We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money @ Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We heard the hotel just opened about 2 weeks before we arrived .. :-) .. Therefore, threre are still a lot of familiarisation the junior staffs need to go thru... so understandably, some "waiting' occurs. However we need to comment on the level of comfort for the beds. It seems like the mattress protector were not being properly smoothen because it feels like sleeping on a uneven soft surface. For a new hotel, the window panes were full of scratch marks... eye sore. The best thing I like about this hotel, (other than it is with the Hilton chain), this hotel provides rooms for 4 adults i.e. becos my two children are over the age of 12..! Very rare to find nowadays (unless it is a service apartment).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank JiMi-QN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Hazmi M

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the hotel after your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you generally enjoyed the service and facilities.

Both the Team and the bed toppers are still new and will take some time to settle in as you note! I am glad that our room configuration met your families needs and I hope that will see you stay with us again soon.

Warm regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,887 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Rooms and facilities are modern and good, but service and food in the restaurant and breakfast still not up to the standard that the chain announces and charges for. Could do with a little bit of training to the staff in customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Alberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Alberto F

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the hotel after your recent stay with. As a new hotel, we are keen to attain tangible feedback to allow us to focus on the ongoing process of improvement.

I was concerned to read that you felt the service did not align with were we position the hotel. It would have been helpful if you could have elaborate on any provide specific examples and possibly what your expectations were.

Training is ongoing at the hotel as we build the confidence of the team in both the service delivery systems and the nuances of the products and facilities on offer.

Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations in this instance and I hope you will visit again in the near future.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A delightful new hotel and a true breath of fresh air in an area of the world where alternative Hotels and restaurants could best be described as truly awful. Like any new Hotel / business there were some teething troubles, but the staff went out of their way at every stage to look after the guests. The hotel is beautifully fitted out and to a very high standard with a fabulous pool, dining experiences and executive lounge. As for location, there's nowhere really in JB that's great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank HWR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear HWR2013,

Thank you for completing a review after your recent visit. As a new hotel your feedback is particularly valuable.

We are delighted to hear that our service and facilities generally met with or exceeded your expectations, especially with the team's efforts to "make it right" in resolving the small bumps of your stay with us as this is a key focus of our DoubleTree by Hilton "CARE" culture.

It is our pleasure to serve as an alternative for locals and visitors alike in terms of accommodation and dining options. We are very glad to hear that we have managed to leave a positive impression from your stay with us, we will strive to continuously deliver the "CARE" values of DoubleTree by Hilton.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Extremely friendly staff. Very good stay. Lovely view from the Honors floor.good food and also the staff will assist you in visit to Lego and kitty land.
Don't miss kitty land.This was a very good stay.One of the best doubletree experience I had so far

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Shovan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Shovan S,

Thank you for completing a review of the hotel after your recent visit. As a new hotel your feedback is particularly valuable.

It is extremely pleasing to find that the team has been able to uphold the signature DoubleTree by Hilton “CARE” culture, in ensuring that every guest has a memorable stay. The dedicated floor for Hilton HHonors members is our way to show recognition and appreciation for the members and we were delighted to note that the whole experience has been enjoyable.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

It is really difficult to find a nice non dodgy hotel in JB."..this is one of it and we got the chance to stay in this last week.
Something that the hotel should look at would be the toilet..there is a particular stench smell in the toilet despite the daily room cleaning and we even tried to wash it ourselves...my husband stayed there for 4 nights and the smell was there since day 1.
Other things in the hotel was lovely and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cmyrulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Cmyrulez,

Thank you for completing a review after your recent stay.

We must apologise for the persisting bathroom stench throughout your stay with us. As a new hotel we are still facing some teething issues, however please be rest assured the issue has been investigated and taken care of.

As part of the Hilton Worldwide Portfolio, DoubleTree by Hilton is set out to provide a sense of warmth and home-coming comfort, where little things mean everything. We are glad that we have been able to provide the experience that we hoped to achieve, and that the small bump did not prevent you from enjoying your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

1. Location - too close to CIQ & jams during the morning. 2. Surrounding location doesn't look safe to wonder around. 3. Bathroom floods after shower. 4. Mediocre F&B quality 5. Some hotel staff were attentive, helpful & polite, some couldn't be bothered...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Adrian C

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the hotel after your recent stay with us. As a new hotel, your feedback is very valuable to us.

The hotels central location is generally viewed as a selling point and the traffic around the hotel is actually in no way related to the CIQ congestion. The directions on the website are a good reference for future visits as they direct guests away from the JB Sentral traffic.

Your comments on pricing and teething issues are duly note, but I can reassure you our pricing is in line with or lower than the other JB hotels in a similar category. We have undertaken extensive training with our Team prior to opening, but building confidence in dealing with all guest issues will take some time as I am sure you can understand.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations in all areas and hope this did not prevent you from enjoying your time in JB.

Kind regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Good to see nice hotel arriving in Johor. Staff very helpful , good clean room ( though it should be as brand new! ) . convenient location , looking forward to trying Italian restaurant on 1August. Coffee shop, good with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Check any interconnection door ... Mine was not locked !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear HLBHongKong

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review after your recent stay with us. As a new hotel your feedback is particularly valuable.

We were thrilled to read you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Most important for me is that you found the Team friendly and welcoming.

We also can not wait until our Italian Trattoria "Tosca" opens on August 1st. Hope to see you then!

Warm regards
Simon McGrath
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
4.2 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#3 of 109 in Johor Bahru
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#2 of 109 in Johor Bahru
294 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#12 of 109 in Johor Bahru
1,328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
9.2 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Resort
Legoland Malaysia Resort
#4 of 109 in Johor Bahru
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: 12 Jalan Ngee Heng, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range: £54 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Johor Barhu city and minutes from the Singapore causeway, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru overlooks the Straits of Johor and is moments away from both the business and shopping precincts. Offering a range of room styles suiting both long and short stay guests with both western and local dining options, Doubletree by Hilton Johor Bahru caters to all tastes. The hotel also boasts a dedicated events floor and stunning recreational facilities including pool, gym, steam rooms and Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing