We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Reviewed 16 August 2014

the room was very big and with balcony.lots of interesting points like the swimming pool and the gym.good breakfast with various local dishes.kind staff.Free bus to the city center.you can really relax in this hotel!

Room Tip: I like the upper rooms with singapore view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgrandesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel is located next to the causeway and it's quite basic. Check - in was smooth with no unwanted delays. Stayed in the studio room which were refurbished some time ago but beginning to look dated. Bathroom was clean. Wifi was free in the room which can connect up to 2 devices. Breakfast was simple but can be improved with a much better spread. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Small swimming pool and gym located on the same floor. Indian restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel serves authentic Indian cuisine which is very good. A must try. Overall, this is a basic hotel with no great thrills or spills.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VernaelJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

the first hotel that doesn't have towels in the bathroom. door to the riser compartment was not locked exposing plumbing and wiring. bathroom was so small with maroon tiles with dim lights giving it a spooky feel. the bathroom was so cramped and so small it felt dirty. shower head was broken and there was no hot water. plenty of mosquitos in the room. the room was not that clean. the pillow cases have not been changed and had a bad odor. the room was shoddy and dark with bad lighting. wouldn't stay here again, ever. staff were nice and friendly and service was really good. it is the service that would make one forgive the extreme shortcomings of the rooms. not staying there again. there is wifi in the rooms which is definitely a plus.

Room Tip: check your room before accepting. bathrooms can be a shock. make sure they leave mosquito spray in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lara250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Booked via Internet engine and already mentioned late check in. Arrived around 8.30pm and the reception asked "do you want to make a booking now?" - I was puzzled since I just her the voucher stated payment has been made for two rooms. Have to wait 15-20mins for her to sort out. In addition she also asked for RM100 deposit.

Stayed in 1416. When I booked, it stated studio. However 1416 doesn't look like studio to me. Unless the hotel definition for studio is different from mine. The hotel is just a standard room - twin bed (although I asked for queen/twin), 1 pillow each on each bed.

Bathroom is terrible. Black tiles flooring and insufficient lighting. Didn't realize the shower drainage was clogged. During shower, the water overflown in the whole bathroom. Luckily managed to confine it within the bathroom with towels. Called for plumber to resolve but the housekeeping never turned up despite calling and walked down to lobby to inform reception. Very unattentive staff I would say.

In the minibar, there were left over food from previous tenants. I think the house keeping never bother to check when clean up the room for the next guests.

Luckily just one night stay. Not sure whether I will stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The water was hot the staff tried their best.

Other than that it was a really miserable two nights sleeping in a less than clean room with mosquitos for company. On the plus side the shop at reception has an excellent supply of mosquito insecticide!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valiantlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spacious. That was the room that we got. We had the view of the Johor Strait as well as Singapore's Sembawang and JB's Stulang Laut. The hotel itself has nothing much to offer and parking isn't much of a problem. But from there it's a short hop to anywhere especially to the food haunts such as at Sentosa Garden, Stulang Laut, Duty-Free shopping at The Zon, and Tepian Tebrau. And since it's a bit out of the way from JB's busy roads, you are guaranteed to have peaceful nights there...plus the view.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I went to JB lately, the first time, I kind of like the city, I stayed at Grand BlueWave hotel and I believe this is one of the reasons that I liked JB, it was comfortable hotel with view of the sea, in the heart of the city, the room was clean and spacious, with wide bathroom, breakfast was standard, I think it is good to stay for 1 to 2 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saadamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.5 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#14 of 109 in Johor Bahru
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#7 of 109 in Johor Bahru
238 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#18 of 109 in Johor Bahru
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
M Suites Hotel
M Suites Hotel
#22 of 109 in Johor Bahru
305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
#10 of 109 in Johor Bahru
670 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: Grand Bluewave Hotel 9R Jalan Bukit Meldrum, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £30 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing