We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad plumbing, bad view, bad bed, bad service just plain bad!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of M Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
M Suites Hotel
Ranked #21 of 107 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bad plumbing, bad view, bad bed, bad service just plain bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Comes cheap. Should be a warning!
Bad plumbing - no water, then no hot water, reception said they are onto it - still waiting!
Bad view - not the straits, but a building site!
Past its sell by date.
Avoid!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Attapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    98
    101
    40
    14
See reviews for
162
30
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed there during business trip to Johor for 1 night. Booked via booking.com and stay on studio suite. Room is very spacious and comfortable. Amenities is good but iron/iron board is not there. Need to request with housekeeping [18 minute waiting]. Each room have kitchenette and sofas, make more comfortable if you with family. Location is good and this hotel have nice lobby area. Bathroom is huge with a bath tub but stopper on room 201 is malfunction. Please look at it. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is also great. Definitely will stay here again on my trip to JB. Recommended on business and family trip.

Room Tip: Room 201 is quieter but the view is not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohd Farhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I had a great stay with my family here recently, very centrally located and facing the straits of Johor. Friendly local staff with spacious and stylish rooms. Hotel faces the straits….one can have a nice walk any time of the day. Loads of local specialty eateries within walking distance.

Room Tip: Most of their rooms are an excellent choice.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mexanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I was booked here through my travel agent wanting somewhere as a cheaper alternative to Singapore. We were given 2 studios which were not ready at 5.30 in the PM and were at opposite ends of the verandah. The bathroom was full of mould and the floors/bench dirty. We asked to upgrade and were able to get a 3 bedroom for a cost. This room was just as dirty but also smelt of cigarette smoke. The kitchen facilities were a kettle, 4 teacups and tea/coffee/sugar. There is a fridge. Lights have been repaired with tape and some of the switches just didn't work. Advertised trips to local theme parks are falsely advertised and on enquiring we were told that they don't do that despite the advertisement on their website and in the foyer. They helped us out with a very expensive transfer which left us stranded in Singapore for 30 mins after our collection time. Staff were generally helpful but had limited English. We as Australians felt restricted to where we could go in the hotel and were constantly ushered out of public areas. Internet dropped out regularly. In short it didn't cost much and I didn't get much. I won't come here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cockybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Booked a night's stay at the hotel for a 2-bedroom apartment. The pictures of the bedroom on the website looked good but I was shocked when I finally checked in. Room was old and dirty, the bedsheets and pillows had some yellowish stains and the bedroom cabinets had some black dirt (as if it had not been cleaned for a while). The too also didn't smell so good. Next, both bathrooms toilet tiles had dirt between the grout and my master bedroom shower head was broken. In the website, it indicated in the room map and pics that there was a bathtub in the master bedroom toilet. Unfortunately, there wasn't and when we requested for a room with a bathtub, the staff told us that none of their rooms had one. Sigh!! I felt so cheated.

Package came with breakfast and there was limited choice, and food was mediocre.

My kids enjoyed the pool as there were little visitors but be warned that it's really much much smaller than in the website. It is also not convenient to get to shopping malls as it is quite secluded. You need to cab or drive practically everywhere.

A picture tells a thousand words but do not be fooled by the picture on their website. For the price I paid, I could have gotten a 2 bedroom suite at the new KSL City Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ibreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lobby is nice. I booked a Studio Suites twin bedroom. Room was spacious, but because we were there to go to Legoland we were not able to check out the pool. Breakfast is fine, but more on local food. It is an old hotel I guess, in the hall ways you'll see signs of wear and tear. Hotel staff were not so friendly, not even smiling; but also not rude. Overall still a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glens613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

As the name suggests, M SUITES offers rooms with suites space and facilities. King sized bed, kitchenette, sofas and bath tub. I brought my family along during this stay and we took the chance to hit the pool as well. They have that slides and shrooms in the kiddy pool.. make u feel like ure in a water theme park. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful. And the breakfast buffet have an array of choices as well. Definitely recommended. Will come and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pplindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.1 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.9 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
Grand BlueWave Hotel Johor Bahru
#25 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.0 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
2.2 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#16 of 107 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Suites Hotel

Property: M Suites Hotel
Address: M Suites Hotel 16 Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — M Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the border of the Straits of Johor overlooking Singapore, M Suites Hotel is a mere 15-minute drive from the Johor-Singapore Causeway. The hotel offers 133 rooms and is strategically located with easy access to Johor Bahru’s business and shopping centers making it an ideal hotel destination for leisure and business travelers. Other facilities provided are a coffee house, an Italian restaurant, Surau, private Karaoke room, outdoor swimming pool with 2 slides and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your M Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing