We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost reservation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Embassy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lost reservation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Cannot comment on embassy as they lost or reservation, which seems to be a recurring theme in reviews. After some panic they put us up in their other hotel 'Sweet hotel' which was clean, basic and good although noisy at front rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mylesk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    41
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
19
37
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Its very simple hotel but offers enough for the small amount you pay. The rooms are clean and bug free, which is saying a lot in the port town of Mersing. The prices are reasonable and the street traffic is not so loud at night. Its a good place to sleep at night, not to hang out during the day. It's ten minutes walk to the ferry and/or bus station. There are food places and stores in the same street. They have Wi-Fi but it's not very good. There are internet cafes close by which are open very late. Basic but decent accommodation if you're stuck for a night in Mersing like I was. Location is hard to miss when you arrive in Mersing, and everything is less than a 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night after returning from Tioman Island. Its very simple and offers enough for the small amount you pay. Its a good place to sleept at night, not to hang out during the day. Its a ten minutes walk to the ferry and/or bus station. There are food places and stores in the same street. They have Wifi but its not very good. There are internet cafes close by which are open very late.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bene5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed one night on our way to Tioman Island. Room was OK but we were missing bed sheets and the comfort was quite poor so we didn't get much rest. No breakfast was included in our booking. Busy street and noisy during night. Approx 5 minutes walk to the jetty, where you also can get a great breakfast. Make sure that you are checked in at the jetty at least an hour in advance.

Room Tip: Really poor quality on TV. Noisy rooms. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heavemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Embassy hotel is a place for one or two nights stay type of place. room pretty clean but the bathroom/shower badly need improvement or at least fix the leak in the water tank the hold water for toilet. handle to flush the toilet was broken. very noisy place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alangkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived in Mersing quite late in the afternoon and found that there was no booking for us at the Embassy. A little uncertain of the hotel due to the rather nondescript entrance and reception.

We accepted a room for a very modest fee and the room turned out to be spotlessly clean, comfortable and airconditioned, no window though. Again a shower to my liking. Certainly quite acceptable for the night we spentin Mersing

We found a satisfoactory local restaurant across the found and had a good meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is very basic but clean enough and it is OK for one night while waiting to get the ferry to Tioman (as November is off-season there is only one a day at 11 am or thereabouts) - it is within walking distance of the bus terminal (from where you can see its sign) and also the ferry terminal although you might want to take a taxi for 10 ringgit if you have heavy bags. There is no elevator and I was not offered any help with getting my bag to the 2nd floor. I later requested help with turning on the a/c and a lady came to the room and showed me in a friendly and helpful manner and also demonstrated the TV channels. There are plenty of quite cheap Indian and Chinese eateries nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
0.1 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
#1 of 3 in Kuala Rompin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muara Inn Hotel
Muara Inn Hotel
#9 of 14 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Felda Residence Tanjung Leman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel

Property: Embassy Hotel
Address: 2 Jl Jalan Ismail, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embassy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing