We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok only due to its cheap rate” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
M Suites Hotel
Ranked #22 of 105 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ok only due to its cheap rate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked 5 rooms on special offer and safe quite a bit for the family  EID holiday. Good thing that we spent most of the time outside the hotel. Plus point : huge room and facing the water front.  Minus points : rundown after the patchy refurbish work. We could find new tiles and paint work here and there but generally its like 2-3 stars hotel. No shops nearby but most guest here have cars anyhow. We however loved the indian food they served for breakfast...puri, masalla and lamb. Not a place that we would look forward to visit...but again you dont really have many choices in JB. My only hope is they would do it up nicely. There is definitely a need for nicer hotels in JB.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaifulKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    96
    99
    40
    14
See reviews for
160
30
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

M Suites hotel is located just across the causeway from Singapore. It is conveniently situated a short drive across Danga Bay where one can find a mini amusement park for kids and a seafood dining belt.

This hotel is popular for local conventions and symposiums since it holds large meeting rooms.

The pool is appealing to most kids (and adults alike) since it has a large concrete slide and is not very crowded when we were there on a weekday. The large room I was given on the first level (where the pool is located) holds a king size bed and a kitchenette with a 3-seater sofa.

A cockroach was found scurrying into the curtains! Alas, it met its doom when i gave chase. Facilities were old but serviceable and the breakfast spread in this hotel is simple (porridge and nasi lemek) but given the price one paid for, it was cost economical.

Basement car park is rather small but a security is posted to ensure the safety of cars and patrons.

Driving to the Terbrau Highway nearby is also convenient since that's where most would go for shopping, spa and food trips.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors may be cleaner and rid of pest as compared to the ground / 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firefox11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel spur of the moment after a long journey and after having already travelled for two months straight. Hotel reception were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The price was very reasonable and we were impressed by the size of the room, as we had chosen the cheapest option. The halls and lift smelled a bit musty, but the room was no problem. It has a king size bed, a separate kitchenette and two arm chairs in front of the flat screen tv. I'd seen other reviews about the room not being overly clean, but ours was great. We also were given free toothbrushes, razors, soaps etc. We ordered room service a number of times while we slept off our jet lag and had reception bring things to our room for us a bit (they always offered). It's 3km out of town, but cabs are cheap and reception calls them for you. Overall we were really impressed by what we got for the price. We extended our stay a couple of nights!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not on the same side as the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights in M Suites for a camp in mid June.

The hotel is suited along Danga Bay, and faces Singapore. Several of our friends drove in a few cars to this hotel, and every car got lost and took an average of 30 - 40 mins to reach, after crossing the Causeway. Going back to the Causeway was nearer and around 10mins by keeping right when exiting the hotel, and follow the highway up towards "Woodlands".

As there were 4 of us, we've requested for an apartment suite, which comes with 2 bedrooms. We were given a newly renovated unit, that comes beautifully done up with cornices, crystal lightings, capetting, contemporary furnishings. The spacious unit comes with 2 tastefully done up bedrooms, comfortable beds, and a kitchenette.

However, we realised that M Suites has yet to complete renovating its rooms. As several of our friends got very old and run down rooms. In fact, the apartment unit opposite to us on the same level, which was ocupied by another family, got an unit that was old and run down, though it came with the same layout and size.

The unrenovated rooms have very old doors, and a lot of scratches on the doors. Whereas the renovated rooms have new looking doors. We'd advise travellers to request for newly renovated rooms if booking at M Suites.

The dinner and breakfast at the cafe restaurant on ground level served fairly good Malaysian fare like nasi lemak, rendang, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerdayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is over priced and is mainly a conference hotel with very large groups staying and all having breakfast at the same time.
The lobby is not as shown on many web sites and the pool is run down with no effort to maintain the surrounding garden.
The front rooms looking towards Singapore are very noisy because the freeway runs out side between the hotel and the unfinished waterfront park.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOI_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Booked via AGODA for Premium Studio Suites, We had a Great stay.. Staff are Friendly, The location is Great and Easy to get Food & Shopping Outlets But Im just Unhappy wit Internet access is Payable in the room. My kids loves the Pool n Breakfast, The complimentary breakfast was Fabulous and had a Wide Selections. Overall I'am Happy & i will Come Back..

Room Tip: Request for Straits View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idazzledy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Im okay with the other thing but the bathroom cleanliness is so poor. Sink is cracked, shower faucet isnt working. Basic toiletteries wasnt provided completely. But the double deluxe room was spacious but seasoned. Im surprised to find out the hotel waa recently undergone renovation. But food was okay and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.7 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#24 of 105 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.9 mi away
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
Amerin Hotel Johor Bahru
#18 of 105 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 105 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 105 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.0 mi away
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
Swiss-Inn Johor Bahru
#16 of 105 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.6 mi away
V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
#19 of 105 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Suites Hotel

Property: M Suites Hotel
Address: M Suites Hotel 16 Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — M Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the border of the Straits of Johor overlooking Singapore, M Suites Hotel is a mere 15-minute drive from the Johor-Singapore Causeway. The hotel offers 133 rooms and is strategically located with easy access to Johor Bahru’s business and shopping centers making it an ideal hotel destination for leisure and business travelers. Other facilities provided are a coffee house, an Italian restaurant, Surau, private Karaoke room, outdoor swimming pool with 2 slides and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your M Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing