popped out and there were roaches running around. Carpets were grimy. This hotel has seen better days but for USD 60 per night which we paid, it was a total rip off and there are better hotels in JB

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel basically.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for New York Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is the second hotel I select after the bad wifi service in Cxxxxx Cxxxx hotel so I decided to find something almost the same hotel due to company budget.
The reason I choose also the location is in central but it is a bit far from Shopping mall and eating place, however the nearby full of car wash shop, so convenience for me to wash my car nearby with only RM8. I heard that there is also a seafood restaurant nearby very nice but I have not try before.
Food is normal here, wifi is good. The only concern and the management need to look into is the LIFT....it is super slow. Other than that, it is good for budget and business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

The last time I stayed here was early last year.
Was quite happy to see that there were changes in the room design and furnitures.
The floor now carpeted.
Bathroom, seems to be the same.
Better than before.
However, it was shocking to see cockroaches roaming freely on the carpet and furnitures.
That really turned me down.
The thoughts of these cockroaches enter my ears really worries me.
I killed more than 10 cockroaches on my first night.
Next day, I suggested the housekeeping staff and cleaning lady to spray the room with pesticides when I am not in my room in the afternoon.
Sadly, I saw one after i returned.
Relating my experience to the reception, they immediately relocate me to another room.
And boy! It was a big, nice and cozy room.
And not a sigle cockroach in site.
My perception changed immediately and hoping that my ordeal will not be experienced by another traveller like me.
Thumbs up for the receptionist, thumbs down for the cleaning lady and housekeeping staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

When it takes 20mins to get from ground floor to the 20th floor and vice versa, I say that's enough to deter me from coming back again. If not for work, this hotel will not be in my list of choice at all.

Rooms are large, and clean. Probably the only good think I will say about this hotel review now. But the rooms had very poor lighting and seriously, who puts half screen at the tub. An invalid will never be able to shower here unless they use the pipe beside the toilet. Even for someone who's able to use both feet, the fact that we'd have to climb awkwardly into the tub to shower, and then risk falling down as we have to again climg akwardly out of the already wet tub, it's basically a bathroom that welcomes accidents.

Aircond is another issue. You have to be someone who either loves it cold or warm. No middle grounds to it. It's obviously an old hotel that needs major refurbishing.

But coming back to the elevator. It took a good 2 mins to get from floor 19 to floor 20!!!! And was a very very slow agonising journey from ground floor. It screeches. It jerked. It was scary!

And then you have the biggest joke of a breakfast buffet. They served white rice and dishes on both days I was there! Seriously???? They had an egg counter that refused to make scrambled eggs. They had bad coffee. Oh, and they had steamed tapioca!!! Nasi Lemak was horror...rice porridge was bland. And to place cut blocks of butter into a bowl...there is simply no hygiene in that poor excuse of a coffeehouse.

I am so sorry, but I would NOT recommend anyone to stay here, nor will I ever come back.

Room Tip: If you desperately have to stay here, then take the lower rooms...the elevator is super scary!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shasharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed a night to attend an event held in the same building. Check-in was painful. Apparently, they misplaced my reservation and couldn't trace it even though it was explicitly confirmed.

The standard room was spacious and at 18th floor is quite a different experience. The room was clean and most importantly, the bathroom too. Mattress' a little too hard for my liking. Everything else was from another not-too-distant-era

Breakfast was fine. They forgot my newspaper!

There are a few eateries below and a mall 10 minutes walk away.

All in all, it was a good stay for me. Might just come back the next time I'm in Johor Bahru.

Room Tip: Stayed at a corner room so it's quiet but kinda "neglected" too with the newspaper iss...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spratly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Good Lord! I get up to go to the toilet and discover my toiletry kit swarming with cockroaches! They scatter and hide in every crevice of the bag. It took me 30 minutes to rid the bag of them, only to check my luggage and find more!

I curse the people who booked me into this dive! What a freaking nightmare! When I complained to the manager he suddenly forgets how to speak English. I warn you, there is NO CHARM to this hell hole. Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Looking for a room in JB? Look somewhere else!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Humaninstitution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the second time to celebrate our anniversary, it's quite an old hotel, room condition is fairly average but what we like most is the window view as it is among the tallest hotel in town with great view of the city be it night or day

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MengHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#30 of 110 in Johor Bahru
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#20 of 110 in Johor Bahru
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Regency Hotel
Hallmark Regency Hotel
#21 of 110 in Johor Bahru
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 110 in Johor Bahru
653 reviews
1.3 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#15 of 110 in Johor Bahru
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#13 of 110 in Johor Bahru
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hotel

Address: No. 22 Jalan Dato Abdullah Tahir, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New York Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel Jb
New York Hotel Johor Bahru
New York Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing