We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Alang's Rawa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alang's Rawa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Had the best time ever on one of the most beautiful islands in the world! All I'm going to say....

Room Tip: Weekend party with friends, B's and C's, couple book really far in advance the A frames.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayTboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Alang's Rawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Arriving at night, and travelling through Malaysia, it was hard to know what to expect. When we docked at the beach, we were welcomed with a dinner prepared for us though it was after 11pm. That evening was fun and sociable, with other arriving guests throughout the night. Its not until the morning until you realize how sexy the beach actually is. First, waking up to the sound of the ocean is super awesome, then walking out to the porch just unveils an even more spectacular view... wish I was there just writing this review...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fonseka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I've never written a hotel review before..but I really believe this place deserves a good review after reading the occasional bad one before our weekend on Rawa.

The place is absolutely amazing. Its like waking up every morning and walking straight into one of those beach screensavers!!

However, I would only recommend this place to students/young professionals on weekends. It does get very noisy until the early hours..

If you are travelling with children or want complete silence at night then only go there during the week or choose the other resort next door.

Otherwise everything else about this place is amazing!! The beach is beautiful. White sand..good for snorkeling too. The staff is young and very friendly and the food is great too!

One small tip: If you are traveling at the beginning (March/April) or end of the seaon (October/November) - take a big plastic bag along to cover your luggage on the boat ride. It can get very bumpy and very wet. If you must travel at night - I would seriously recommend wrapping all your stuff (including yourself) in bags ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed there with two kids and a few other families for 5 days during the week and had a fantastic time! Kids had so much fun, going back to simple things, entertaining themselves and forgetting iphone and TV for once. The slide on the other side is fun and the little caves near the rocks with the "adventure beach" on the back were heaven for them. What we liked most is that the entire island has such a laid back atmosphere. Kids could run around by themselves the entire day, you didnt have to dress up for mealtimes and could just hang out and relax.

Have to say that it was also an advantage that we traveled as a group with several kids with same interests and that we didnt expect anything in regards of standard and service and food.

The beach is incredible, had my "daily" relaxing spot under a palm tree with superbe views of the azur beach and sea.

Nice snorkeling but not as good as in Tioman. A few reef sharks. Bring your own gear!

Restaurant prepared good food, nothing fancy, but quite healthy with fresh grilled fish everyday and veggies and fruits. Quite big portions so we ended up sharing. Kids had pancake every morning, leaving the room in pj's and ordering themselves! The menu is not extensive, but good enough for a week! Meals for the table always arrived at the same time. Tables are on the sand under a roof, they have a few games for kids. It takes some time for meals to arrive, because they prepare everything fresh so order ahead of time.

Rooms are VERY simple, quite run down but clean. Don't look at the mattresses.... bedsheets and towels are provided, no room servicing. Bathroom is very basic too, took off the shower head to have a better water pressure. No aircon! Slept with open windows and fan which was great. Lovely sound of the waves all night.

Boat transfer was ok too, enough swim vests for all of us including small ones for kids. But for sure transfer can be a problem if stormy, we just were lucky I would say. Driving up from Singapore is just fine, takes about 1.45hrs from JB. Had our car at the car parking there, paid 38 RM for 5 days. They have a few spots under a roof, but maybe not always available. Next to it is a cafe/restaurant where you can wait for the boat transfer as they wait for all people to be there before they leave.

Island has a lovely breeze from lunchtime onwards, can be stormy sometimes but we didnt mind hanging out at the terrace and sipping cocktails.

Also think that the package was very reasonable priced, paid under SGD 450 for 3 nights all meals and transfer included.

You will love this island if you are prepared to leave luxury behind and if you are ok with just the basics. Heard that the weekends there however are very different with huge parties going on!

We are already planning our next escape from Singapore.....

Room Tip: B1/2 house has two doubles next to each other. Its the first on the beach with shadow nearly all day...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mayaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Had a great stay here with friendly staff and the whole beach almost to ourselves.

We stayed over a stretch of 5 weekdays including our baby. The staff were kind enough to make special arrangements. There is no hot water in the room, so they boiled a pail full for me to bath the baby. And allowed full kitchen access to prepare baby food.

We had almost the whole beach to ourselves as there were only us, another family and another couple. I doubt it would be the same on weekends as I hear they have to accommodate 50 people. So my advice, book a weekday trip and avoid weekends.

Rooms are basic with attached bathroom with a fan to ventilate, which was good enough as you always have the sea breeze. Think of an island getaway without tv or internet. If you are thinking of a resort like stay, you will be better off staying in the neighbouring resort.

Food is great with a selection of pasta or one main dish plus two sides to choose from. Mains are mainly Chinese stir fry.Much wider selection and the other resort which I took a glimpse of the menu.
All in all, if you are looking on a place to just laze on the beach and enjoy the pristine clear water and white sandy beach without the hoard of tourist, you might have found your paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

There is nothing to say about the island itself: It is beautiful like on a picture postcard.

But, the "resort" is by far not worth its price. Sure, you always have to consider the extra-effort to bring food and beverages on the island. But still, it is much to expensive for such simple chalets. The owner is in my opinion to self-confident with its price - you pay twice for the sea, the sand and the view.

The worst: When we woke up at night, we saw a rat running around in the middle of our chalet. No overstatement: it was a big, fat jungle-rat - at least 11 inches (just the body). We switched on the light and clapped in our hands, but it didn't go away. It obviously was used to people. Only after we made more noises, it disappeared. After this, we left the island because for this price, rats are an absolute no-go. - When we talked to the staff, they were quite rude to us. They didn't believe us and the didn't understand, why a rat should be such a big deal. Well, I tell you why: Because it spreads diseases and because rats will definitely also run around in the open restaurant kitchen of the resort.

Afterwards we tried to get our money back for the other nights we had booked in advance. The owner was understanding and sorry and affirmed to manage the payment. But it took over four weeks (!) before we received the money. How non-professionel is that! Such a resort has to know how to transfer money from Malysia to Europe. Only after we were very insistend and offered ever more possibilities for the transfer, we finally received the money.

All in all, we were looking for paradise but didn't find it on Rawa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

had an overall good experience and no major complaints. personally found alang's to be an ideal choice for a quick escape from city life with a bunch of like minded buddies. with a good balance of relaxation/unwinding and let your hair down on party nights. facilities were basis but of working (and usually) good condition. doors could not be locked which would not be a major concern when nothing goes wrong. water was clear and marine life was decent. we did manage to get loads of close ups with the famous anemone fishes, sea urchins, couple of parrot fishes and even manged to spot a young black tipped shark that sort of got stuck among the corals during low tide.

music was great and i have to admit the rustic resort atmosphere/theme was also a major pull factor. crowd was small and friendly with very endearing resident dogs for company. food was as mentioned were repetitive but tasty (tab bit salty for personal preference) and religious saturday bbq night was delicious (plus al fresco dining by the beach was purfection!).

had a couple of mosquitoes for company so do bring some repellent if its a concern. activities were limited (snorkel, volleyball and suntanning) and you could consider walking over safaris for more recreation such as diving, kayak, tennis or badminton (do not expect jet skis!) . boat transfers unlike previous reviews were thankfully a breeze and no waiting time was needed.

the fruit bat population was a robust & 'chatty' crowd but did not bother us as we were staying at the A frame rooms which were at the other end of alang's. meals start at 9am, 1pm and 8pm (if i remembered correctly) which was generally an hour or so later than safaris and wished i had brought some snacks to tide through each meal (guess i had my holiday appetite). mixed fruit drink and rawa special are highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
18.7 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
520 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
11.4 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
177 reviews
23.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alang's Rawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alang's Rawa

Address: Rawa Island | c/o Pure Value Sdn Bhd, Jalan Abu Bakar, Mersing, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Price Range: £29 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Alang`s Rawa Hotel Mersing
Alang's Rawa Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing