We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best value”
Review of Straits View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Straits View Hotel
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kalkaringi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still the best value”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel has been renovated in the last 4 years. The rooms and service has remained excellant. The staff are caring and polite. The best value in Malaysia.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mtgravatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
8
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I'm very impressed with the cleanliness and hospitality of this hotel. Although it's only a small hotel, my family really enjoy our stay here. The rate also reasonable and the location near to the famous Danga Bay.

The hotel has no swimming pool and provide very basic breakfast (fried koeyteow, white bread, boiled egg, tea and coffee). There's a row of malay stalls nearest to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajaex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priceyjunk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We have stayed at the Straits View Hotel several times over the last few years and have always found it comfortable and relaxing. Rooms are large and clean and The mansion has a rustic charm and with a great view overlooking the straits. The amenities are modern and although it is a small hotel, staff are flexible and friendly. The restaurant is great, and you get to sample a variety of dishes, including many of the local treats. The seafood is topnotch and good value. One of our group was a really fussy eater but the chef accomodated this and made a fantastic dish of a medley of exotic vegetables.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank priceyjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Hotel is not located in the town centre but worth it.
The lobby has been refurbished with a superb design, alas not the rooms. Still, they are very pleasant and a very good price for such a large room with great view, huge bed, very clean, with tea/coffee facilities, fridge with beers and TV.
For a late evening on the way to Singapore, it could be a better alternative than staying in budget hotel of Sing.
The restaurant was awarded and have very good reviews… will be tested next time.
The bar next door was tested ... very interesting!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SFany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalkaringi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2006

This old Hotel has magnificant views from all rooms. It has King size beds that are very comfortable. There are 2 good eating venues on site and the staff are very obliging.
A basic breakfast of coffee, toast and boiled eggs.is included in the fare. It has TV and bar fridge.
Good value if you are on a budget.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank mtgravatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.9 mi away
Ritzton Hotel
Ritzton Hotel
#39 of 109 in Johor Bahru
14 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#18 of 109 in Johor Bahru
101 reviews
5.6 mi away
Princeton Hotel
Princeton Hotel
#33 of 109 in Johor Bahru
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paragon Serviced Suites @ Straits View
2.1 mi away
Insta Hotel
Insta Hotel
#38 of 109 in Johor Bahru
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#75 of 109 in Johor Bahru
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straits View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straits View Hotel

Property: Straits View Hotel
Address: Straits View Hotel Jalan Abu Bakar, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Straits View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Straits View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing