We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for overnight stopover”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Mersing B&B and Inns
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place for overnight stopover”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here before heading to Tioman. Our room was large and clean. The bathroom is small but we found most budget hotels in Malaysia like that. It is located in a good position. The main negative was no wifi in rooms but we were fine going down to lobby to use if needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    31
    10
    21
See reviews for
19
37
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

One of many many hotels on that street, wouldnt come back the first thing i did. No wifi connection in the rooms, had a very humid smell and dirty walls. Payed $30, worst rip off in a long time...
Close to everything though, the only good thing about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mersing hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

i was there for one night. stayed there at a double+single room. Though it is a budget hotel, the beds (linens smell good!!) and the tiles flooring are very clean. i didn't feel eww~ at all when stepping without shoes. The a/c is reasonable. Not cool enough but still can low the room heat. Toilet and shower attached but it's clean. The location is okay. Since it is a small town, the location is not a matter as all the hotel are centralized here.

The bad is, the shower pressure is average and i can't connect to WiFi at all! I've been informed during the check-in but still very disappointing by this. But, would choose to stay here again since the linens are so clean and smell good!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazsamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed 1 night, would not have stayed longer. It is clean enough, the room was a good size although fitting were minimal. The bathroom was very small, ideal if you like to have your shower while sat on the toilet, but again clean. Aircon worked fine and was quiet, gave up trying to connect to the Wifi, not sure if the problem was my security settings or these older WiFi systems just have an inherent problem connecting with Windows 8.
My biggest problem was NOISE, I just could not sleep, the walls / windows must be made of paper, a motor bike without a silencer seems to spend the whole night driving around on the street outside my window, and people arguing in load voices at 3:00 am in the morning.
I'm afraid because of the noise I would not stay again, but for the price it is OK, get a room on the back.
EATING TIPS:
Breakfast: Next door does a great Teh Tarik and Roti Canai.
Evening Meal: MERSING SEAFOOD RESTAURANT, walking distance at 56, Jalan Ismail.
RM 36.00 for Crab (2), Fried Rice & Mixed Veg, great meal, really enjoyed it, washed down with a couple of Carlsberg (large bottle) at RM 17.00 each

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back of the hotel, B2 was very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed here for one night enroute from KL to Tioman. The hotel is located midway (about 7 minutes walk) between the bus station and the pier. The (ground floor) room was fairly clean, comfortable enough and had working wi-fi, A/C and hot water shower. Receptionist spoke reasonable English and was helpful and friendly.

For MYR 70 it wasn't bad.

Room Tip: I had the ground floor room behind the reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walkjivefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

For rm50 a night you are not going to get luxury but..

This place is clean and located a few minutes from the pier and everything else in town. Staff are friendly. Rooms are big, clean, comfy bed, English tv (small tv but hey), fan rooms are cool (I usually use AC but here didn't need)

I went to tioman and came back and stayed another night before heading on south

There are other options and some nicer but more $$ and this fir the price is really good

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phuketexpat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Forced to find accommodation for one night, as we were in transit to be in time for the 9am ferry to Tioman the following day. So for RM90, we got a triple bedded room, which is just nice for 2 adults and 2kids below 12. The bed was ok, but the pillows limp. Not so good for a night's sleep. Add to that the noise from the mamak's which was just below our window. The bathroom had a missing latch, so was abit tricky keeping it closed!
We had surveyed a few places; and for the comfort and ease to get to the jetty, plus breakfast at the ground floor, this place can't be faulted much. However, it's really good for one night only.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the road, and not the jetty which makes for restless sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JemimaBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mersing hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muara Inn Hotel
Muara Inn Hotel
#6 of 14 in Mersing
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Myra Hotel
Myra Hotel
#9 of 14 in Mersing
6 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mersing Merlin Inn
Mersing Merlin Inn
#2 of 14 in Mersing
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: 74 Jalan Sulaiman | Bandar Tepian Sungai, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mersing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the heart of Mersing, Riverside Hotel offers clean and comfortable accommodation with air-conditioning. Overlooking a serene river view, spacious air-conditioned rooms are fitted with ironing facilities and a TV with satellite channels. The en suite bathroom will include hot/cold shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing