We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good burgers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fatboy's The Burger Bar JB - CLOSED

Fatboy's The Burger Bar JB
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Fatboy's the Burger Bar brings the burger evolution to a new level with its Burger Bar menu where you can build-your-own burger anyhow and anyway you want. Choose from a list of buns, pork, beef, chicken, lamb and salmon patties, cheeses, add-ons and sauces and your burger will be cooked to order!
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good burgers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

They serve all kind of burgers and people can be spoiled for choice. We had the beef/ lamb/ chicken burgers and everything was absolutely nice. The lamb burger patty was excellent. However selection of desert can improve. Very noisy place. Staff were ok. waiting time reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
488 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Wide variety but burgers are just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Over-hyped. No clear distinction of a tasty and wholesome burger. Patties were not juicy at all and it's quite salty and oily. Had 4 orders of different burgers, almost tasted the same as if the condiments were not purging out the distinct taste. The shakes are fine, could be better coz it's too sweet. Not a good place if you are looking for healthy food. Will re-think of ever visiting there again. Food Republique has better tasting burgers. Dunno how they ever got to number 4 spot in JB Tripadvisor. Staff service is good & swift though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatboysjb, Owner at Fatboy's The Burger Bar JB, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Sir,

We are sorry that your dining experience with us was unsatisfactory. We at Fatboy's work hard to ensure the high quality of our burgers and are disappointed to know that there was a short coming during your visit. Rest assured your feedback has been forwarded to our head chef and an inquiry will be conducted to get to the bottom of this.

I hope your next visit to Fatboy's will be a much better experience. We promise to keep improving and make sure your burgers are juicier the next time.

Thank you and best regards,
Owner of Fatboy's The Burger Bar Johor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good burger, mediocre dish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Initially, I would like to credit this burger bar 4 stars for their burger. However, their dishes other than burger were just mediocre or somewhat close to mamak standard. Fried chicken and fish & chips were not palatable and fried chicken in Tun Aminah can easily beat it at RM 6 per big serving.

It is hard to recall the precise name of the burger (basterd or a vulgar word, lol) I had few weeks ago. Since the burger meat was thick enough to be juicy, it outperformed most burger chains in Malaysia. However, they should pay more efforts on how to marinate their burger meat although it was good enough at the price charged.

If I am not mistaken, I think I did see this outlet in Sri Hartamas as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leow90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatboysjb, Manager at Fatboy's The Burger Bar JB, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Sir,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our burgers and we will take onboard your suggested improvements. We are disappointed to know the best of the rest. Your feedback has been forwarded to our kitchen and we promise to keep improving our food.

Please come and try our Honey Mustard Chicken Kebab, it's a favorite with our customers.

Thank you and best regards,
Fatboy's The Burger Bar Johor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Awesome hangout and the real deal when comes to Burgers!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you like good juicy burgers and chill beer in Johor, Fatboy's The Burger Bar is the right place for you. Fatboy's Burger Bar JB as a place is full of life, especially during weekends, and it is nice to sit around the bar counter and watch sport channels while having your dinner. The burgers are value for money moreover when it's served with chill beers all night long.

I had the privilege as well to meet Manager Mr. Pritam on a Sunday night and was thrilled to see how he has got it all covered when comes to customers, food and entertainment. Staffs are friendly and compliments to their chef..... Had the Bleu Peppercorn burger meal and Elvis Burger meal with my Gf... will definitely comeback for another session of burgers and beers.....Cheers!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sattuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatboysjb, Owner at Fatboy's The Burger Bar JB, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for the awesome review, we are glad you had a great overall experience. We love to hear compliments, especially all the way from Melbourne, Australia.

Best Regards,
Fatboy's The Burger Bar Johor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“By far the best in JB!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We went as a trio. Ordered a Jamaican Makin Me Hungry, Holly Wooly (Lamb) and Cesar Burger. For appetizers we had mozzarella sticks and calamari. The pricing and portions were very decent. The ambiance was awesome. Sadly the lovely oldies being played on the background could not be heard over all the chit chatters. Over all I loved the experince and apart from all the burgers I must say the Vanilla shakes with Peanut Butter and Nutella are a MUST TRY!!!!

Good job Fatboys and Team!

Helpful?
Thank Inbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatboysjb, Owner at Fatboy's The Burger Bar JB, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Customer,

Fatboy's are glad to hear that you enjoyed our burgers and milkshakes, they are best sellers. Come try the Honey Mustard Chicken Kebab the next time, it's another of our best seller.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Fatboy's The Burger Bar Johor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fatboy's The Burger Bar JB also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing