We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend activity with the kids” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johor Zoo

Johor Zoo
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“weekend activity with the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

nothing much to highlight... the bird show was entertaining... 3hours.. and you would have covered the whole zoo..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JB_JLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    54
    64
    22
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The zoo is very clean and the animals are well taken care of. Me and my family had a great time there. I hope that we will visit the zoo again! It was magnificent!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank benwolf223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Deplorable, Disgusting and Utterly Disgraceful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Kids running around, scrambling onto guard fences, built-in wall railings and whacking like nobody's business onto the double layer wire netting fence are amongst the few incidences that results from the lack of security patrolling the zoo. Somehow it evokes response as to whether this could qualify still as a sanctuary rather than a hellish habitat for the animals seeking shelter and comfort.

One of such evidential loopholes that you can find are the inanimate objects living in with the residents in the enclosure. What with plastic bottles being part and parcel of objects roaming around the cage of the orang utans thrown by none other than those who has nothing between their ears. And that says much of the organisational efforts deployed by the local authorities, whoever they are.

Some of the animals - the tapirs to be exact, spots huge ulcers on their dorsal bodies some of which could have been easily infected with their enclosures being spent together with tons of buzzing flies that seek out these raw hides for their exotic meals. What could be worse? Even their small pond of escape is lathe with old murky waters that resemble those of mud and infested bug.

For RM 2 as an entrance fee and for so many animals under the care of the zookeepers, I don't demand much, but up your entrance fee by more than that is necessary or arrange for more in-zoo activities to upgrade your deplorable state of zoo existence at least for the animals. This is not what we should be expecting to proudly show to our tourist friends of what we are capable of. To reveal this much is to reveal how poor our knowledge is in putting towards the care of our local animals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank Syme0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place to see all the animals, it's a nice place to explore but they have bad maintainence, i'm afraid if the animals are living well there but still, it's fun to just go there once awhile and see if the animals are doing fine? HAHA. Go try it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moreenwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lack of maintenance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Once upon a time, Johor Zoo was the must-visited place for the graduation trip of primary school students. After 13 years, another visit totally screwed me up. Rusty cage, dirty street and smelly place were all we got during the last visit.

Animals in the Zoo were skinny and inactive as before. Governmental management is just ineffective and very "Malaysia Boleh" style.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johor Zoo also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Johor Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing