We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Johor Zoo

Johor Zoo
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I am giving a high score because the zoo was great value. 2MYR / per adult. it is not a 'model' zoo. the facilities are old. not that many animals. some of the cages seem too small for the animals. this is definitely better than some zoos i have seen in SE Asia / Asia but nothing like a modern zoo can be. however, the animals appeared to be cared for. the animals we saw appeared healthy. i guess your take on this zoo will completely depend on your expectations. having seen some really horrible zoos in other places, i was relieved to see the condition of this zoo. the keepers were friendly and gave us some interesting information about the animals.
we enjoyed our visit. whatever your feelings about zoos, you will not feel ripped-off here at 2MYR / person.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 123bath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    58
    69
    24
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A nice start that needs to be expanded to help the animals.”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

They have a good selection of animals at this zoo but some are in pretty bad shape. The zoo also needs to expand the areas for the animals to move around in as some spaces are pretty cramped.

I felt bad for the primates as they definitely need more room and so do the lions as they are out in the sun, with little shade, and don't have a lot of room to roam around at this point.

I'm guessing that they will expand it as the area gets more tourism, and more money coming in, but for now it is a little bit depressing because of some of the conditions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SalsaAram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
1 review
“A must to visit in Johor”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Nice place to go while you are in Johor..ticket are cheap..the staff always welcome with smile..safe for young children

Helpful?
Thank cecilcecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of Johor attractions”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

For the beginning - it is EXTREMLY cheap. So, for the money they take from visitors, it is more than well maintained.
Animals are fanced and caged... It looks sad sometimes...But, they look not badly treated.
I guess it is an opportunity to compare with more sophisticated modern Zoos, and give them there value.
There is a vast bird collection, tigers, lions, chimps, crocs, etc. Mostly animals from Malaysian forest.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor bahru
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small zoo”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The zoo is located near the Istana Besar Johor and hospital Sultanah Aminah. Ample parking space, not much people even on school holiday. This is are quite small and not much animals. No elephant when we visited at that time. Some animals are lock up in the cage. Quite pity for them. The food there has limited choices and quite pricey. Children playground are dirty. Toilet also dirt and smelly. No effort to improve the place. However is still worth to bring small children to come here and the price of ticket is quite cheap.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuri_Lim_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johor Zoo also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Johor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing