We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Straits View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Thistle Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mutiara Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tune Hotel Danga Bay(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bliss Boutique Hotel(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princeton Hotel(Johor Bahru)
US$29
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$25
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
5
13
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
13
14
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I've stayed at a few hotels in JB and this one has friendly staff and good restaurant plus plenty of parking space. Also the rooms are much much bigger than I expected. Prices are low and I'm glad its not a hotel where tour buses stay at. Obviously you have to go in with the right expectations, so there was no surprises when we got there - if you want luxury go elsewhere but otherwise its great for what it is!

Room Tip: There are only 3 floors so ask for a higher floor if you want a better view, and don't be scared of the lift - it may be old but it works!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights with kids..chose the hotel because of its location and view. It has a nice view..and that's it.

Rooms were reeked with cigarattes smoke.

Only soap, bath towels, shower cap and sanitary bag provided.

Request for extra bed for first night but cannot provide as no staff available.

Breakfast was..adequate to fill tummy. Only given 1 selection, nasi lemak in polystirene and bag of tea and coffee which we need to prepare ourself due to kitchen brokedown. Breakfast day 2 was given 3 more selection and juice.

Housekeeping came and tidy up our room and we didn't ask for it.

Oh..and no non smoking room when asked.

Show
er head broken, 1 downlight already not working.

Other than that..the place is quite near
to the straits to walk around, food stalls and restaurant.

Bed is clean, rooms too.

But then, we only paid RM160/night for it..so it figures.

So much more they can improve on.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. For its price, the hotel offers good value. But rooms cleanliness should be improved and breakfast selection needs to be added too. Location is okay at the danga bay but quite a distance to the town center. A cab will cost around 10RM each way.

Overall, an okay stay, nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HYY_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife. The road to this hotel is quite tricky; usually will miss the junction for first timer.
Hotel are not crowded and got many parking space. What surprise me is the room is quite big with nice view of the hotel's garden & straits to singapore.
It situated near to center of JB, so there's a lot of places to visit
Unfortunately the breakfast is not worth what I'm paying for with the accomodation package; a packed food of 'Nasi Lemak'.
Overall, recommended for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank one_nazirul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Went to Straits view because of the reviews here. Was very disappointed. Room was average. There was a dead fly at the window and carpets were old and ratty. Air conditioner took a long time to start up. Location was inconvenient. No pool so brought my children to see the fish at the pond. Even that was a disappointment, water hasnt been cleaned for years. Breakfast was terrible. Only had coffee, orange juice,koko crunch and bread. Tip: There's actually some fried noodles but you have to ask the waiter, if you can find him. It will come wrapped in brown paper. For RM168 per night, I could have gone to Pulai Springs and had a better time. Worst thing is, I left my iphone charger in the room. Called them up the next day to get it back and they claimed they cant find it. I will never come back here again. Tune Hotel which is just nearby is much better!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank number1mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews