We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pulai Springs Resort
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service and dirty room”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel rating does not justify the price paid, service and cleanliness of the room. Check in and check out was smooth. Took the room with the kitchen which was big. The room was dirty and dusty. Dust on the curtains, chair, cupboard, spider webs on the wall and in the toilet. The room did not have hand towels, face towels, floor towel, hair dryer... Only had one bath towel when we checked in. Requested for the other towels and took them more than 30 mins. The housekeeping then only provided one bath towel. Had to call them again to request for the rest. Another 30 mins plus. Hair dryer ran out.... Did not have a hair dryer on the first day. Had to call up the operator to request for one again (no phone directory... Had to call the operator to request) . The toilet sink was slightly clogged and the sink tap was not working well....

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mdineshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    273
    233
    90
    60
See reviews for
390
103
12
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Very decent hotel with 5 star facilities at a very affordable rate. Clean, comfy bed, good service. Only problem was slightly noisy. Our room was located on the same floor as the pool so could hear kids running through the corridor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank koosh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating and reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

From your comments, I am glad to know that you were happy with the cleanliness of the room, comfortable bed and were happy with the overall services rendered to you.

In the mean time, I sincerely apologize for the noise in your room as the room is located near the swimming pool. We would like to inform you that we would have been glad to have moved you to another room if you have informed us about the noise.

Nevertheless, I hope that this will not deter you from supporting us again. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

A nice place to getaway from the hustle and bustle. On arrival, greeted by a pleasant receptionist and the room allocated was huge, more like an apartment layout.

Recommended to drive as it is located 20 mins from JB town and about 25 mins to Legoland, Johor Premium Outlet is about 35 mins. Hotel also provide tickets to Legoland which can be purchased at the reception.

Breakfast was busy as we stayed over the weekend. Buffet spread was okay nothing great but ample food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guests’ expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests as well as providing our guests with only the best services.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for two nights, as a place to get to Legoland and later to get to Singapore. The resort is beautiful, overlooking a gold course and in a half decent location outside of Johor that is very relaxing.

The room we ordered was very nice, but missing it's towels (really a minor point) we ended up having to change rooms after the first night, and reception were really good about this.

When we got to our second room, there were again no towels, and what seemed to be a dirty towel in the bathroom. Again, we had to request new towels and for housekeeping to fix up the bathroom.

One of the most off putting things about staying here was the smell of the rooms. The best way I can describe both the rooms we stayed in was the smell of damp. It's not so strong as to drive you out of the room, but enough to put you off wanting to go there again.

Breakfast was really nice, the staff incredibly polite and the hotel itself was beautiful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunnyMadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Service was terrible, no follow up and follow through on guest's request. Baby cot requested upon reservation but was never delivered after several reminders upon check in. When enquired Manager said there was only 2 cots available and one was broken and not available for use. The other has been used. For a property so huge and carry a prestiged name, I was speechless for investment in only 2, no one usable baby cot. Air con in room 625 was blowing out dust dirtying the bed but empty promises were made to make up the room from around 5pm till 1130pm, never done! All the basics for a hotel in terms on service and guest relation were not up to standard, I feel shy even to tell people that I'm having a weekend retreat in a hotel!! It would have been more pleasant staying at home. Yet I still have 1 more day to go. Pray hard no more 'surprises'...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XiaoChing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Johor Bahru hotels

Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a beautiful looking hotel with very poor PR and hospitality. Checking in took so long even though it was already 9pm. No towels inside the room and had to call for 5 times! Very bad water pressure. No extra pillow. Basic amenities.

I dont think I will be coming back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile





Pulai Springs Resort 19 Apr 2014

I would recommend the cinta ayu level 2 swimming pool for families with young children. There's a baby pool which is safe for the young ones. The whole pool is only 1.25m deep. I saw at least 5 families who brought their own floats for their young kids to paddle in the pool. A few were shooting water guns.

It's about twice the size of the usual pools I see in hotels. Good for big groups of friends to swim together.

At the edge of the pool, you can admire the peaceful golf course just opposite. It's a shady pool surrounded by 3 building blocks, no fear of sunburnt. Try to ask for level 2 rooms with balconies that lead directly to the swimming pool. It seems so cool to have the pool
right at your doorstep,literally.

As for the supposedly 3 pools at the spa and sports building, they fell way below my expectations. Be careful of the lap pool, it's a sloping pool from 1.3m to as deep as 2.5m. Dirty pool floor, murky water full of dried leaves. The other pool with a small slide for kids under 15 yrs old could be fun, but otherwise there's nothing fun about it. The third pool with big stones is impossible to swim in and It looks more like a pond.

There are separate doors for females and males changing rooms at the sports centre. These lead to the Jacuzzi and gym just upstairs.

Dining wise, go for Qing Palace restaurant as far as possible. Food is excellent. Price reasonable, a la carte lunch for 2 pax ,with 5 dishes, at ringgit 102. They have many vegetarian options.

Breakfast at cinta terrace was decent.

As for Gleneagles terrace, stay indoors. Outdoors there are swarms of fruitflies sharing your food.

Our check in time was 3.45pm,after waiting for an hour. So do plan your arrival as close to 3pm as possible to avoid long wait for room.Towels were forgotten. You have to insist housekeeping to speed up delivery of towels. They even say 5-6pm send towels is the norm. Perhaps it's due to the public holiday the day before. Many lightings in the room were spolit. Apart from these, overall our 2 bedroom suite was comfortable, bed was extremely comfy too.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvette_gu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guests’ expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests as well as providing our guests with only the best services.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
11.9 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
10.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
11.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 110 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 110 in Johor Bahru
849 reviews
9.8 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
8.9 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#2 of 110 in Johor Bahru
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulai Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulai Springs Resort

Property: Pulai Springs Resort
Address: 20 km Jalan Pontian, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulai Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pulai Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulai Springs Hotel Johor Bahru
Pulai Springs Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing